Author Topic: Ok.. I did something dumb... again... duplicate database entries  (Read 2517 times)

fearingsept

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 369
    • View Profile
Ok.. I did something dumb... again... duplicate database entries
« on: December 06, 2008, 03:47:35 am »
So once again I was fooling around where I shouldn’t have…
I had some DVD’s that I have ripped to a drive that is not managed automatically by LMCE. I noticed when I went to drive from the admin page that these files didn’t look like they were listed in the database. So I used the drop down menu on the media sync page and labeled my DVD’s as LinuxMCE DVD… now I have 2 entries for each movie that I changed. How do I get rid of one entry without deleting the DVD file its self?
Core: Broken :(

wombiroller

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 340
    • View Profile
Re: Ok.. I did something dumb... again... duplicate database entries
« Reply #1 on: December 06, 2008, 08:28:07 am »
http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=2656.msg12903#msg12903

This worked for me. Assuming they are all in the same location - just change the %upnp% to something unique to the media you're having a problem with.


:)
« Last Edit: December 06, 2008, 08:30:12 am by wombiroller »

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5549
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Ok.. I did something dumb... again... duplicate database entries
« Reply #2 on: December 06, 2008, 05:12:35 pm »
Oh christ, NO

NO NO NO

I need to delete that thread. DO NOT DO THIS! You have just broken your database, but you won't notice it immediately. Now the primary key relationships in your database are fucked, and when you start adding more media, eventually you'll start noticing more anomalies (cover art not matching, web admin erroring out, etc.)

-Thom


fearingsept

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 369
    • View Profile
Re: Ok.. I did something dumb... again... duplicate database entries
« Reply #3 on: December 06, 2008, 06:45:13 pm »
good thing I didn't just run out and do this....

Any other suggestions?
Core: Broken :(

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5549
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Ok.. I did something dumb... again... duplicate database entries
« Reply #4 on: December 06, 2008, 08:27:50 pm »
there is a thread on dropping the media database and using sqlcvs import to import a blank database that can be repopulated.

-Thom

wombiroller

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 340
    • View Profile
Re: Ok.. I did something dumb... again... duplicate database entries
« Reply #5 on: December 07, 2008, 01:23:24 am »
Ahh - so that would explain why I have Jimi Hendrix as the thumbnail for ABC TV...  ::)

fearingsept

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 369
    • View Profile
Re: Ok.. I did something dumb... again... duplicate database entries
« Reply #6 on: December 07, 2008, 07:02:54 am »
I'll check that out. I may just leave it becaue I caught myself before I added all my movies so only a few are showing up more then once. I might just delete them and re-rip them. That might be easier.

Just as a note though, it might be nice to have the ability to easily delete duplicate entries from the database in the future. I have run into this problem before and I reinstalled LMCE as a fix for not only this problem but some other issues I was having at the time.

Anyway... I will try not to make anymore retarded mistakes.
Core: Broken :(