Author Topic: Failed to setup X  (Read 1423 times)

dolony

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 35
    • View Profile
Failed to setup X
« on: February 26, 2010, 04:38:59 am »
I just installed 0810 Beta 2 DVD. Once I installed installed linuxmce, I received the Failed to setup X in AV Wizard. Can someone give me step by step process to get it running?

sambuca

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 448
    • View Profile
Re: Failed to setup X
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2010, 08:42:52 am »
What graphics card do you have.

And, did you search the forum? I'm sure I've seen some other posts like this...

br,
sambuca

dolony

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 35
    • View Profile
Re: Failed to setup X
« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2010, 02:55:07 pm »
The graphics card is integrated Nvidia Geforce 8100

dolony

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 35
    • View Profile
Re: Failed to setup X
« Reply #3 on: March 02, 2010, 01:13:30 am »
I have a Nvidia Geforce 8100 on the motherboard.

corza79

  • Making baby steps
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Failed to setup X
« Reply #4 on: March 02, 2010, 05:57:49 am »
I have hit the same issue wih AVwizard failing to setup x. I have search through other forum topics and have come up short. I have a zotac gforce gst250 card and a zotac mb with a geforce 9300 GPU. Any help would be much appreciated.

daballiemo

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 244
  • Full Blown Addict
    • View Profile
Re: Failed to setup X
« Reply #5 on: March 03, 2010, 11:20:32 pm »
what does /var/log/xorg.0.log say?
HP N40L12.04 KVM with virt LCME8.10/10.04
MD: FoxConn NetBox 330I - Samsung LE 26 (1360* 768)
MD: M2NPV-VM dual core AMD 64/3800/2Gb/NV6150 - Samsung UE 55 C8700 (full hd, 3d)
MD: FoxConn NetBox 330I - LG 32ld350

corza79

  • Making baby steps
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Failed to setup X
« Reply #6 on: March 05, 2010, 12:04:18 pm »
I believe I have worked out the issue. In the bios settings I have had to disable the onboard gpu. I am now reinstalling a fresh copy of LinuxMCE so I will see how i go and let you know.

Cheers.

l3mce

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1081
    • View Profile
Re: Failed to setup X
« Reply #7 on: March 07, 2010, 11:57:46 pm »
I haven't had as many issues with the 8.10 installs and the nvidia 8000 series, but on 7.10 this was always how I had to deal with it.

1. DL the nvidia 195.30 beta driver on another machine from here, http://us.download.nvidia.com/XFree86/Linux-x86/195.30/NVIDIA-Linux-x86-195.30-pkg1.run (you can wget from host... but I like this method because I reinstall a lot, and like having it handy).
2. Rename it because you are lazy. I like NV1953.run
3. Put it on a thumb drive.
4. Start in recovery mode (root terminal)
5. Create a directory and change the permissions to all read write execute. I like...
Code: [Select]
mkdir /mnt/thumb1 and then
Code: [Select]
chmod 777 /mnt/thumb1
6. Plug the thumb in. You will see some linux gook and in there will be a /dev/****  in my case, "/dev/sdg"
7. Mount it.
Code: [Select]
mount -t vfat /dev/sdg /mnt/thumb1
8. Copy the file to the home directory in case you need it again, then unmount and remove the thumb drive.
Code: [Select]
cp /mnt/thumb1/NV1953.run /home/linuxmce
umount /dev/sdg
and unplug the thumb.

9. Shell it
Code: [Select]
sh /home/linuxmce/NV1953.run10. Answer questions correctly... (probably "no" "accept" "yes im sure") then after the install, it will ask you if you want nvidia-xconfig to run. Say no.
11.
Code: [Select]
/usr/pluto/bin/RebootWithAVWizard.shThat will probably work... however...
12. If you get another failed to setup x, ctrl alt f1 or f2 and type
Code: [Select]
sudo nvidia-xconfig
sudo /usr/pluto/bin/RebootWithAVWizard.sh

13. Let the wizard try and start, which always fails again...
14. Reboot into root terminal and repeat steps 9-11 exactly.

I don't know why... I only know it works for me on ALL nvidia 8 series.

*** as a side note, if a thumb is FORMATTED from vista, I have never been able to mount it in kubuntu/ubuntu. You can copy to and fro and it will work... but Vista does something weird in formatting. I have no idea what.

GL
« Last Edit: March 08, 2010, 04:43:31 am by l3mce »
I never quit... I just ping out.