Author Topic: New hardware for dedicated core build  (Read 3209 times)

gunsmoke

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 73
    • View Profile
New hardware for dedicated core build
« on: April 17, 2010, 11:23:48 pm »
I'am in a prosess of getting me a new platform for LMCE.

Looking at the new intel cpu http://www.guru3d.com/article/core-i3-530-processor-review/7 Core i3 and socket LGA1156, it shows a very low power consumption, but have more power than core2 E8400.




VS

Also considering a Core2 Duo set up with:



Both system will have the same total cost approximatly.

I have in order one Hauppauge WinTV-NOVA-T-500-HD and one WinTV-HVR 4000 to put in the core. Also I have an Win TV-Nexus that also should be able to work with LMCE...

Is it considered gambling to try out a i3 system on LMCE this early, or will it work in a core enviroment?? Also considering the onboard GPU on the i3, will it display the installer in LMCE with the ALSA drivers?


Thanks for any comment  :)
HTPC HARDWARE: Gigabyte E7AUM-DS2H, Onboard video 9400, mATX, Socket LGA775. Intel Core2 Duo E8400. Samsung SpinPoint SATA2 HD 1000GB. Corsair 2x2GB DDR2. NEC DVD+/-RW ND4551A. Seasonic S12-330; +3.3v/20A. BIOS: v3.7

gunsmoke

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 73
    • View Profile
Re: New hardware for dedicated core build
« Reply #1 on: May 16, 2010, 02:16:23 pm »
ok! I am challanging the intel setup with AMD :o

Did find a webstore with the Asus M3N78-VM in store. This mobo has a wiki here http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/ASUS_M3N78-VM

New spec for a core setup will be:


The II X2 240e is at 45W and should have a low heat submission. (I have measured a Core 2 Duo E8400 and Athlon x2 4850e 2.5Ghz, and they both have approx 60watts at idle and 80-90watts in regular use(for the total system, approx identical setup). AMD had an higher cpu core temp in bios, approx 5-7 degre celcius at idle.)

The regular Athlon II x2 240 CPU have only 65w total. Maybe in idle this is not noticeable, in my core setup. But will give some more power when needed??

The core is being located in the living room, so I like to keep the noise/heat to a minimum.

Any comment...


Gunsmoke
HTPC HARDWARE: Gigabyte E7AUM-DS2H, Onboard video 9400, mATX, Socket LGA775. Intel Core2 Duo E8400. Samsung SpinPoint SATA2 HD 1000GB. Corsair 2x2GB DDR2. NEC DVD+/-RW ND4551A. Seasonic S12-330; +3.3v/20A. BIOS: v3.7

gunsmoke

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 73
    • View Profile
Re: New hardware for dedicated core build
« Reply #2 on: May 17, 2010, 12:02:30 pm »
Did a search for the AMD Athlon II X2 240e processor, like here http://www.bjorn3d.com/read.php?cID=1713&pageID=7827.

And it seems like that the "e" version only differense is the 45W TDP.

And here http://www.pcstats.com/articleview.cfm?articleid=2459&page=18

Quote
The only real thing stopping the Athlon II X2 240e from sweeping the low-wattage, low-price processor market is that AMD already has another processors just like it in the form of the AMD Athlon II X2 250 processor. The Athlon II X2 250 draws a little bit more power (about 10W) and is a little bit faster (approx. 5-7%) and costs slightly more (around $10).

If you have to choose between the two, you'll likely want the Athlon II X2 250 processor if you're building a primary computer system that will need that bit of extra speed, and the Athlon II X2 240e for a PC
that's just staying on in the background. It's a tiny margin though, so either processor can be a winner in the right setting.

...ie only 10watt is differing actually.... what to do, what to choose  :-\ ;D

I can get the 250 for the same price as 240e, so that gives me 200mhz more power, but also 10 more watts at full load, this changes however to only 6 watts in idle...
HTPC HARDWARE: Gigabyte E7AUM-DS2H, Onboard video 9400, mATX, Socket LGA775. Intel Core2 Duo E8400. Samsung SpinPoint SATA2 HD 1000GB. Corsair 2x2GB DDR2. NEC DVD+/-RW ND4551A. Seasonic S12-330; +3.3v/20A. BIOS: v3.7

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1402
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: New hardware for dedicated core build
« Reply #3 on: May 17, 2010, 02:24:57 pm »
Quite a lot to read through there... I will say that the core does not need to be as powerful as you might think. I have an AM2 AMD x2 2Ghz with 2 gigs of RAM in my core (must be cracking on for 3 years old now) and it runs just fine. I have 6 MDs.

I wouldn't recommend getting the latest most cutting edge hardware as 1) it's a waste of money and 2) there may be a risk that the software cannot utilise all the latest bells and whistles to their full potential. Correct me if I'm wrong anybody?
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

lmwashere

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 79
    • View Profile
Re: New hardware for dedicated core build
« Reply #4 on: May 17, 2010, 02:55:54 pm »
no, you are very correct. Best to stay away form the brand new stuff when it comes to chipsets and such. Processors should be fine I think. This is what I have and it all worked OTB.

http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Lmwashere

also using some zwave stuff and have included a MD. I need to update the page. Also an 8800gt seems to work very well.

gunsmoke

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 73
    • View Profile
Re: New hardware for dedicated core build
« Reply #5 on: May 17, 2010, 04:34:59 pm »
Thanks for your replay all  :)

So I guess the AMD option is the one to go for; Well known hardware, onboard nividia grapich that can handle HD with vdpau(not shure if this is posible in LMCE, but it works with XBMC I hear) and UI2 overlay. 5.1 sound and NIC working(not shure out of the box doe!).

    * Mobo: Asus M3N78-VM http://usa.asus.com/product.aspx?P_ID=ovqEgLFRjnSClhSV
    * CPU: AMD Athlon II X2 240e
    * Ram: Kingston HyperX 2GB (2 x 1GB)http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820134218
    * CPU Cooler: Zalman CPU-kjøler CNPS8700 NT

Lmwasher:
Checked out the Phenom I and II with the "e" version both at TDP 65w. But none at stock at my place. I will see when I have the system up and going(need to see the WinTV-NoVA-TD-500HD working in LMCE), maby upgrade to one of those. (of cauce it is more than twice the price at the moment...) I am also planning an web admin server for the media files. So maybe I will jiggle the HW around later.... if you catch my drift ;)

So this one is going to be low cost and low power consumtion, with enough power for 1-2 MD's I hope  ::)
HTPC HARDWARE: Gigabyte E7AUM-DS2H, Onboard video 9400, mATX, Socket LGA775. Intel Core2 Duo E8400. Samsung SpinPoint SATA2 HD 1000GB. Corsair 2x2GB DDR2. NEC DVD+/-RW ND4551A. Seasonic S12-330; +3.3v/20A. BIOS: v3.7

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1402
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: New hardware for dedicated core build
« Reply #6 on: May 17, 2010, 04:39:17 pm »
Have you got a second NIC sourced?
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

gunsmoke

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 73
    • View Profile
Re: New hardware for dedicated core build
« Reply #7 on: May 17, 2010, 06:47:11 pm »
Have you got a second NIC sourced?

Yes planning to use a Gbit CNet PCIe card, that I already have. If that what you are refering to when you mean "sourced".
HTPC HARDWARE: Gigabyte E7AUM-DS2H, Onboard video 9400, mATX, Socket LGA775. Intel Core2 Duo E8400. Samsung SpinPoint SATA2 HD 1000GB. Corsair 2x2GB DDR2. NEC DVD+/-RW ND4551A. Seasonic S12-330; +3.3v/20A. BIOS: v3.7

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4660
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: New hardware for dedicated core build
« Reply #8 on: May 17, 2010, 06:57:11 pm »
Quite a lot to read through there... I will say that the core does not need to be as powerful as you might think. I have an AM2 AMD x2 2Ghz with 2 gigs of RAM in my core (must be cracking on for 3 years old now) and it runs just fine. I have 6 MDs.

I wouldn't recommend getting the latest most cutting edge hardware as 1) it's a waste of money and 2) there may be a risk that the software cannot utilise all the latest bells and whistles to their full potential. Correct me if I'm wrong anybody?

I totally agree with you - use tried and tested hardware and if you need to have a hybrid Core then plug an nVidia 9500 or similar in. My home Core for example is close to 4 years old now and is based on a very low-tech Gigabyte 945 motherboard - its located at the bottom of our garden in a shed (all British gardens have these...its as British as 'tea' drinking ;-) ). My Core has run 24-7 since it was installed - the only times it has been off-line is when I have upgraded a TV card or some other hardware option.

The most important feature a Core needs is reliability to be frank. If we could still get plain old i945 boards we would use them today still... as they just work and have all of the performance you need. However in the 'real world' these are long gone as consumer grade hardware gets revved in roughly 6 month time-slots.

So for Dianemo from 1/1/2010 we only use server grade motherboards, ECC memory & processors, dual redundant power supplies and increasingly our installers are specifying our hardware raided OS option too. Server grade means it is highly resilient and importantly will be available for at least 5-7 years...

All the best


Andrew
Andy Herron,
CHT Ltd

For Dianemo/LinuxMCE consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+inquiries@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get Dianemo-Rpi2 ARM Licenses http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=14026.0

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1402
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: New hardware for dedicated core build
« Reply #9 on: May 17, 2010, 10:29:21 pm »
Have you got a second NIC sourced?

Yes planning to use a Gbit CNet PCIe card, that I already have. If that what you are refering to when you mean "sourced".

Why PCIe? Just find an old PCI one (perfect job for eBay) - again you're at risk of making the core unnecessarily uncomplicated here, in that you may have problems detecting it, installing it, etc. Check the wiki for NICs that are known to work..... unless you've already done that and the Gbit CNet PCIe card you mention is fine, in which case I apologise in advance :)

As Andrew said, tried and tested hardware is the way forward, don't go for bleeding edge. Think space shuttle :)
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

gunsmoke

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 73
    • View Profile
Re: New hardware for dedicated core build
« Reply #10 on: May 18, 2010, 12:19:26 am »
Why PCIe? Just find an old PCI one (perfect job for eBay) - again you're at risk of making the core unnecessarily uncomplicated here, in that you may have problems detecting it, installing it, etc. Check the wiki for NICs that are known to work..... unless you've already done that and the Gbit CNet PCIe card you mention is fine, in which case I apologise in advance :)

As Andrew said, tried and tested hardware is the way forward, don't go for bleeding edge. Think space shuttle :)
Think I tried the CNet with test build(did not have a good caputre card then). PCIe NIC to save a PCI slot for capture card. But I have ordered a Intel PCI card: INTEL DESKTOP ADAPTER INTEL PRO 1000 GT BULK. Just in case.

So I guess my AMD setup is a good space shuttle then? Thinking of placeing the order in the following days :)

    * Mobo: Asus M3N78-VM
    * CPU: AMD Athlon II X2 240e
    * Ram: Kingston HyperX 2GB (2 x 1GB)
    * CPU Cooler: Zalman CPU-kjøler CNPS8700 NT
HTPC HARDWARE: Gigabyte E7AUM-DS2H, Onboard video 9400, mATX, Socket LGA775. Intel Core2 Duo E8400. Samsung SpinPoint SATA2 HD 1000GB. Corsair 2x2GB DDR2. NEC DVD+/-RW ND4551A. Seasonic S12-330; +3.3v/20A. BIOS: v3.7