LinuxMCE Forums

General => Developers => Topic started by: ddamron on December 28, 2007, 07:03:59 am

Title: Does anyone have ANY experience with implementing PnP
Post by: ddamron on December 28, 2007, 07:03:59 am
I can't seem to get it working..  I've documented it in my thread 'current status of Insteon PLM Integration'

Thanks..

Dan
Title: Re: Does anyone have ANY experience with implementing PnP
Post by: ddamron on December 28, 2007, 12:47:54 pm
BuMp

HeLp!!!

PlEaSe!
Title: Re: Does anyone have ANY experience with implementing PnP
Post by: hari on December 28, 2007, 01:10:26 pm
BuMp

HeLp!!!

PlEaSe!

have you seen my denon/marantz/... script? That workes fine for a gsd when the pnp type and the script is set correctly in the device template.

best regards,
Hari
Title: Re: Does anyone have ANY experience with implementing PnP
Post by: ddamron on December 28, 2007, 01:11:48 pm
I'm not talking about the script...
it's the device detection... INSIDE my driver..
I'm trying to report child devices...
Title: Re: Does anyone have ANY experience with implementing PnP
Post by: hari on December 28, 2007, 01:13:33 pm
I'm not talking about the script...
it's the device detection... INSIDE my driver..
I'm trying to report child devices...

sorry, i got that wrong..
Title: Re: Does anyone have ANY experience with implementing PnP
Post by: ddamron on December 28, 2007, 01:16:17 pm
NP, thanks anyway...

Title: Re: Does anyone have ANY experience with implementing PnP
Post by: ddamron on December 28, 2007, 06:37:07 pm
Ok, I found some mistakes...
I dug into the database, and found I was using wrong values..
Here's my modified test code:
Code: [Select]
  myDevFrom = device_.devid_
  myDevTo = -1001
  myDevPriority = 1
  myDevType = 2 #event
  myDevID = 65 # Device Detected
  #create command
  cmd = Command.new(myDevFrom, myDevTo, myDevPriority, myDevType, myDevID)
  #Add params...
  cmd.params_[56] = "73" # environment - Lighting Device
  cmd.params_[49] = "38" # Light (dimmable)
  cmd.params_[55] = "12|0A.97.0B\n" # test lamp module
  cmd.params_[13] = "TEST LampLinc V2" # text to display
  cmd.params_[52] = "11"
  cmd.params_[53] = "2"
  cmd.params_[54] = "pnpserialnumber"
  cmd.params_[59] = "Insteon PLM"
  SendCommand(cmd)
  #Now, Fire the Done Detecting event...
  cmd = Command.new(myDevFrom, myDevTo, myDevPriority, myDevType, 74) #Done detecting...
  cmd.params_[59] = "Insteon PLM"
  SendCommand(cmd)
Now, This DID fire into the wizard, but ONLY on the hybrid...
None of the other MD's fired the event...

Here's the log...
Code: [Select]
Event #65 has no handlers <0xb1426b90>
07 12/28/07 10:06:59.051 Received Message from 37 (PLM / Office) to -1001 (unknown / ), type 2 id 65 Event:Device Detected, retry none, parameters: <0xb1426b90>
07 12/28/07 10:06:59.051   Parameter 5(Mac Address):  <0xb1426b90>
07 12/28/07 10:06:59.051   Parameter 13(Text): TEST LampLinc V2 <0xb1426b90>
07 12/28/07 10:06:59.051   Parameter 28(IP Address):  <0xb1426b90>
07 12/28/07 10:06:59.051   Parameter 49(PK_DeviceTemplate): 38 <0xb1426b90>
07 12/28/07 10:06:59.051   Parameter 51(VendorModelID):  <0xb1426b90>
07 12/28/07 10:06:59.051   Parameter 52(PK_CommMethod): 11 <0xb1426b90>
07 12/28/07 10:06:59.051   Parameter 53(PK_PnpProtocol): 2 <0xb1426b90>
07 12/28/07 10:06:59.051   Parameter 54(PNP Serial Number): pnpserialnumber <0xb1426b90>
07 12/28/07 10:06:59.051   Parameter 55(DeviceData): 12|0A.97.0B
 <0xb1426b90>
07 12/28/07 10:06:59.051   Parameter 56(Category): 73 <0xb1426b90>
07 12/28/07 10:06:59.051   Parameter 59(Signature): Insteon PLM <0xb1426b90>
07 12/28/07 10:06:59.083 Event #74 has no handlers <0xb1426b90>
07 12/28/07 10:06:59.083 Received Message from 37 (PLM / Office) to -1001 (unknown / ), type 2 id 74 Event:Done Detecting Devices, retry none, parameters: <0xb1426b90>
07 12/28/07 10:06:59.083   Parameter 59(Signature): Insteon PLM <0xb1426b90>
07 12/28/07 10:06:59.964 Event #65 has no handlers <0x670a4b90>
07 12/28/07 10:06:59.964 Received Message from 1 (CORE / Office) to -1001 (unknown / ), type 2 id 65 Event:Device Detected, retry none, parameters: <0x670a4b90>
07 12/28/07 10:06:59.964   Parameter 5(Mac Address): 00:40:63:EE:37:BC <0x670a4b90>
07 12/28/07 10:06:59.964   Parameter 13(Text):  <0x670a4b90>
07 12/28/07 10:06:59.964   Parameter 28(IP Address): 192.168.80.3 <0x670a4b90>
07 12/28/07 10:06:59.964   Parameter 49(PK_DeviceTemplate): 1837 <0x670a4b90>
07 12/28/07 10:06:59.964   Parameter 51(VendorModelID):  <0x670a4b90>
07 12/28/07 10:06:59.964   Parameter 52(PK_CommMethod): 3 <0x670a4b90>
07 12/28/07 10:06:59.964   Parameter 53(PK_PnpProtocol): 2 <0x670a4b90>
07 12/28/07 10:06:59.964   Parameter 54(PNP Serial Number): \\192.168.80.3 <0x670a4b90>
07 12/28/07 10:06:59.964   Parameter 55(DeviceData): 186|DCEROUTER <0x670a4b90>
07 12/28/07 10:06:59.964   Parameter 56(Category): fileserver <0x670a4b90>
07 12/28/07 10:06:59.964   Parameter 59(Signature):  <0x670a4b90>
05 12/28/07 10:07:00.015 Socket::ReceiveData 0x9497fa00 failed, bytes left 0 start: 900000 1: 0 1b: 0 2: 0 2b: 0 m_Socket: 178 Incoming_Conn Socket 178 127.0.0.1 <0x670a4b90>
05 12/28/07 10:07:00.015 Socket::ReceiveString2 ReceiveData failed m_Socket: -1 Incoming_Conn Socket 178 127.0.0.1 <0x670a4b90>
05 12/28/07 10:07:00.015 TCPIP: Closing connection to -1003 (Router Dev #0) 0x9497fa00 m_Socket: -1 <0x670a4b90>
05 12/28/07 10:07:00.016 Router::RemoveAndDeleteSocket 0x9497fa00 -1003 <0x670a4b90>
08 12/28/07 10:07:00.063 Received Message from 37 (PLM / Office) to OnScreen Orbiter(20), type 1 id  809 Command:Display Alert, retry none, parameters: <0x972edb90>
08 12/28/07 10:07:00.063   Parameter 9(Text): 36857 Confirming 73Light Switch (dimmable) <0x972edb90>
08 12/28/07 10:07:00.063   Parameter 70(Tokens): pnp_36857 <0x972edb90>
08 12/28/07 10:07:00.063   Parameter 182(Timeout): 3 <0x972edb90>
08 12/28/07 10:07:00.063   Parameter 251(Interruption): 2 <0x972edb90>
08 12/28/07 10:07:00.064 Received Message from 14 (Plug And Play Plug-in / Office) to OnScreen Orbiter(20), type 1 id  741 Command:Goto Screen, retry none, parameters: <0x972edb90>
08 12/28/07 10:07:00.064   Parameter 159(PK_Screen): 116 <0x972edb90>
08 12/28/07 10:07:00.064   Parameter 163(Description): Light Switch (dimmable)(Pluto / Lighting Device) <0x972edb90>
08 12/28/07 10:07:00.064   Parameter 224(PK_PnpQueue): 36857 <0x972edb90>
08 12/28/07 10:07:00.064   Parameter 251(Interruption): 3 <0x972edb90>
08 12/28/07 10:07:00.064   Parameter 252(Turn On): 0 <0x972edb90>
08 12/28/07 10:07:00.064   Parameter 253(Queue): 1 <0x972edb90>
08 12/28/07 10:07:00.069 Received Message from 20 (OnScreen Orbiter / Office) to 6 (Datagrid Plug-in / Office), type 1 id 35 Command:Populate Datagrid, retry none, parameters: <0x7a8cbb90>
08 12/28/07 10:07:00.069   Parameter 4(PK_Variable): 0 <0x7a8cbb90>
08 12/28/07 10:07:00.069   Parameter 5(Value To Assign):  <0x7a8cbb90>
08 12/28/07 10:07:00.069   Parameter 10(ID): 1 <0x7a8cbb90>
08 12/28/07 10:07:00.069   Parameter 15(DataGrid ID): pnp_20 <0x7a8cbb90>
08 12/28/07 10:07:00.069   Parameter 38(PK_DataGrid): 44 <0x7a8cbb90>
08 12/28/07 10:07:00.069   Parameter 39(Options): 36857 <0x7a8cbb90>
08 12/28/07 10:07:00.069   Parameter 40(IsSuccessful): 1 <0x7a8cbb90>
08 12/28/07 10:07:00.069   Parameter 44(PK_DeviceTemplate): 0 <0x7a8cbb90>
08 12/28/07 10:07:00.069   Parameter 60(Width): 3 <0x7a8cbb90>
08 12/28/07 10:07:00.069   Parameter 61(Height): 5 <0x7a8cbb90>
08 12/28/07 10:07:00.075 Received Message from 1 (CORE / Office) to OnScreen Orbiter(20),OnScreen Orbiter(59), type 1 id  809 Command:Display Alert, retry none, parameters: <0x972edb90>
08 12/28/07 10:07:00.075   Parameter 9(Text): 36858 Done with new device fileserver Added: Fiire Station 1 <0x972edb90>
08 12/28/07 10:07:00.075   Parameter 70(Tokens): pnp_36858 <0x972edb90>
08 12/28/07 10:07:00.075   Parameter 182(Timeout): 2 <0x972edb90>
08 12/28/07 10:07:00.075   Parameter 251(Interruption): 2 <0x972edb90>
05 12/28/07 10:07:00.083 Plug_And_Play_Plugin::PNPDevices Parms=36857 returning sole device template 38 Light Switch (dimmable) <0x8d8f1b90>
Title: Re: Does anyone have ANY experience with implementing PnP
Post by: ddamron on December 28, 2007, 07:07:38 pm
AAAARRRRGGHH
Ok, I've got it reporting, but it ONLY reports on the CORE!
It's doing EXACTLY what I want it to do! Just not on ALL Orbiters as explained in the PnP wiki...

I've checked to make sure my orbiters have registered, and they say YES.
I think I'll try a reboot....

Dan
Title: Re: Does anyone have ANY experience with implementing PnP
Post by: ddamron on December 28, 2007, 07:24:18 pm
Ok, I think I know what's happening...
all my MD's and Orbiters are MUNCHED.
Probably from me attempting PnP with bad data...
I have to reinstall... again....
Title: Re: Does anyone have ANY experience with implementing PnP
Post by: hari on December 28, 2007, 07:53:28 pm
AAAARRRRGGHH
Ok, I've got it reporting, but it ONLY reports on the CORE!
It's doing EXACTLY what I want it to do! Just not on ALL Orbiters as explained in the PnP wiki...

I've checked to make sure my orbiters have registered, and they say YES.
I think I'll try a reboot....

Dan

iirc the plug and play queue announcements/questions show up on the orbiters in the same room (if known), first. After some timeout they are displayed on all orbiters.

best regards,
Hari
Title: Re: Does anyone have ANY experience with implementing PnP
Post by: ddamron on December 28, 2007, 07:59:28 pm
Thanks Hari,

The Room is the one main question I need the user to answer...
so it SHOULD show up on all orbiters...

I'm pretty sure I munched my system... just reinstalling as we speak...
except, I forgot to save my Detection script :)

That's ok, I posted it here somewhere... LOL


Regards,

Dan
Title: Re: Does anyone have ANY experience with implementing PnP
Post by: ddamron on December 28, 2007, 11:49:42 pm
Hari, Here's another question:

I have created (used) the Configuration devdata[59] in the lighting devices...
This is not defined in the template, but added in code.

When I send param[55] Set DeviceData in the PnP, can I also send the [59] in that string too?

Title: Re: Does anyone have ANY experience with implementing PnP
Post by: tschak909 on December 29, 2007, 07:00:12 pm
to let you know, I'm trying to dig through things so I can try to help. I think we're on our own here.

-Thom
Title: Re: Does anyone have ANY experience with implementing PnP
Post by: ddamron on December 29, 2007, 09:42:35 pm
Thanks Thom!  HUGELY appreciated!
Title: Re: Does anyone have ANY experience with implementing PnP
Post by: ddamron on January 03, 2008, 05:00:14 am
Ok, I've got the PnP Wizard firing..
it tells me it's configuring the new device, and I'm to select the room...
no lights blinking..
Further investigation shows that the PK_DeviceData didn't get populated.. (where I specify Port/Channel aka insteon ID)

In params_[55] DeviceData of the event [65]DeviceDetected, it says the format is "PK_DeviceData\tIK_DeviceData\n..."
PK_DeviceData is 12 for Port/Channel
IK_DeviceData is (I assume, the value to set..) 11.11.11

so, I set that string to be: "12\t11.11.11\n"

It doesn't work.

digging even FURTHER, in the database Pluto_main in the PNPQueue table..
looking at params[55] for all the other devices shows something interesting...

They all seem to be separated using a PIPE, not a TAB/NewLine

I'm going to try that next, formatting the string as "12|11.11.11"
wish me luck!

Dan
Title: Re: Does anyone have ANY experience with implementing PnP
Post by: ddamron on January 03, 2008, 05:03:55 am
Heh, That was it... Now my values are populating into the device.

That help line needs to be changed.. caused me hours of grief..

Light is still not blinking, but maybe I have to set more data, or not set some data I'm setting...

I'm continuing with Trial and error... Ugh!

Dan
Title: Re: Does anyone have ANY experience with implementing PnP
Post by: ddamron on January 03, 2008, 05:29:29 am
Ok, I've confirmed all my devicedata is now getting into the device.

I still can't seem to get the light to blink...

the DCE isn't sending me any 776 commands...  I'm wondering if I've got the right 'wizard'..

Anyone know how to select the Lighting wizard?

Title: Re: Does anyone have ANY experience with implementing PnP
Post by: ddamron on January 03, 2008, 05:32:20 am
BTW, Once I select the room, it installs the device, and tells me it needs to restart router..

If I click OK (Don't restart), and go webadmin, select the light in question, and send it ON/OFF/50% commands from there, they all go through..
So I know I'm handling the commands properly...
Title: Re: Does anyone have ANY experience with implementing PnP
Post by: PeteK on January 03, 2008, 07:30:47 am
Ok, I've confirmed all my devicedata is now getting into the device.

I still can't seem to get the light to blink...

the DCE isn't sending me any 776 commands...  I'm wondering if I've got the right 'wizard'..

Anyone know how to select the Lighting wizard?



The lighting wizard is triggered when it detects a device of type "Lighting Interface." If you change your interface type in the PLM template to this, it will trigger the lighting wizard when the device is discovered.
Title: Re: Does anyone have ANY experience with implementing PnP
Post by: ddamron on January 03, 2008, 07:52:43 am
Ok, I've confirmed all my devicedata is now getting into the device.

I still can't seem to get the light to blink...

the DCE isn't sending me any 776 commands...  I'm wondering if I've got the right 'wizard'..

Anyone know how to select the Lighting wizard?



The lighting wizard is triggered when it detects a device of type "Lighting Interface." If you change your interface type in the PLM template to this, it will trigger the lighting wizard when the device is discovered.

That sounds like it's what I need!!!!
Currently, my PLM is  a device type Interface/Specialized... I will try that now.

Thanks PeteK!

Title: Re: Does anyone have ANY experience with implementing PnP
Post by: ddamron on January 03, 2008, 08:57:14 am
Hmm... it's still not working...

I've changed my PLM's device category to Lighting Interface...
Code: [Select]
Device Template PLM, device category Lighting Interface, manufacturer SmarthomeI'm firing the wizard, it's firing ok.. but looking at the logs, it seems the device isn't created until the wizard finishes..

I'm wondering if I have to REPORT CHILD DEVICES first...

That said, If I run the wizard, then go in and change the newly created device (remove the room), then run the wizard again, it sees the device already created, allows me to select the room, but again, it's not triggering any commands to the PLM during the lighting wizard...

I'm almost thinking it may be easier to write my own wizard... LOL

I'll keep stabbing at it...

Any other comments, even if they're in left field, would be helpful..  Sometimes, it takes someone else to look at the problem differently...

Thanks guys.

Dan
Title: Re: Does anyone have ANY experience with implementing PnP
Post by: totallymaxed on January 03, 2008, 09:58:34 am
Hmm... it's still not working...

I've changed my PLM's device category to Lighting Interface...
Code: [Select]
Device Template PLM, device category Lighting Interface, manufacturer SmarthomeI'm firing the wizard, it's firing ok.. but looking at the logs, it seems the device isn't created until the wizard finishes..

I'm wondering if I have to REPORT CHILD DEVICES first...

That said, If I run the wizard, then go in and change the newly created device (remove the room), then run the wizard again, it sees the device already created, allows me to select the room, but again, it's not triggering any commands to the PLM during the lighting wizard...

I'm almost thinking it may be easier to write my own wizard... LOL

I'll keep stabbing at it...

Any other comments, even if they're in left field, would be helpful..  Sometimes, it takes someone else to look at the problem differently...

Thanks guys.

Dan


Dan... I'll see if I can get someone to give you a pointer to get this working today. Most of the Pluto guys are back today but they are snowed under with fixes/changes etc to get the 0710 out the door so I can't promise anything... but I'll see what i can do ;-)
Title: Re: Does anyone have ANY experience with implementing PnP
Post by: ddamron on January 03, 2008, 10:21:57 am
Thanks Totallymaxed,

I'm at a bit of a loss on this... I think I have all the steps, and I think I'm doing them in the right order, but can't seem to get the proper outcome.

I'm also in a bit of a pickle... I'd like to categorize my device as an Interface/Specialized rather than Interface/Lighting.. as I also sense non-lighting devices..

EZRain1, EZX10RF, EZIO8SA all sense properly... though I haven't attempted any kind of a wizard with them yet..(Lighting is more important at this time)

I have a headache.

Dan
Title: Re: Does anyone have ANY experience with implementing PnP
Post by: ddamron on January 03, 2008, 11:28:08 pm
I'm still at a loss on this...
Also, I'm trying to find the zwave source in the web svn.. can't seem to find it..
Title: Re: Does anyone have ANY experience with implementing PnP
Post by: hari on January 03, 2008, 11:32:10 pm
I'm still at a loss on this...
Also, I'm trying to find the zwave source in the web svn.. can't seem to find it..
http://svn.charonmedia.org/trac.cgi/browser/trunk/src/ZWave
the zensys api is in the ZW_*.h files.

maybe also of you interest:
http://svn.charonmedia.org/trac.cgi/browser/trunk/src/Lighting_Plugin

best regards,
Hari
Title: Re: Does anyone have ANY experience with implementing PnP
Post by: ddamron on February 29, 2008, 11:16:52 pm
I'm still at a loss on this..

If anyone knows how to get the LIGHTING Wizard to fire, I'd really like to know how.

How about if anyone has a 0710 zwave log with the detection inside?

0710 has much more debug output, or possibly a DCERouter log file with the detection..

Regards,

Dan
Title: Re: Does anyone have ANY experience with implementing PnP
Post by: 1audio on March 02, 2008, 04:50:34 pm
I can supply a ZWave log. I have confirmed that there is no change the 704 ZWave code in 710 yet. However the log is 700K for on e day. (I got Chris to put a fix in, it was going into the GB's.)

I have a problem with the light flashing drill as well on ZWave. It works on some devices and not on others. I could not figure out why. Nothing obvious from the Zniffer.
Title: Re: Does anyone have ANY experience with implementing PnP
Post by: ddamron on March 02, 2008, 08:05:36 pm
1audio,

Thanks for the offer, but TSCHAK supplied me with a log file from both Zwave and dcerouter. (a couple days ago)
ok, I've gone through the log, I think the main thing I missed was registering a message interceptor...
but, I shouldn't need to register a message interceptor for myself...

After a LOT of playing around, and a step back..
I went into the wizard,
noticed the lighting there...
viola
the lighting wiz works

Lights are sensed.
Lights are turned ON/OFF via 760

I was doing it right, all the time.
the step I missed, (and still want to find) is HOW to FIRE the lighting wizard automagically.
For that matter, How to FIRE *ANY* wizard from a DCE Command/Event.
as I will need to fire different wizards, Lighting, Climate, Irrigation, etc.

Title: Re: Does anyone have ANY experience with implementing PnP
Post by: ddamron on March 12, 2008, 01:02:21 pm
ok, an update with this Plug and Play...
it seems I'm dealing with TWO different issues here, and the commands/events are mixed up for me.

The first issue is the parent device itself, along with a shell script, what should the parent fire to tell the system 'Hey, I'm a PLM'.

The second issue is the child devices.  Ideally, I'd like to be able to 'add' children on the fly, and automagically start the appropriate wizard, whether it be the lighting wizard, or irrigation, or what ever.
I know you can manually run the wizard, and then select Lighting, that works.
but I'd like to see if I can automate the procedure for OTHER devices (ie not just lighting)

Any help on this would be greatly appreciated!

Dan