Author Topic: Best TVTuner Card for Sky  (Read 5898 times)

dcubox1

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
    • View Profile
Best TVTuner Card for Sky
« on: March 18, 2010, 12:15:30 pm »
I am looking at hooking up my sky box to my hybrid. I currently am running beta 810 and looking at what TvTuner card to
purchase  ??? ....Anybody got any experience with hooking up a SKY box?

Thanks for replies in advance...

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4660
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Best TVTuner Card for Sky
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2010, 01:08:30 pm »
I am looking at hooking up my sky box to my hybrid. I currently am running beta 810 and looking at what TvTuner card to
purchase  ??? ....Anybody got any experience with hooking up a SKY box?

Thanks for replies in advance...

Any supported DVB-S or DVB-S2 card will receive the Sky free to air channels without the need for a Sky viewing card. Alternatively you can add a capture card and hook that up to a Sky digibox's composite out.

All the best

Andrew
Andy Herron,
CHT Ltd

For Dianemo/LinuxMCE consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+inquiries@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get Dianemo-Rpi2 ARM Licenses http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=14026.0

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk


b4rney

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 454
    • View Profile
Re: Best TVTuner Card for Sky
« Reply #3 on: March 18, 2010, 03:07:48 pm »
The PVR150 is well supported and has hardware encoding. Avoid software encoding as it will use lots of the cpu on your hybrid.

I have just attached my sky plus box to a PVR-150 via s-video. The quality is very good.

Barney

dcubox1

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
    • View Profile
Re: Best TVTuner Card for Sky
« Reply #4 on: March 18, 2010, 04:00:20 pm »
Where is the best place/site to pick up one of these?

Also as a matter of interest what kind of cable did you use to get s-video?
I only have a standard sky box and currently use an rf output to and external tv card.

cheers again

b4rney

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 454
    • View Profile
Re: Best TVTuner Card for Sky
« Reply #5 on: March 18, 2010, 04:16:51 pm »
My sky plus box has s-video out and the pvr150 has s-video in. Check what outputs you have.

The pvr150 is an old card and no longer in production but you can still find them on ebay etc. I got mine on ebay.co.uk for £21 last month.
Hope this helps
Barney

dcubox1

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
    • View Profile
Re: Best TVTuner Card for Sky
« Reply #6 on: March 18, 2010, 04:24:27 pm »
Well that makes it handy  :-\ I must try get upgraded to a sky plus box...

Having a look for one of the pvr-150's now...if i cant get one is there a newer version in production
that is as well supported?

Techstyle

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 674
    • View Profile
    • Techstyle UK Ltd.
Re: Best TVTuner Card for Sky
« Reply #7 on: March 18, 2010, 06:37:44 pm »
You may be able to get S-Video from the Scart socket via an adapter without replacing your Sky box

MANDINGO

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 204
    • View Profile
Re: Best TVTuner Card for Sky
« Reply #8 on: March 18, 2010, 06:41:40 pm »
Do not waste your money on a pvr150, get your self a digital card any S2 or even the HDPVR

Thanks

Mandingo
For a Current List of Plug and Play Capture Cards/Devices
http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Capture_Cards

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4660
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Best TVTuner Card for Sky
« Reply #9 on: March 18, 2010, 07:15:21 pm »
Do not waste your money on a pvr150, get your self a digital card any S2 or even the HDPVR

Thanks

Mandingo

...well that assumes that you only want to receive the 'free to air' Sky channels as thats all a DVB-S or S2 card will receive. A capture card like a pvr150 hooked up to the video out on a Sky box will stream/record all the channels the box receives.

All the best


Andrew
Andy Herron,
CHT Ltd

For Dianemo/LinuxMCE consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+inquiries@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get Dianemo-Rpi2 ARM Licenses http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=14026.0

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

dcubox1

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
    • View Profile
Re: Best TVTuner Card for Sky
« Reply #10 on: April 07, 2010, 10:40:15 am »
Ok so finally got my hands on a pvr150  :D the card should arrive in the next day or so.

Just wondering is this a plug and play type of scenario or will I have to set it up on my hybrid?
Also I only have a cat5 cable coming from my sky box not s-video, is this ok?

thanks for the help

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4660
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Best TVTuner Card for Sky
« Reply #11 on: April 07, 2010, 12:44:47 pm »
Ok so finally got my hands on a pvr150  :D the card should arrive in the next day or so.

Just wondering is this a plug and play type of scenario or will I have to set it up on my hybrid?
Also I only have a cat5 cable coming from my sky box not s-video, is this ok?

thanks for the help

I would suggest using Composite between the Sky box and the PVR150 for SD video capture. I believe 0810 will autodetect your PVR150 and set it up for you.

Andrew
Andy Herron,
CHT Ltd

For Dianemo/LinuxMCE consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+inquiries@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get Dianemo-Rpi2 ARM Licenses http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=14026.0

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

dcubox1

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
    • View Profile
Re: Best TVTuner Card for Sky
« Reply #12 on: April 07, 2010, 12:53:18 pm »
I would suggest using Composite between the Sky box and the PVR150 for SD video capture. I believe 0810 will autodetect your PVR150 and set it up for you.

Andrew

Will the Cat5 input not work? there is a signal coming through on this cable as I have checked it on a portable tv.
My issue here is my sky box is on a different floor to my hybrid so I already ran Cat5 cables for it but running composite would be
pretty difficult now!!

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4660
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Best TVTuner Card for Sky
« Reply #13 on: April 07, 2010, 12:57:40 pm »
I would suggest using Composite between the Sky box and the PVR150 for SD video capture. I believe 0810 will autodetect your PVR150 and set it up for you.

Andrew

Will the Cat5 input not work? there is a signal coming through on this cable as I have checked it on a portable tv.
My issue here is my sky box is on a different floor to my hybrid so I already ran Cat5 cables for it but running composite would be
pretty difficult now!!

Hmmm... so you want to use CAT5 to move a composite signal from your Sky box to your Core? There are CAT5-Composite extenders out there so in theory this would work over a dedicated CAT5 cable run. But I cant say we have ever tested that config.

Andrew
Andy Herron,
CHT Ltd

For Dianemo/LinuxMCE consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+inquiries@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get Dianemo-Rpi2 ARM Licenses http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=14026.0

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

dcubox1

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
    • View Profile
Re: Best TVTuner Card for Sky
« Reply #14 on: April 07, 2010, 01:21:52 pm »

Hmmm... so you want to use CAT5 to move a composite signal from your Sky box to your Core? There are CAT5-Composite extenders out there so in theory this would work over a dedicated CAT5 cable run. But I cant say we have ever tested that config.

Andrew

Sorry I think I didnt make my setup clear and I was confusing myself in the process. Currently I run a coax cable (I had cat5 in my head sorry) from one of the RF outputs on my sky box.... this is what I want to connect to the pvr150....Is this setup ok?

Apologise for the confusion.