Author Topic: DVI problems on core installation  (Read 834 times)

JohnEdwards

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
DVI problems on core installation
« on: March 17, 2010, 12:01:52 am »
I'm not certain why, but I've had a hell of a time with installation on my core, and I blame it on me using the DVI connection for a monitor.

I know this sounds silly, but the AV wizard doesn't seem to like the DVI connection.  I switched to a vga cable connection, and it worked right out of the box.

Can anyone explain why this is?

If I missed something in the wiki relating to this, I apologize in advance!

bongowongo

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 826
    • View Profile
Re: DVI problems on core installation
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2010, 01:19:51 am »
Which videocard do you have?
You know that LinuxMCE is very picky with the choice of videocards.
Nvidia models work best, where newer is better.

ckerkhoff

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 34
    • View Profile
Re: DVI problems on core installation
« Reply #2 on: March 17, 2010, 01:24:04 am »
Have you seen this: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/AVWizard?  In the section "What to do if A/V Wizard does not start" it basically says to press buttons 1-5 waiting to see if the screen shows up.  I don't think the buttons are labeled correctly on that page though.

JohnEdwards

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: DVI problems on core installation
« Reply #3 on: March 18, 2010, 12:04:04 am »
Which videocard do you have?
You know that LinuxMCE is very picky with the choice of videocards.
Nvidia models work best, where newer is better.

It's an onboard nVidia 8200 I believe.  I bought an ASUS m3N78-vm and it has been nightmarish!  Not sure how much of this is just my lack of experience

JohnEdwards

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: DVI problems on core installation
« Reply #4 on: March 18, 2010, 12:05:09 am »
Have you seen this: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/AVWizard?  In the section "What to do if A/V Wizard does not start" it basically says to press buttons 1-5 waiting to see if the screen shows up.  I don't think the buttons are labeled correctly on that page though.

Thank for the advice. I'd rather use DVI, I'll give it a try

tkmedia

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 937
    • View Profile
    • LMCECompatible
Re: DVI problems on core installation
« Reply #5 on: March 18, 2010, 07:08:38 am »
That board works fine.

Try the hdmi port.




HTH


Tim
My Setup http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Tkmedia

For LinuxMce compatible  systems and accessories
http://lmcecompatible.com/

JohnEdwards

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: DVI problems on core installation
« Reply #6 on: March 18, 2010, 09:03:00 pm »
That board works fine.

Try the hdmi port.


I actually got it working on the DVI.  Pulled it off by using a dual feed monitor! (Both DVI and vga).  This let me edit the AVwizard, and set for the DVI.

btw, I tried the numbers thing, and it didn't have any impact whatsoever.

tkmedia

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 937
    • View Profile
    • LMCECompatible
Re: DVI problems on core installation
« Reply #7 on: March 18, 2010, 09:28:16 pm »
For what ever reason pressing 5 (svideo) seems to let me into the menus regardless of connection or connected device.



Tim
My Setup http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Tkmedia

For LinuxMce compatible  systems and accessories
http://lmcecompatible.com/

JohnEdwards

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: DVI problems on core installation
« Reply #8 on: March 18, 2010, 10:30:06 pm »
For what ever reason pressing 5 (svideo) seems to let me into the menus regardless of connection or connected device.



Tim

Thanks for the advice Tim.  I appreciate it.