Author Topic: Orbiter failing  (Read 5909 times)

driveshaft

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Orbiter failing
« on: August 14, 2007, 01:44:33 am »
Fist time installing.
Fresh install of 0704 and newest linuxmce.

I did not go through the AVWizard the first time, and tried to launch the core and media station on the same box.  The core would start fine, but the media station would toggle through three black screens then back to the launcher.  The first black screen would say that it couldn't find my orbiter config file so it was asking the server.  The second black screen would say that it was unable to locate the config file.  The third screen was just a black screen.  It seemed like an endless loop.  I let it run for about 40 min one time and it eventually would get to a screen that would say it was generating some screens and a bar would move across the screen.  Then it would just go back to looping again for about 2 min....then it would regenerate again....then back to looping.

I finally figured out how to get to the AVWizard during boot and went through that and went to the admin website and went through that.

Now when I try to start it up, the Core start fine.  The media station now says....

"skin generation complete, server says: Failed to get orbiter status"
"failed to regenerate skin for orbiter"


I don't get the endless loop anymore, but I don't think its making it that far now.

When I did the install I had choose UI2 (the middle option), but when I ran the AVWizard I choose UI1 because I'm not sure if my video card will handle UI2.  I'm running a geforce ti4200.

Here is the LaunchManager.log
Code: [Select]
05      08/13/07 0:00:43.480            Starting script: /usr/pluto/bin/X-CheckSettings.sh <0xb68246d0>
05      08/13/07 0:00:43.649            Xorg settings are OK <0xb68246d0>
05      08/13/07 0:00:43.650            Checking screen resolution: current is 800x600 <0xb68246d0>
05      08/13/07 0:00:43.654            Starting Media Station <0xb68246d0>
05      08/13/07 0:00:43.662            Running UpdateAvailableSerialPorts.sh <0xb68246d0>
05      08/13/07 0:00:43.662            Starting core service /usr/pluto/bin/UpdateAvailableSerialPorts.sh: /usr/pluto/bin/UpdateAvailableSerialPorts.sh <0xb68246d0>
05      08/13/07 0:00:43.842            Process completed with status: 0 <0xb68246d0>
05      08/13/07 0:00:43.843            Checking if Orbiter skin is OK <0xb68246d0>
05      08/13/07 0:00:43.843            Running query: "SELECT PK_Orbiter FROM Orbiter WHERE PK_Orbiter=20" <0xb68246d0>
05      08/13/07 0:00:45.858            Getting status for Orbiter #20 <0xb68246d0>
05      08/13/07 0:00:45.860            Getting status for Orbiter failed - failed to send command <0xb68246d0>
05      08/13/07 0:00:45.865            OrbiterGen run completed <0xb68246d0>
05      08/13/07 0:00:45.865            Getting status for Orbiter #20 <0xb68246d0>
05      08/13/07 0:00:45.868            Getting status for Orbiter failed - failed to send command <0xb68246d0>
05      08/13/07 0:00:45.874            Skin generation completed, server says: Failed to get Orbiter status <0xb68246d0>
05      08/13/07 0:00:45.879            Failed to regenerate skin for Orbiter!! <0xb68246d0>


I'm not even sure exactly what "Orbiter" does.  This is my first install so I'm still trying to figure out what is what.  Can I disable orbiter?  I try to regenerate orbiters (whatever that does) and it never leaves 1 of 221.  Does it take hours to regenerate these?  The logs are not giving me much to work from.  Any help would be great.


Any ideas?

 
« Last Edit: August 14, 2007, 02:47:37 am by driveshaft »

kuffi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Orbiter failing
« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2007, 09:28:17 pm »
I get the same failure "Failed to regenerate skin for Orbiter".
What I have to do to start the Media Station?

jonesyx6

  • Making baby steps
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Orbiter failing
« Reply #2 on: August 16, 2007, 06:49:51 am »
I am getting the orbiter transparency error. It goes to a black screen and talks about orbiter transparency error. I hit OK and it loops to the same error. Help.

I am downloading a new DVD install to try and also am going to try to install the 2 CD pack. I am a newbie to Linux so I may be missing something.

kir

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 183
    • View Profile
Re: Orbiter failing
« Reply #3 on: August 16, 2007, 01:44:02 pm »
When you are getting this error, could you please try to stop Core and press "Start LinuxMCE" button again? This looks like a LaunchManager <-> DCERouter issue to me.

driveshaft

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Orbiter failing
« Reply #4 on: August 17, 2007, 12:45:37 am »
Quote
When you are getting this error, could you please try to stop Core and press "Start LinuxMCE" button again? This looks like a LaunchManager <-> DCERouter issue to me.

Core stops just fine......and starts backup just fine, but it still fails to regenerate the skins.

As a note, I installed the OS and then used the 2 CD's to install LinuxMCE.  I just wish there was more to the error or it logged more information somewhere.

Here is something I just noticed.....Is this correct?  This is in the mysql database 'pluto_main' and it where the launcher checks the orbiters.
Code: [Select]
mysql> select * from Orbiter\G
*************************** 1. row ***************************
          PK_Orbiter: 20
       FloorplanInfo: NULL
Modification_LastGen: 0000-00-00 00:00:00
               Regen: 2
                Size: NULL
     RegenInProgress: 0
         RegenStatus: Stage 2 of 2 - Rendering screen 1 of 221
        RegenPercent: 1
 ScenariosFloorplans: NULL
          FirstRegen: NULL
              psc_id: NULL
           psc_batch: NULL
            psc_user: NULL
          psc_frozen: 0
             psc_mod: 2007-08-13 19:49:03
        psc_restrict: NULL
*************************** 2. row ***************************
          PK_Orbiter: 29
       FloorplanInfo: NULL
Modification_LastGen: NULL
               Regen: 2
                Size: NULL
     RegenInProgress: 1
         RegenStatus: Stage 2 of 2 - Rendering screen 1 of 220
        RegenPercent: 1
 ScenariosFloorplans: NULL
          FirstRegen: NULL
              psc_id: NULL
           psc_batch: NULL
            psc_user: NULL
          psc_frozen: 0
             psc_mod: 2007-08-16 17:30:13
        psc_restrict: NULL
2 rows in set (0.00 sec)

So I have 2 Orbiters and neither one of them have any "rendered" screens?  I can't figure out how its checking for a "status", but it seems that I'm not rendering screens?  whatever that means.

UPDATE:
I am not so sure that the core is fully starting up.  When I start the core it takes a good 5 minutes for it to build the screens during stage 1.  When it gets to stage 2 it sits at 1% for about 30 seconds, then modules start to load and it says the core is up.  But after checking the database, I never move past rendering 1 of 220 during stage 2. 
« Last Edit: August 17, 2007, 04:32:10 am by driveshaft »

webpaul1

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 140
    • View Profile
Re: Orbiter failing
« Reply #5 on: August 17, 2007, 03:50:51 pm »
Edit the file /etc/pluto.conf.  Comment out any lines that have LogLevel in them (that is a filter to reduce the size of the logs).

Then I'd suggest moving the logs in /var/log/pluto out of there so you start with clean logs, and reboot.

Look at the log OrbiterGen.log.  Does it say why it's aborting?

kuffi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Orbiter failing
« Reply #6 on: August 19, 2007, 06:26:26 pm »
Reinstall the system works :) I have reinstalle dthe system and the error message "skin generation complete, server says: Failed to get orbiter status"
"failed to regenerate skin for orbiter" is gone.

After that I disabled "Asterix" and "Text to speech.." and I have the same error again. So maybe it is not a good idea to disable this two services.

driveshaft

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Orbiter failing
« Reply #7 on: August 20, 2007, 08:57:04 pm »
I have fixed the problem by uninstalling LinuxMCE.  I now do not suffer from the headaches of trying to get this this non-documented, non-logging, thrown together software to work.  This software is not worth the headaches.  If it works for you right off the bat......I give you props and DO NOT MAKE any changes cause you WILL break it.  If you are having a hell of a time to get this software to work, simply uninstall and all problems will be solved.  Mythtv works just fine and doesn't need to be developed.  I don't get paid to develop linuxmce so why go through the hassle?

isaidi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Orbiter failing
« Reply #8 on: December 29, 2007, 02:16:18 pm »
Thanks Kuffi..
you just saved me a re-install.. i had the same error and wasn't able to start media station...

After reading your post, i had realized i also disabled "Asterix" and "Text to speech".. so I re-enabled them in web-admin and my linux-mce is back..


indulis

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 147
    • View Profile
Re: Orbiter failing
« Reply #9 on: December 19, 2008, 02:40:24 am »
I have been having the same problem intermittently.

Sometimes it fixes itself up on reboot, sometimes not.

I have just rebooted, tried 2 or 3 times to start LinuxMCE from the Launch Manager, it failed.  Then tried it again and it works.  Stopped it again and started it again using Launch Manager and it fails.  Took no actions in between except to stop LMCE using the Launch Manager button.

I don't have a resolution to this yet- there is no apparent error information in the logs apart from "failed to generate orbiter" in the launch manager log, and the Orbitergen log is empty.

Got it to start again, tried "regen all orbiters" and it hung with an Orbitergen message that it cannot contact MySQL.  Will investigate further.
« Last Edit: December 19, 2008, 04:01:55 am by indulis »