Author Topic: No Signal with hdmi cable.  (Read 7953 times)

Goodfeather

• View Profile
No Signal with hdmi cable.
« on: September 08, 2009, 11:19:08 am »
Hello!

To start I'm fairly new to both Linux and Linuxmce, but I would really like to learn Linux better. I got an old HP DC7600 from my work that I have tried to install Linuxmce on. To add performance I've bought 2gb RAM, 1tb harddrive and a GeForce 9400GT 1024mb.

First I had very much problems to get the nvidia drivers and the xorg file to work, but finally it's starting with the nvidia drivers and not the VESA drivers and I can set the resolution to 1920x1080. Everything seems to work fine except that the hdmi output is not working, well it's working until I start x and then my samung TV says "no signal", it's working when I have a dvi > hdmi cable.

The HDMI cable is working fine on all other sessions except tty6 or something were the X session is, there I just got this "no signal" on the TV.
One thing is that my motherboard doesn't have a spdif output so I can't connect the spdif cable to my GeForce 9400GT.

Thanks very much if someone can help me with this. I can come back with more information when I come home, now I'm at work.

//Peter

pigdog

• NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
    • View Profile
Re: No Signal with hdmi cable.
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2009, 08:02:40 pm »
Hi,

Are you using the 710 or 810 alpha variant of LMCE?

Cheers.

kyfalcon

• Guru
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 09, 2009, 04:48:35 pm »
Try hdmi2 in the AV wizard

Goodfeather

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: September 10, 2009, 10:03:23 am »
I'm using  710, is the alpha better? Actually I didn't know about that version. :D

Well I've done some more testing about this..
1: I cannot come in to AV wizard with neither dvi > hdmi cable or hdmi cable, then I get message "cannot start X". The nvidia drivers seems fine for me, I can use 1920x1080 etc.