LinuxMCE Forums

General => Installation issues => Topic started by: hjklhjklhjkl on March 22, 2009, 11:38:41 am

Title: MD setup: no route to host
Post by: hjklhjklhjkl on March 22, 2009, 11:38:41 am
When I attempt to netboot my md it gets stuck on the following:

/scripts/fs-premount ...
Done.
connect: No route to host
read: no route to host
read: no route to host
read: no route to host
and then it just keeps repeating.

What am I doing wrong here?  Am I missing something?
Title: Re: MD setup: no route to host
Post by: totallymaxed on March 22, 2009, 12:03:12 pm
When I attempt to netboot my md it gets stuck on the following:

/scripts/fs-premount ...
Done.
connect: No route to host
read: no route to host
read: no route to host
read: no route to host
and then it just keeps repeating.

What am I doing wrong here?  Am I missing something?

Your NIC has not been detected and is therefore not supported.

All the best

Andrew
Title: Re: MD setup: no route to host
Post by: hjklhjklhjkl on March 22, 2009, 12:28:40 pm
I am useing a brand new Intel Pro/1000 8390MT Gigabit pci network card.  Is this card really not supported, with no workaround?  If so then is there a few cards that for sure are supported gigabit cards?
Title: Re: MD setup: no route to host
Post by: totallymaxed on March 22, 2009, 09:11:50 pm
I am useing a brand new Intel Pro/1000 8390MT Gigabit pci network card.  Is this card really not supported, with no workaround?  If so then is there a few cards that for sure are supported gigabit cards?

Support for your card is not in the initramfs that is used to pxe boot an MD...see;

http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Unrecognized_NIC (http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Unrecognized_NIC)

http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Automatic_diskless_boot_of_media_directors#Other_Network_Cards (http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Automatic_diskless_boot_of_media_directors#Other_Network_Cards)

http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Automatic_diskless_boot_of_media_directors (http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Automatic_diskless_boot_of_media_directors)

The route to supporting your card below is more complex to achieve...but worth a look;

http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/GRUB_PXE_network_boot (http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/GRUB_PXE_network_boot)

Andrew

Title: Re: MD setup: no route to host
Post by: hjklhjklhjkl on March 23, 2009, 07:35:53 am
So is there a list of gigabit network cards that will automaticly work with no problems?  I can't seem to find any.  Thank you so much for your help.  I am new to linux and appreciate your guidance.
Title: Re: MD setup: no route to host
Post by: colinjones on March 23, 2009, 07:51:11 am
Not really, it is all down to what is in the 0710 standard initramfs boot image, not really a LMCE thing at all. Because pretty much any NIC that has a Linux driver compatible with 0710 can be added into the initramfs image by following the first link Totallymaxed gave you, so its not really a static thing.

If you can find a Linux driver for your NIC that is compatible with 2.6.22-14 version of the kernel (the vendor's web site will tell you this info), then you can download that driver, and follow that article to rebuild the boot images (both the initial/default boot image used for an MD when the core has never seen it before, for building the initial image; and also the ongoing initramfs image used for all subsequent boots once the MD has been set up). As long as you rebuild those images, it will boot just fine with the current hardware.

Failing that, the standard boot image is just an archive file, expanded into a temporary RAM disk during boot, so I suppose you could use a tool to open that archive file, and find out what drivers are in there and choose one of those NICs... seems a lot of work though, when you could just concentrate on refreshing the archive with the required driver....
Title: Re: MD setup: no route to host
Post by: hjklhjklhjkl on March 23, 2009, 01:37:47 pm
Ok so what is the text editor in kubunu to use to modify those files?  Also, how do I untar the linux driver files and where do I put them on my core's system? 
Title: Re: MD setup: no route to host
Post by: colinjones on March 23, 2009, 02:29:55 pm
I would use joe, you need to install it though....

sudo apt-get install joe

then:

sudo joe <filename>

tar xvvf <filename>

It will untar them into a folder under the current directory. Likely they are not compiled if they are tarred, so you will need to compile them for your system... read the readme or whatever doco that comes with it. Usually it is a case of something like:

./configure
make
make install

... to compile and install them. Ideally, see if the manufacturer provides a pre-compiled installable for your architecture and kernel... that way you won't have to compile and install manually.
Title: Re: MD setup: no route to host
Post by: hjklhjklhjkl on April 03, 2009, 03:49:39 pm
ok so I am attempting to go through the steps from here:
http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Unrecognized_NIC (http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Unrecognized_NIC)
I got through the first step and edit, but when I get to rebuilding the initial ramdisk I get the following when I try both of the recommended steps:

File /etc/initramfs-tools-interactor/modules saved
linuxmce@dcerouter:~$ /usr/pluto/bin/Diskless_BuildDefaultImage.sh
cp: cannot create regular file `/tftpboot/default/vmlinuz': Permission denied
/usr/pluto/bin/Diskless_BuildDefaultImage.sh: line 6: mkinitramfs: command not f                             ound
/usr/pluto/bin/Diskless_BuildDefaultImage.sh: line 15: /tftpboot/pxelinux.cfg/de                             fault: Permission denied
linuxmce@dcerouter:~$ mkinitramfs -d etc/initramfs-tools-interactor/ -o /tftpboot/default/initrd
Command 'mkinitramfs' is available in '/usr/sbin/mkinitramfs'
The command could not be located because '/usr/sbin' is not included in the PATH environment variable.
This is most likely caused by the lack of administrative priviledges associated with your user account.
bash: mkinitramfs: command not found
linuxmce@dcerouter:~$

What am I missing here?

Also, when I install the driver for the new nick, does it matter where or what directory I install it into?
Title: Re: MD setup: no route to host
Post by: totallymaxed on April 03, 2009, 03:56:23 pm
ok so I am attempting to go through the steps from here:
http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Unrecognized_NIC (http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Unrecognized_NIC)
I got through the first step and edit, but when I get to rebuilding the initial ramdisk I get the following when I try both of the recommended steps:

File /etc/initramfs-tools-interactor/modules saved
linuxmce@dcerouter:~$ /usr/pluto/bin/Diskless_BuildDefaultImage.sh
cp: cannot create regular file `/tftpboot/default/vmlinuz': Permission denied
/usr/pluto/bin/Diskless_BuildDefaultImage.sh: line 6: mkinitramfs: command not f                             ound
/usr/pluto/bin/Diskless_BuildDefaultImage.sh: line 15: /tftpboot/pxelinux.cfg/de                             fault: Permission denied
linuxmce@dcerouter:~$ mkinitramfs -d etc/initramfs-tools-interactor/ -o /tftpboot/default/initrd
Command 'mkinitramfs' is available in '/usr/sbin/mkinitramfs'
The command could not be located because '/usr/sbin' is not included in the PATH environment variable.
This is most likely caused by the lack of administrative priviledges associated with your user account.
bash: mkinitramfs: command not found
linuxmce@dcerouter:~$

What am I missing here?

Also, when I install the driver for the new nick, does it matter where or what directory I install it into?

You need to follow that page very carefully... you must use the 'sudo' command otherwise you do not have correct privileges to make the changes you need to make.

Andrew
Title: Re: MD setup: no route to host
Post by: hjklhjklhjkl on April 03, 2009, 05:00:04 pm
ok, thanks!  So I am now on the last step of that page and am stuck, here is what I have done and where I am stuck:

linuxmce@dcerouter:/usr/pluto/diskless/43/etc$ cd /usr/pluto/diskless/
linuxmce@dcerouter:/usr/pluto/diskless$ chroot 43
Command 'chroot' is available in '/usr/sbin/chroot'
The command could not be located because '/usr/sbin' is not included in the PATH environment variable.
This is most likely caused by the lack of administrative priviledges associated with your user account.
bash: chroot: command not found
linuxmce@dcerouter:/usr/pluto/diskless$ sudo /usr/sbin/chroot
/usr/sbin/chroot: missing operand
Try `/usr/sbin/chroot --help' for more information.
linuxmce@dcerouter:/usr/pluto/diskless$ sudo chroot 43
root@dcerouter:/# depmod
root@dcerouter:/# cd/boot
bash: cd/boot: No such file or directory

what am I missing now?
Title: Re: MD setup: no route to host
Post by: UNi on April 03, 2009, 05:38:01 pm
You need a space for that command:

cd /boot

You can also type "sudo -s" before you start the commands so you don't have to put sudo in front of every one.

-UNi
Title: Re: MD setup: no route to host
Post by: hjklhjklhjkl on April 04, 2009, 03:46:17 pm
ok, so I followed the steps in the following wiki page:

http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Unrecognized_NIC (http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Unrecognized_NIC)

It seems though that that did not solve my NIC problem on my MD.  I now get the following when I attempt to netboot my media director:

pxe-m0f: No DHCP or proxyDHCP offers were received.
PXE-M0F:  Exiting Intel Boot Agent.

Could some one help me?  I have been trying to get this MD to work for weeks now and have been held up by this NIC problem the whole time!!
Title: Re: MD setup: no route to host
Post by: totallymaxed on April 04, 2009, 04:14:41 pm
ok so I am attempting to go through the steps from here:
http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Unrecognized_NIC (http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Unrecognized_NIC)
I got through the first step and edit, but when I get to rebuilding the initial ramdisk I get the following when I try both of the recommended steps:

File /etc/initramfs-tools-interactor/modules saved
linuxmce@dcerouter:~$ /usr/pluto/bin/Diskless_BuildDefaultImage.sh
cp: cannot create regular file `/tftpboot/default/vmlinuz': Permission denied
/usr/pluto/bin/Diskless_BuildDefaultImage.sh: line 6: mkinitramfs: command not f                             ound
/usr/pluto/bin/Diskless_BuildDefaultImage.sh: line 15: /tftpboot/pxelinux.cfg/de                             fault: Permission denied
linuxmce@dcerouter:~$ mkinitramfs -d etc/initramfs-tools-interactor/ -o /tftpboot/default/initrd
Command 'mkinitramfs' is available in '/usr/sbin/mkinitramfs'
The command could not be located because '/usr/sbin' is not included in the PATH environment variable.
This is most likely caused by the lack of administrative priviledges associated with your user account.
bash: mkinitramfs: command not found
linuxmce@dcerouter:~$

What am I missing here?

Also, when I install the driver for the new nick, does it matter where or what directory I install it into?

Out of interest what driver did you add to /etc/initramfs-tools-interactor/modules

If you did not add the e1000 driver then you will not get a usable initramfs for your NIC.

Andrew
Title: Re: MD setup: no route to host
Post by: hjklhjklhjkl on April 04, 2009, 06:35:32 pm
You are correct, I added the e1000 driver.  That is why I am so confused.
Title: Re: MD setup: no route to host
Post by: totallymaxed on April 04, 2009, 08:16:32 pm
You are correct, I added the e1000 driver.  That is why I am so confused.

Well then...it looks to me like your NIC is working...just that its not getting any DHCP offers as the error message says. Check your NIC's connections and the network.

Andrew
Title: Re: MD setup: no route to host
Post by: pigdog on April 04, 2009, 10:56:21 pm
I just had the same thing doing 810 alpha2. 

I spent hours trying different things.

I restarted from scratch.

Downloaded the software again - reinstalled and it was gone.
Title: Re: MD setup: no route to host
Post by: hjklhjklhjkl on April 06, 2009, 01:49:49 pm
I am still having this issue.  I have checked and all my network cables are ok and my switch is working properly.  Could somebody help me to get this to work.  I am stuck.
Title: Re: MD setup: no route to host
Post by: hjklhjklhjkl on April 06, 2009, 03:54:56 pm
I have now even tried deleting the md on my core to see if that would help, but I am still getting:  PXE-M0F:  No DHCP or proxy DHCP offers were received. 

It doesn't even attempt to re set up the md.

Somebody please help!
Title: Re: MD setup: no route to host
Post by: UNi on April 06, 2009, 07:30:11 pm
After all the issues you've been having with that NIC, I'd spend $20 and buy a NIC that works, or hook up a laptop and see if it can grab an IP from your Core...

See this link, for example (this suggestion came out of a LinuxMCE forum post).  If it doesn't work, don't hold me responsible  :o

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16833106033


-UNi