Author Topic: [SOLVED] no picture in vdr after first install  (Read 2362 times)

KingCrab

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
[SOLVED] no picture in vdr after first install
« on: February 25, 2010, 09:33:00 pm »
Hi everybody,

after a few month without a working linuxmce system I now have the time to setup a new core. So far I got no problem, but when it comes to using the vdr I got stuck.
My system is a core hybrid with a knc tv-station dvb-c card installed. The vdr is running and I can connect to it via vdradmin. (webmin->configuration->vdr setup gives me a error message saying: "VDR package not installed. Please install the package and try again."). My channels.conf is build using w_scan and I can see the channels from within vdradmin. My problem is, that I can't tune any channel on my cores md tv section. Does anyone have an idea, what's going wrong on my machine?

Thanks in advance
Markus
« Last Edit: March 06, 2010, 05:59:07 pm by KingCrab »

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2924
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: no picture in vdr after first install
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2010, 09:59:03 pm »
Check if you have SourceCaps entries in the setup.conf, and remove them if you do.

KingCrab

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
Re: no picture in vdr after first install
« Reply #2 on: February 26, 2010, 07:42:01 pm »
No SourceCaps in setup.conf  :(

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2924
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: no picture in vdr after first install
« Reply #3 on: February 26, 2010, 09:13:54 pm »
Do you get a No Signal picture?

KingCrab

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
Re: no picture in vdr after first install
« Reply #4 on: February 27, 2010, 07:28:34 am »
Yes

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2924
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: no picture in vdr after first install
« Reply #5 on: February 27, 2010, 10:21:56 am »
A No Signal picture means:
* VDR is running
* The connection between the VDR backend and the VDR frontend (vdr-sxfe) is working

Both are good signs.

It also means, it can't dial in to a channel. In my experience this can have two reasons:
* The DVB driver is not working correct
* The channels.conf is not correct

The thing about SourceCaps we ignore for the moment.

You say, you can see the channels in VDRAdmin. Do you see the channel names, or do you see the EPG as well?

What command line did you use to build the channels.conf, and did you try one of the existing channels.conf in the vdr-wiki for your cable provider?

KingCrab

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
Re: no picture in vdr after first install
« Reply #6 on: February 27, 2010, 10:36:11 am »
I can see just the channel names, no epg data.

The channels.conf was generated by calling "w_scan -fc -c DE >> channels.conf". I think a regular channels.conf template would not work, as we have a dvb-s to dvb-c transponder at our house?

KingCrab

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
Re: no picture in vdr after first install
« Reply #7 on: March 02, 2010, 10:39:03 pm »
I have checked the channels.conf with easyvdr and the file is working. Unfortunately there is still no picture under linucmce. What makes me wonder is the fact, that the "no signal" image is gone and now the screen is complete black. Could it be a problem with the output in general? I couldn't see the avwizard description video, too.

nite_man

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1019
  • Want to work with LinuxMCE
    • View Profile
    • Smart Home Blog
Re: no picture in vdr after first install
« Reply #8 on: March 03, 2010, 03:05:23 pm »
First of all, try to play some video and see if it'll work. With VDR, please, check syslog and message in the /var/log to see actual error.
Michael Stepanov,
My setup: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Nite_man#New_setup
Russian LinuxMCE community: http://linuxmce.ru

KingCrab

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
Re: no picture in vdr after first install
« Reply #9 on: March 03, 2010, 07:42:51 pm »
I can't play dvds, but I think this is another problem. I can't even get a black screen.


I pasted the syslog here: http://pastebin.com/39EuRsAT

There is an error "ERROR: frontend 0/0: Operation not supported"

nite_man

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1019
  • Want to work with LinuxMCE
    • View Profile
    • Smart Home Blog
Re: no picture in vdr after first install
« Reply #10 on: March 05, 2010, 08:59:17 am »
It can be related IMHO. Be sure that you can play video files. After that you can trace your VDR.
Michael Stepanov,
My setup: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Nite_man#New_setup
Russian LinuxMCE community: http://linuxmce.ru

KingCrab

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
Re: [solved] no picture in vdr after first install
« Reply #11 on: March 06, 2010, 05:58:28 pm »
Old tv card driver cause my trouble. I apt-get the actual firmware and module packages and everything works...