Author Topic: MythTV upcoming recording on screen options  (Read 1248 times)

Kezza

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 146
    • View Profile
MythTV upcoming recording on screen options
« on: April 06, 2010, 11:56:30 am »
I'm not sure what to search to find answer to this so hopefully someone can point me in the right direction:

When there is an upcoming recording while watching liveTV a popup displays a list of options with default changing channel to one being recorded. We find it very frustrating TV changing couple mins before program ends!

Can someone point me in the right direction to change default or disable this? I presume I have just missed it in options somewhere.

Cheers

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1393
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: MythTV upcoming recording on screen options
« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2010, 04:17:49 pm »
This really does my head in as well - the program is about to be recorded, so why would I want to change the channel from what I'm in the middle of watching?!?!?!

I'm assuming there's an option in myth for this (it's the myth OSD that pops up), so have a little poke around in the myth settings, I'm assuming it will be in the frontend. I will do the same, and we'll meet back here and report our findings!
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

merkur2k

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 513
    • View Profile
Re: MythTV upcoming recording on screen options
« Reply #2 on: April 06, 2010, 04:44:49 pm »
the big problem is (for those with multiple tuners anyway) that mythtv tries to use the first tuner for everything, even if theres another tuner free. i have heard that they finally fixed this in .23, so it might be worth a wait.

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1393
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: MythTV upcoming recording on screen options
« Reply #3 on: April 06, 2010, 05:11:34 pm »
I didn't know that - I have multiple tuners.

Is myth not already at 0.23 in LMCE?
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4459
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: MythTV upcoming recording on screen options
« Reply #4 on: April 06, 2010, 05:12:26 pm »
I'm not sure what to search to find answer to this so hopefully someone can point me in the right direction:

When there is an upcoming recording while watching liveTV a popup displays a list of options with default changing channel to one being recorded. We find it very frustrating TV changing couple mins before program ends!

Can someone point me in the right direction to change default or disable this? I presume I have just missed it in options somewhere.

Cheers


MythTV has a scheduled recording that needs the capture card (ie tuner) that your LiveTV viewing is currently using. When you scheduled the recording MyhthTV pre-allocated a tuner to the recording and it happened to be the tuner you were using for LiveTV viewing. In the Mythfrontend setup you can tick the option to configure Myth to "Avoid conflicts between live TV and scheduled shows" ...If enabled, live TV will choose a tuner card that is less likely to have scheduled recordings rather than the best card available.

We're working on a re-write of the way MythTV manages its capture cards (ie Tuners) for Dianemo/Cascade which will make sure, for both LiveTV & scheduled recordings, that a single physical tuner is only ever used per MUX and that Multirec tuners can be created on-demand as the system needs them for each physical tuner (currently the maximum No. of multirec tuners per physical tuner is hard coded to an upper limit of 5). Once this re-write is in place there will be no need for any human intervention in tuner management at all and each LiveTV session & Scheduled recording with use a separate multirec tuner and will therefore never clash with each other.

These changes will be made available to the MythTV devs (we have had some discussion with them on this change) and they may well integrate it into future Myth releases. In the Meantime we will make our changes available to the devs here so that thay can patch them into LinuxMCE directly. We currently use MythTV 0.21 as we have found 0.22 to unstable to  use in production systems so this will need some work to get the changes back into 0.22.

All the best


Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4459
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: MythTV upcoming recording on screen options
« Reply #5 on: April 06, 2010, 05:19:40 pm »
I didn't know that - I have multiple tuners.

Is myth not already at 0.23 in LinuxMCE?

Currently LinuxMCE-0810 integrates MythTV-0.22

MythTV-0.23 is in a late phase of development but is not released as of yet.

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

Kezza

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 146
    • View Profile
Re: MythTV upcoming recording on screen options
« Reply #6 on: April 06, 2010, 10:19:00 pm »
Shame its a bug but glad its in the pipelines to be fixed.

Thanks Andrew I will try the 'avoid conflicts' option and see how that goes.

Looks like Myth 0.23 is going to be finished very soon (only 6 tickets at the moment left) will MCE get upgraded quickly or is there a fair amount of work to be done to get it integrated?


totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4459
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: MythTV upcoming recording on screen options
« Reply #7 on: April 07, 2010, 12:27:47 am »
Shame its a bug but glad its in the pipelines to be fixed.

Thanks Andrew I will try the 'avoid conflicts' option and see how that goes.

Looks like Myth 0.23 is going to be finished very soon (only 6 tickets at the moment left) will MCE get upgraded quickly or is there a fair amount of work to be done to get it integrated?

MythTV-0.23 might be released quickly...but on the other hand 0.22 was in a similarly 'almost ready' state for ages before it was actually released. The other issue is that it makes a lot of sense to allow the 0.23 release dust to 'settle' a little before rushing to integrate it. As we have seen with 0.22... 'released' does not necessarily mean debugged and complete! With Dianemo/Cascade we value stability over everything else so I would not expect us to rush to integrate 0.23 for at least 60 days or so after release.

All the best


Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1393
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: MythTV upcoming recording on screen options
« Reply #8 on: April 07, 2010, 02:14:47 pm »
Thank you for the very useful info, Andrew.
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps