Hi all,
I'm trying to create a device template for a CambridgeAudio 540R receiver, with rs232.The tech dept assures me that the protocol is applicable to V2/V3 and 340 variants (mine is v2)
http://www.cambridgeaudio.com/assets/documents/AP227921Azur540RV3SerialControlProtocolV1.pdf
So, I've created the template, included volume and input change commands (just to test for now), updated connection wizard,reloaded router (at each stage) and ......nothing , except the receiver is clicking when i hit remote keys.
It's connected via pl2303 usb/serial converter plus the serial cable I've been successfully using on the TV, and the usb connection is showing up in the template, (pci0000:00/0000:00:1a.1+1 )
The examples given in the manual follow this format:
#2,01,02\r
which I've entered into the template as,
<$"#2,01,02\r"$>
and , as I said, the only result is a faint clicking when using the remote.ANY help/pointers would be greatly appreciated,
thanks in advance,
Ian
clicking??
general recommendations: make sure you have the right cable. Test with a terminal emulator like minicom or use the /usr/pluto/bin/TestSerialPort tool to verify basic operation.
best regards,
Hari
Hari,
many thanks for quick response, yes clicking ! on any keypress of remote,so by my logic "something " is getting through,
Will read up on your suggestions ,(another learning curve) and get back to you,
regards,
Ian
are you aware that #2,01,02\r changes the input? My AV receiver also "clicks" when changing the input..
maybe you want to toggle the input to something else, resend the command and see if it changes the input back.
br hari
Hari,
WELL spotted......but no cigar,that was just an example of how the manual formatted commands and how I'd put it into the template...thinking I'd made some obvious error...
the funny thing is , the receiver was clicking on any remote key,not just the vol+/- and 2 inputs I'd entered.
Its now connected direct to serial and clicking has stopped, still no other effect tho,so am presently working thro other receiver templates to try and find some inspiration,who knows ?, "maybeoneday",
I'll get my head around this beast !!!
best regards,
Ian
again, it really helps that you can manually controll the beast. As it talks ascii, that is pretty easy. Just send that string over minicom, set the serial port up for the right speed, baud rate and flow control.
The TestSerialPort tool does the same. It is used by the pnp scripts for serial device detection. You can see it here: http://svn.charonmedia.org/svn/trunk/src/pnp_detection_scripts/20_MarantzReceiver.sh
The Marantz expects the string "@AMT:1\r" to mute, just as an example. I can test if the device is hooked up properly with that command (assuming our serial port is /dev/ttyUSB1):
/usr/pluto/bin/TestSerialPort -p /dev/ttyUSB1 -P N81 -b 9600 -t "@AMT:1\r"
If you don't get reaction from your amp from that (substituting with your own command string/baud rate/...), it is a connection problem. If it executes the command, you must have an error in your GSD.
best regards,
Hari
Hi Hari,
really appreciate the help,
tried TestSerialPort as you suggested, keeps returning Unknown: #(whatever command) so I assume it must be the serial cable (belkin "laplink") , I'll pick up both varieties of serial cable (straight thro' and crossover) tomorrow and let you know the result,
regards,
Ian
I assume you ran something like that?
/usr/pluto/bin/TestSerialPort -p /dev/ttyUSB0 -P N81 -b 9600 -t "#2,01,02\r"
that should not give any errors...
best regards,
hari
Hi Hari,
have swapped out the cables, setup tv thro usb/serial , so receiver is now connected to /dev ttyS0.
Ran (many times/commands):
linuxmce@dcerouter:~$ /usr/pluto/bin/TestSerialPort -p /dev/ttyS0 -P N81 -b 9600 -t "#1,01,0\r"
and get no errors, But , nothing happens on receiver.
Have re contacted tech support to make sure 232 control is possible with 540V2 and asked for any further insights .Will let you know of any developments,
many thanks,
Ian
Quote from: Domodude on October 07, 2008, 03:49:04 PM
Quote from: hari on October 06, 2008, 08:49:54 PM
/usr/pluto/bin/TestSerialPort -p /dev/ttyUSB1 -P N81 -b 9600 -t "@AMT:1\r"
Hari,
Does LMCE use the "regular" ASCII control characters, as given in http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Control_character (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Control_character)?
Thanks,
Mark
dunno, look at the Generic_Serial_Device code,
best regards,
Hari
Hi hari ,
Cambridge tech support have reversed their original statement, 232 is NOT supported on 540R V2..........bummer !
Thanks for your help , sorry it was a waste of time,
regards,
Ian