Author Topic: Newbie questions to get started  (Read 3877 times)

gutzeit

• First post!
    • View Profile
Newbie questions to get started
« on: February 22, 2010, 06:19:22 pm »
Hi,

First of all I must admit that I am complete newbie in all the home automation but I am very excited to build a system on LinuxMCE and help develop it since I have lots of years of programming experience.

Some basic questions to help be understand:

1. I understand that there are three protocols Insteon, X10, and Z-Wave. What are the pros and cons of each protocols. Which ones are supported by LinuxMCE ?

2. What hardware do I need to run a server based on LinuxMCE (inlcuding camera streaming support).

3. Are touch screens are supported by LinuxMCE ?

4. From your experience what is are the expences I am going to face to equip a flat or a house ? Lighting, TV/Stereo control and maybe shades and garden appliances ?

Thanks in advance.

Regards,
Dima Gutzeit.

skeptic

• Addicted
    • View Profile
Re: Newbie questions to get started
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2010, 10:54:20 pm »
Before you get completely slammed, allow me to politely suggest you search the forums.  All your questions can be answered, at least in general, by searching.

johanr

• Veteran
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 22, 2010, 11:29:56 pm »
as Skeptic pointed out, it all is covered here in the forum and has been asked before.

4. From your experience what is are the expences I am going to face to equip a flat or a house ? Lighting, TV/Stereo control and maybe shades and garden appliances ?

From my point of view:
Time=expense, to me time is the part I lack the most..

Hardware running the Core. Try to find what the users here report is working. Then when finding something. Do research in the forums for that spec. hw..