Author Topic: Linuxmce + existing songs and pictures  (Read 3481 times)

mejborn

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 41
    • View Profile
Linuxmce + existing songs and pictures
« on: May 19, 2009, 01:49:42 pm »
Hi

I have som existing songs and picturesthat I would like to transfer to my new core but I can't seem to locate where the core would like it to be stored? Is it possible to keep my existing directory structure and still have the core recognicing it?

Is it possible for the core to run some sort of Samba server so the users on the LAN (on the external NIC in the core) can access the songs, pictures etc?

Best regards

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5549
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Linuxmce + existing songs and pictures
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2009, 01:57:07 pm »
Already done, if you set up the system to be the center of the whole network like you're supposed to, look for the DCEROUTER server.

-Thom

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5549
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Linuxmce + existing songs and pictures
« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2009, 02:30:55 pm »
1. Files & Media > Media Files Sync can do this from the web admin, there is a move button once you drill down into each file.
2. Just move the files from public to user_1/2/3/4/5/6... The system will see they have moved, and UpdateMedia will deal with them. You can also:
3. connect to \\dcerouter and move them there.

stop over-thinking it. :P

-Thom

PcCowboy

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
Re: Linuxmce + existing songs and pictures
« Reply #3 on: May 19, 2009, 03:25:45 pm »
So as I understand it, the core acts as the dhcp server for the whole LAN (internal) network.  This means my PC's need to be on the internal net work corect? If so does the core do reserved IP's?

Can I setup a win PC to sync media with the core?

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5549
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Linuxmce + existing songs and pictures
« Reply #4 on: May 19, 2009, 04:28:40 pm »
So as I understand it, the core acts as the dhcp server for the whole LAN (internal) network.  This means my PC's need to be on the internal net work corect? If so does the core do reserved IP's?

Can I setup a win PC to sync media with the core?

Any File Server detected on the network is detected by LinuxMCE, and a message is displayed on every orbiter asking whether you wish to use the storage on the PC, and how (make it all public, or use LinuxMCE file structure). This is used to great effect for example to add NAS bricks to the system for easy additional storage.

-Thom

PcCowboy

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
Re: Linuxmce + existing songs and pictures
« Reply #5 on: May 19, 2009, 05:30:14 pm »
Ok cool. Wow I keep finding more and more things I like about mce. You all are doing a GREAT job.
So what's the dif between the public and mce file sys?. Also I'm still wondering if it does reserved IP's.

[Mods; if  this post is a lil off topic. It could be moved to a new thread.]

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5549
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Linuxmce + existing songs and pictures
« Reply #6 on: May 19, 2009, 06:33:17 pm »
in public, the entire share is scraped for relevant media.

With LMCE File Structure, media must be put into specific folders:

public
    audio
       External Disk 1
       External Disk 2
       External Disk 3
       files...
    docs
    videos
    games
    other
user_1    <-- first user made in avwizard, it really is called user_1
    audio
    docs
    videos

and so on.

With LMCE file structure, you're able to specify that some files are public, and some are private.

You can also specify a disk or share as completely private, as well.

And no, we do not allow for reserving specific machine IPs. We merely allocate two blocks, one for LMCE managed devices (such as media directors), and one for non-LMCE managed devices. Just let it do this, and everything will just work.

-Thom

mejborn

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 41
    • View Profile
Re: Linuxmce + existing songs and pictures
« Reply #7 on: May 19, 2009, 08:02:48 pm »
Thanks for the reply, but i can't seem to get connected to //dcerouter, is it because all computers on my network (included Windows pc's) need to be connected through the internal interface of the core?

My LAN looks something like this:

                         ______Iptables______________________________
                         |                    |                      |                              |
                     WAN              DMZ                WIFI                     Linuxmce
                        |                     |                      |                              |
                    Internet    Webserver etc.     All the clients       Media Directors


Is it possible for the computers on the WIFI to reach the media etc. on the core if the setup is as above?
                         

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5549
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Linuxmce + existing songs and pictures
« Reply #8 on: May 19, 2009, 09:10:07 pm »
Yup, all devices need to be connected to the internal port on the lmce system. Let the LMCE system be the center of your network. PLEASE!

-Thom

pedplar

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 89
    • View Profile
Re: Linuxmce + existing songs and pictures
« Reply #9 on: May 20, 2009, 12:06:01 am »
user_9
  audio-----Disk Linuxmce is installed on
    Data-disk1---disk 1
    Data-disk2---disk 2
  video------Disk Linuxmce is installed on
    Data-disk1---disk 1
    Data-disk2---disk 2

Marie.O

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3675
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: Linuxmce + existing songs and pictures
« Reply #10 on: May 20, 2009, 09:14:17 am »
my user_8 and user_9 were generated after the drives were added. I found that LinuxMCE automagically made the subdirectories as you described above.
But in the case of public, there is a subdir (also in your overview above), or rather a symlink, to specific drives.
I am wondering how I obtain that situation in user_9.

Try rebooting.