Author Topic: Room w/ Radio Only  (Read 1078 times)

Ritmo2k

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 108
    • View Profile
Room w/ Radio Only
« on: March 30, 2010, 07:33:50 pm »
I have several rooms in a new home that we only want to put radios, hence no tv/monitor. I intended on putting small md's in my rack and routing their line level outputs into a commercial Crown 4 ch amp.

If I intend on using a Nokia N8/900 to control just lights/radio in these rooms, am I overlooking any needed functionality not having a tv in the room?

Thanks!

jimbodude

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 372
    • View Profile
Re: Room w/ Radio Only
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2010, 09:09:56 pm »
No additional equipment or know-how needed.  You can easily disable the auto-generated video and TV scenarios on a per-room basis from the web admin under Wizard --> Scenarios --> Media Scenarios.  This way, you can't accidentally start a movie and not be able to see it.

You may want to look into the squeezeBox and similar devices.  I'm not sure exactly what functionality is available, as I don't have one.

Ritmo2k

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 108
    • View Profile
Re: Room w/ Radio Only
« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2010, 09:15:54 pm »
Thanks for the confirmation.

skeptic

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 615
    • View Profile
Re: Room w/ Radio Only
« Reply #3 on: March 30, 2010, 10:05:23 pm »
You may want to look into the squeezeBox and similar devices.  I'm not sure exactly what functionality is available, as I don't have one.
I have a Squeezebox Boom (ok, the wife does :) ), and it's great.  In fact, I like it enough I'll eventually get other squeezebox products for other music-only areas.  The Squeezebox Touch looks like a perfect option to mount on a wall and run to powered speakers.

tkmedia

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 937
    • View Profile
    • LMCECompatible
Re: Room w/ Radio Only
« Reply #4 on: March 30, 2010, 11:17:49 pm »
I also have a squeeze boombox its in a room I do my "Thinking"  ;) so it gets alot of use.
Great acoustics.
Just need to be careful not to flush the remote.  ;D



Tim
My Setup http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Tkmedia

For LinuxMce compatible  systems and accessories
http://lmcecompatible.com/

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4540
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Room w/ Radio Only
« Reply #5 on: March 31, 2010, 09:40:33 am »
Yes the squeezebox range work really well with the system. We use the following models regularly in installations;

- Boom
- Radio
- Receiver

The two limitations that mostly come to mind currently are that if you have say a Boom or Radio out in a Zone/Room and someone uses the front controls in any way those commands/events are not currently send back to the Core... and secondly although if you have several Squeezeboxes added to a system (we have installations with 14 Squeezeboxes) they will all play audio streams in perfect synch with each other...this is not true if you also send the stream to a few MD's...the MD's will not be in synch with the Squeezeboxes. This latter limitation is one we're looking at ways to fix - one possible approach would be to use Softsqueeze as the audio device in MD's (this would then allow the synch'd streaming).

Anyway...please dont let any of the previous paragraph put you off using Squeezeboxes right now as they work wonderfully well as part of the system already.

All the best


Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

For Smart Home consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

coley

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 481
    • View Profile
Re: Room w/ Radio Only
« Reply #6 on: March 31, 2010, 04:26:50 pm »
As an aside here Andrew can I ask what kind of amp do you use with the squeezebox receivers? or do you use active speakers?

thanks
-Coley.

jimbodude

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 372
    • View Profile
Re: Room w/ Radio Only
« Reply #7 on: March 31, 2010, 06:43:59 pm »
For those of you who know things about Squeezebox support - is this wiki article up to date?
http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/SlimDevices_/_Logitech_Squeezebox

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4540
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Room w/ Radio Only
« Reply #8 on: March 31, 2010, 09:19:28 pm »
As an aside here Andrew can I ask what kind of amp do you use with the squeezebox receivers? or do you use active speakers?

thanks
-Coley.

We use Zone2 on say a Denon 2310 with receivers sometimes...or we might use a Denon or Arcam zone amplifier. We also sometimes use active speakers if the objective is merely to deliver 'ambient' or background audio to a zone. Really the amplifier is down to your personal preference and expected quality level.

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

For Smart Home consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4540
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Room w/ Radio Only
« Reply #9 on: March 31, 2010, 09:36:24 pm »
For those of you who know things about Squeezebox support - is this wiki article up to date?
http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/SlimDevices_/_Logitech_Squeezebox

The article looks ok if you want to used a wired LAN connection.

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

For Smart Home consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk