Author Topic: MD orbiter issues (nVidia ION board)  (Read 1204 times)

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1375
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
MD orbiter issues (nVidia ION board)
« on: March 17, 2010, 05:57:02 pm »
Hi all, whilst I'm generally very pleased with my new ION board MD setup, there are a few things that are bothering me....

1. When scrolling through videos (there are a fair few, but not a CRAZY amount) the "cube" takes a long time to respond, and is very jerky when it does. I am using UI2 (the medium one), and have set the "geforce" and "VPDAU" options in web admin for this MD.

2. The letter shortcut things down the right side do not work when trying to jump to media.

3. Sometimes the orbiter controls (skipping, chapters, volume, lights) leave a black imprint on the screen and locks up the orbiter - the media carries on playing, but cannot be stopped or anything. The only way round it is to quick reload the router from the core/another MD.

4. Some TV shows (doesn't seem to be any pattern as to which) are not being filtered by the "TV Show" option in the orbiter, which means they are thrown in with the main populace which in turn makes them a bugger to find, especially with the aforementioned issue 1 and 2.

Any help with these issues would be very much appreciated. Cheers.
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1375
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: MD orbiter issues (nVidia ION board)
« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2010, 01:56:09 pm »
Bump... I have upgraded my core and MDs with the latest updates, and still have these problems. Any suggestions?
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

l3mce

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1081
    • View Profile
Re: MD orbiter issues (nVidia ION board)
« Reply #2 on: March 24, 2010, 04:12:47 pm »
Please list details of your setup...

ie, Which ION board/system, core details, network details...

Is data stored on a NAS?

What is the result of hdparm -Tt <drive media is on, eg sda1>
« Last Edit: March 24, 2010, 04:20:08 pm by l3mce »
I never quit... I just ping out.

maverick0815

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 540
    • View Profile
Re: MD orbiter issues (nVidia ION board)
« Reply #3 on: March 25, 2010, 03:16:38 pm »
I have an asrock ion330 and I have almost the same issues as purps. I have most of my files stored on the server and some locally on the disc of my md. As far as I experienced, it doesn't really matter where the media is stored. The cube just revolves erratically. On the core I don't have these problems...very smooth actually

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1375
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: MD orbiter issues (nVidia ION board)
« Reply #4 on: March 25, 2010, 03:54:47 pm »
This is the board http://www.ebuyer.com/product/173797

The network and general setup is textbook. I have a decent core (never gave me any problems with 0710) with a 1TB internal hard disk that does all my storage, no NAS or anything like that. Gigabit network via netgear switch. Everything is running with its default settings, except the board mentioned aboved which as I said in my first post I set the "geforce" and "VPDAU" options in web admin for this MD.

"What is the result of hdparm -Tt <drive media is on, eg sda1>" - what does this do please? What are we looking for here?

As I say, none of these issues with 0710, but I don't think that's relevant as I didn't have this mobo as my MD then. I will say that I think it is to do with the number of videos present - if I filter them, by TV shows for example (not that this is working properly either), it scrolls much more smoothly.
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

l3mce

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1081
    • View Profile
Re: MD orbiter issues (nVidia ION board)
« Reply #5 on: March 26, 2010, 04:05:59 am »
This is the board http://www.ebuyer.com/product/173797

The network and general setup is textbook. I have a decent core (never gave me any problems with 0710) with a 1TB internal hard disk that does all my storage, no NAS or anything like that. Gigabit network via netgear switch. Everything is running with its default settings, except the board mentioned aboved which as I said in my first post I set the "geforce" and "VPDAU" options in web admin for this MD.

"What is the result of hdparm -Tt <drive media is on, eg sda1>" - what does this do please? What are we looking for here?

As I say, none of these issues with 0710, but I don't think that's relevant as I didn't have this mobo as my MD then. I will say that I think it is to do with the number of videos present - if I filter them, by TV shows for example (not that this is working properly either), it scrolls much more smoothly.

Textbook meaning internet is going directly into the core on eth0 and eth1 goes to a switch which your MD is physically connected to without any other dhcp on eth1 side?

hdparm tests the media cache and buffered read speed. Sort of a benchmark. I had a drive which had DMA issues which effected overall IO that behaved similarly. Took me a while to figure out because in all other aspects the drive seemed just dandy. I am running the little acer revos as MDs on UI2 without issue.

So in my case it would be
Code: [Select]
sudo hdparm -Tt /dev/sda
Network/drive screweyness would be where I looked first. I am not an expert here, just trying to help.
I never quit... I just ping out.

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1375
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: MD orbiter issues (nVidia ION board)
« Reply #6 on: March 29, 2010, 11:19:44 pm »


Textbook meaning internet is going directly into the core on eth0 and eth1 goes to a switch which your MD is physically connected to without any other dhcp on eth1 side?

[/quote]

Yes, that's right.
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1375
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: MD orbiter issues (nVidia ION board)
« Reply #7 on: March 29, 2010, 11:26:11 pm »
I have an asrock ion330 and I have almost the same issues as purps. I have most of my files stored on the server and some locally on the disc of my md. As far as I experienced, it doesn't really matter where the media is stored. The cube just revolves erratically. On the core I don't have these problems...very smooth actually

Maverick, do you only see this on your videos? If I look at audio, I don't get these jerky cube problems, and I have WAY more entries for audio than video.

To be honest, jerky cubes are the least of my problems - I'm more concerned (read "annoyed") about the random orbiter crashes and erratic TV show tagging as per my first post.
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1375
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: MD orbiter issues (nVidia ION board)
« Reply #8 on: March 31, 2010, 11:52:19 pm »
Just to add to the TV show tagging issue, I thought I would mention that recently my new mythtv recordings have stopped showing up in the orbiters altogether. The shows are still being recorded however, as they can be accessed and played through the mythtv menu itself. I have also mentioned this in this thread, in case it is relevant http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=9899.0
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps