Author Topic: [SOLVED] current apt-get update & apt-get-upgrade breaks 810 b2  (Read 3053 times)

Beeker

• Guru
    • View Profile
Hi All,
Had a perfectly good working 810 b2 and thought well I haven't done an update for awhile so I did both apt-get update & apt-get upgrade on both the core/hybrid and the one md I have and after they all completed I now get the following msg when trying to log in to webadmin and the md boots up with a black screen and only a cursor.

Warning: mysql_connect() [function.mysql-connect]: Can't connect to local MySQL server through socket '/var/run/mysqld/mysqld.sock' (2) in /var/www/lmce-admin/include/adodb/drivers/adodb-mysql.inc.php on line 338
Fatal error: mysql error: [2002: Can't connect to local MySQL server through socket '/var/run/mysqld/mysqld.sock' (2)] in CONNECT(localhost, '****', '****', pluto_main) in /var/www/lmce-admin/include/adodb/adodb-errorhandler.inc.php on line 77

I have no knowledge of SQL so I can only assume that one of the updates broke the install, if it is easy to fix please let me know otherwise I can re image the whole system in about 9mins and be back up and running............then I just reload my most recent backup file.........I glad I have this working as it saves me a whole heap of time and heat from the wife.

Cheers
Beeker
« Last Edit: April 18, 2010, 06:53:37 am by Beeker »

F1forHELP

• Regular Poster
    • View Profile
Re: current apt-get update & apt-get-upgrade breaks 810 b2
« Reply #1 on: April 16, 2010, 08:42:40 am »
I had this issue on another machine.  As root running the following command fixed my issue

# touch /var/run/mysqld/mysqld.sock

Normal disclaimers apply.

Joseph

Beeker

• Guru
    • View Profile
Re: [SOLVED] current apt-get update & apt-get-upgrade breaks 810 b2
« Reply #2 on: April 18, 2010, 07:06:04 am »
Hi Joseph,