Author Topic: Can't start MythTV anymore :-(  (Read 6218 times)

jawadde

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Can't start MythTV anymore :-(
« on: March 16, 2008, 02:16:04 am »
Hi,

I had a system that worked well. MythTV was working.

Now, when I try to start to watch TV from the orbitter, I'm getting the following message:

"I cannot play this media. Perhaps there is not a valid device in this entertainmnt area capabale of playing it."

My only option is to click the OK button and I will return back to the orbitters main screen :-)

I really have no clue why this is happening. Probably I have screwed somthing up, but I really wouldn't know what.

Any help or hint would be very much appreciated.

Thanks

rwilson131

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
    • View Profile
Re: Can't start MythTV anymore :-(
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2008, 04:15:22 am »
Make sure the mythtv user is in the group public

Code: [Select]
id mythtv
should see all groups mythtv is current in, if you do not see public then
Code: [Select]
usermod -G public mythtv
should fix this issue. There was a patch recently applied to SVN to correct this very issue.  I hope this helps

Rob

jawadde

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: Can't start MythTV anymore :-(
« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2008, 09:29:53 am »
Thanks Rob for this hint.

Here is the output form id Mythtv.  As you can see public is there.

linuxmce@dcerouter:~$ id mythtv
uid=115(mythtv) gid=124(mythtv) groups=124(mythtv),20(dialout),24(cdrom),29(audio),44(video),1002(public)

The weird thing is that I can start MythTV from the KDE desktop without any problems.
I just seems to me that LinuxMCE has "forgotten" that MythTV is my "device" for playing Life Television.

Any way I can validate this in the Admin site ?

Thanks

rwilson131

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
    • View Profile
Re: Can't start MythTV anymore :-(
« Reply #3 on: March 16, 2008, 02:47:15 pm »
Just a few questions which may shed some light.

1. Is this the Core or MD?

2. Is this a clean install or upgrade?

3. What Version are you running?

4. Please post log file /var/mythtv/mythbackend.log on the machine you are using.

I had this same after upgrading to Beta4 from Beta3 on my MD.   The problem was the MD were trying to connect to MythTV with the wrong password.  I think this would only be a problem if your problems are not on the core, because my core after the upgrade was fine.

MythTV gets it password information for /etc/mythtv/mysql.txt

Rob

jawadde

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: Can't start MythTV anymore :-(
« Reply #4 on: March 16, 2008, 09:01:46 pm »
Hi Rob,

This is on a Core/Hybrid system. The backend seems to be OK. Also the frontend works fine when started outside of LinuXMCE from KDE.

I did indeed upgrade to Beta 4, so I'm running 7.10 B4.

Below you can find an extract from the backend log file, however please keep in mind that this log is generated because I'm starting MythTV from KDE. When I try to start MythTV from the orbiter, the frontend doesn't even get started, so obviously doesn't connect to the backend either.

So, in my opinion, this problem has less to see with MythTV and it's configuration, but more with the setup of LinuxMCE.

thanks for your help.

Quote
2008-03-16 20:26:35.019 Finished recording De pappenheimers "15, jg. 6": channel 1010
2008-03-16 20:26:35.028 scheduler: Finished recording: De pappenheimers "15, jg. 6": channel 1010
2008-03-16 20:28:58.389 Expiring De pappenheimers "15, jg. 6" from Sun Mar 16 20:25:00 2008, 4 MBytes, forced expire (LiveTV recording)
2008-03-16 20:28:58.393 autoexpire: Expiring Program: Expiring De pappenheimers "15, jg. 6" from Sun Mar 16 20:25:00 2008, 4 MBytes, forced expire (LiveTV recording)
2008-03-16 20:31:57.323 MainServer::HandleAnnounce Monitor
2008-03-16 20:31:57.330 adding: dcerouter as a client (events: 0)
2008-03-16 20:31:57.331 MainServer::HandleAnnounce Monitor
2008-03-16 20:31:57.331 adding: dcerouter as a client (events: 1)
2008-03-16 20:31:57.357 MainServer::HandleAnnounce Playback
2008-03-16 20:31:57.358 adding: dcerouter as a client (events: 0)
2008-03-16 20:31:57.359 TVRec(1): Changing from None to WatchingLiveTV
2008-03-16 20:31:57.370 TVRec(1): HW Tuner: 1->1
[mpeg4 @ 0xb7394ce8]removing common factors from framerate
strange error flushing buffer ...
2008-03-16 20:32:05.823 TVRec(1): Changing from WatchingLiveTV to None
2008-03-16 20:32:06.137 Finished recording De pappenheimers "15, jg. 6": channel 1010
2008-03-16 20:33:12.654 MainServer::HandleAnnounce Monitor
2008-03-16 20:33:12.663 adding: dcerouter as a client (events: 0)
2008-03-16 20:33:12.664 MainServer::HandleAnnounce Monitor
2008-03-16 20:33:12.665 adding: dcerouter as a client (events: 1)
2008-03-16 20:34:05.827 Reloading backend settings
2008-03-16 20:34:11.230 MainServer::HandleAnnounce Playback
2008-03-16 20:34:11.232 adding: dcerouter as a client (events: 0)
2008-03-16 20:34:11.233 TVRec(1): Changing from None to WatchingLiveTV
2008-03-16 20:34:11.236 TVRec(1): HW Tuner: 1->1
[mpeg4 @ 0xb7394ce8]removing common factors from framerate
strange error flushing buffer ...
2008-03-16 20:34:18.882 TVRec(1): Changing from WatchingLiveTV to None
2008-03-16 20:34:19.242 Finished recording De pappenheimers "15, jg. 6": channel 1010
2008-03-16 20:34:57.346 MainServer::HandleAnnounce Monitor
2008-03-16 20:34:57.379 adding: dcerouter as a client (events: 0)
2008-03-16 20:34:57.380 MainServer::HandleAnnounce Monitor
2008-03-16 20:34:57.381 adding: dcerouter as a client (events: 1)
2008-03-16 20:34:57.383 MainServer::HandleAnnounce Playback
2008-03-16 20:34:57.384 adding: dcerouter as a client (events: 0)
2008-03-16 20:34:57.385 TVRec(1): Changing from None to WatchingLiveTV
2008-03-16 20:34:57.389 TVRec(1): HW Tuner: 1->1
[mpeg4 @ 0xb7394ce8]removing common factors from framerate
strange error flushing buffer ...
2008-03-16 20:34:58.409 Expiring De pappenheimers "15, jg. 6" from Sun Mar 16 20:25:00 2008, 3 MBytes, forced expire (LiveTV recording)
2008-03-16 20:34:58.426 autoexpire: Expiring Program: Expiring De pappenheimers "15, jg. 6" from Sun Mar 16 20:25:00 2008, 3 MBytes, forced expire (LiveTV recording)
2008-03-16 20:35:05.496 TVRec(1): Changing from WatchingLiveTV to None
2008-03-16 20:35:05.831 Finished recording De pappenheimers "15, jg. 6": channel 1010
2008-03-16 20:36:05.995 MainServer::HandleAnnounce Monitor
2008-03-16 20:36:06.004 adding: dcerouter as a client (events: 0)
2008-03-16 20:36:06.005 MainServer::HandleAnnounce Monitor
2008-03-16 20:36:06.006 adding: dcerouter as a client (events: 1)
2008-03-16 20:36:41.356 Reloading backend settings
2008-03-16 20:36:58.449 Expiring De pappenheimers "15, jg. 6" from Sun Mar 16 20:25:00 2008, 3 MBytes, forced expire (LiveTV recording)
2008-03-16 20:36:58.452 Expiring De pappenheimers "15, jg. 6" from Sun Mar 16 20:25:00 2008, 3 MBytes, forced expire (LiveTV recording)



chaos1965

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: Can't start MythTV anymore :-(
« Reply #5 on: March 24, 2008, 08:02:15 pm »
I am having an identical problem with the identical error message, but for a different reason.

Did anything ever come of this?

jgaffney

  • Douchebag
  • Veteran
  • *
  • Posts: 138
    • View Profile
Re: Can't start MythTV anymore :-(
« Reply #6 on: March 25, 2008, 02:29:59 am »
Same issue for me, after b3 to b4 upgrade.  Can't seem to figure out...  >:(

chaos1965

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: Can't start MythTV anymore :-(
« Reply #7 on: March 25, 2008, 07:15:29 pm »
Well, a guy in my other post reccommended to watch DCERouter.log and see if the MythTV_Plugin.so is being registered.  So I assume that will be our next question, if not, then how to manually register it properly?

jgaffney

  • Douchebag
  • Veteran
  • *
  • Posts: 138
    • View Profile
Re: Can't start MythTV anymore :-(
« Reply #8 on: March 28, 2008, 05:48:10 pm »
Anyone make any progress here?  I can't seem to find the post choas1965 mentions,  if there is any good info there could someone post a link to it here?

Thanx.

jgaffney

  • Douchebag
  • Veteran
  • *
  • Posts: 138
    • View Profile
Re: Can't start MythTV anymore :-(
« Reply #9 on: March 29, 2008, 04:11:59 pm »
Bummer we can't get this one fixed.  Looks like I'll move on with a clean install of beta4.

So far all upgrades have failed me.  704 to 710, 710 to 710 Beta3 and 710 Beta3 to 710 Beta 4.  I've added a second hard drive just for LMCE and will be keeping my data on a separate drive.  This way I won't have to worry about future failed upgrades and just go with clean install each time without having to re-copy all my data each time.

chaos1965

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: Can't start MythTV anymore :-(
« Reply #10 on: March 31, 2008, 08:35:41 pm »
Yes I resolved my mythtv problem.  Although mine is not consistent with your cause.  My Mythtv problem was caused by me replacing the MythTV_Plugin.so file with my own pre-compiled version (omitting some forced options like where mythtv save video files).  My problem was something simple, I was compiling a 32bit version of the .so and was trying to use it on an amd64 platform, which I know does not work so I don't know why I did a bonehead that.  I eventually re-installed using the i386 version since I couldn't get anything to compile for amd64.


I found my problem by watching the /var/log/pluto/DCERouter.log as the router boots up.  I saw a message in there saying something to the effect of "PLugin MythTV_Plugin.so not registered wrong elfclass (ELFCLASS32).".

As you can see from the error message, I realized my mistake immediately.  Maybe you should try watching that log file from another computer at a terminal as the system is booting and see if there are any errors about registered the MythTV_Plugin.so.  The content of the error message may point you in the right direction.

Otherwise re-install, seems like the most common fix around here.  I know i've re-install hundreds of times just to fix minor problems because there didn't seem to be any other way.  I eventually set my system up so re-installing is nothing but 45 minutes to me.  Copying all my save configuration, modified binaries, etc... is a 2 minute job and viola i'm done if 47 minutes.

jgaffney

  • Douchebag
  • Veteran
  • *
  • Posts: 138
    • View Profile
Re: Can't start MythTV anymore :-(
« Reply #11 on: April 02, 2008, 02:39:57 am »
Well,   I did a clean install on another drive, all went well.  But it had problems finding all my data, so just for fun I went back to my original updated drive to look into the DCERouter.log as chaos suggested.  Sure enough I found this

Code: [Select]
01      04/01/08 19:26:57.335           ^[[31;1mCan't open plug-in file './MythTV_PlugIn.so': ./MythTV_PlugIn.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory^[[0m <0x2b00a040ee80>
01      04/01/08 19:26:57.335           ^[[31;1mCannot load plug-in for device: 27. Be sure the file MythTV_PlugIn exists^[[0m <0x2b00a040ee80>

Of course, there is no MythTV_PlugIn.so file on my machine.  I would suspect a re-install of MythTV would do it, but I'm not sure how that is done.  Can anyone point me in the right direction?  Maybe if I knew how to remove mythtv I could go throught the setup wizard again and get it installed correctly.

Thank you.
« Last Edit: April 02, 2008, 02:50:08 am by jgaffney »

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5549
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Can't start MythTV anymore :-(
« Reply #12 on: April 02, 2008, 06:33:15 am »
apt-get install pluto-mythtv-plugin

-Thom

jgaffney

  • Douchebag
  • Veteran
  • *
  • Posts: 138
    • View Profile
Re: Can't start MythTV anymore :-(
« Reply #13 on: April 04, 2008, 01:23:41 am »
OK, making progress now...

I tried to manually install pluto-mythtv-plugin but got some dependencies errors.
Code: [Select]
The following packages have unmet dependencies:
  pluto-mythtv-plugin: PreDepends: mythtv-database but it is not going to be installed
E: Broken packages

So I tried to install mythtv-database
Code: [Select]
The following packages have unmet dependencies:
  mythtv-database: Depends: mythtv-common (= 0.20.2+fixes14472-0ubuntu0~mythbuntu1+lmce1) but 0.20.2-2lmce710.0 is to be installed
E: Broken packages

I've tried to remove and reinstall mythtv-common but still get the same error trying to install mythth-database.  Looks like some kind of version issue with apt-get.  Any suggestions on how I can get it straightened out. (I've tried apt-get update with the same results)

Thank you.

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5549
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Can't start MythTV anymore :-(
« Reply #14 on: April 04, 2008, 01:38:49 am »
oh brooooooooooooooo..............


you're mixing ubuntu packages with pluto ones, no wonder it's fubaring hard...

-Thom