Author Topic: Simple question regarding X10 and GC100  (Read 1431 times)

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
Simple question regarding X10 and GC100
« on: October 11, 2006, 04:20:01 pm »
Hello, I have a simple question regarding X10-CM11A and GC100.
I have successfully installed the GC100 and CM11A. I see the new serial ports of the GC1000, they are:

/dev/ttyS_<devnumber>_0 and /dev/ttyS_<devnumber>_1

Is it OK to assume that port 0 is the "serial 1" in the back of the GC100; and port 1 is the "serial 2" in the back of the GC100?

Now, about X10, which light template should I use for a x10 lamp module? the normal on/off or dimmable template?

After selecting the light template, in the "port/channel" should I set it in "A1" format?

I guess that would be it. That is what I've done but can't make it work yet.

Thanks in advance for your help.
Martin

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
Simple question regarding X10 and GC100
« Reply #1 on: October 12, 2006, 07:51:13 pm »
Has anyone installed x100 devices with GC100?
Please let me know.
Thanks

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
Simple question regarding X10 and GC100
« Reply #2 on: October 16, 2006, 05:30:55 pm »
Someone please help...  :(

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
Simple question regarding X10 and GC100
« Reply #3 on: October 20, 2006, 11:03:11 pm »
It's a little frustrating when you don't have an answer for 9 days now...
I can't blame anyone because I asume Pluto staff is working really hard to make this a better product; however, if someone has already installed X10 CM11A with GC100 and know the answer of my question, I would really apreciate if you share your experience! :lol:

Thanks in advance.

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Simple question regarding X10 and GC100
« Reply #4 on: November 03, 2006, 02:32:34 pm »
Duplicate - can't find a delete button

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Simple question regarding X10 and GC100
« Reply #5 on: November 03, 2006, 02:34:19 pm »
Hello Martin (great name by the way)

I haven't done this yet as I'm slowly putting my system together, but as these are mostly general questions, I'll try and help  :-)


Quote from: "marteken"
Hello, I have a simple question regarding X10-CM11A and GC100.
I have successfully installed the GC100 and CM11A. I see the new serial ports of the GC1000, they are:

/dev/ttyS_<devnumber>_0 and /dev/ttyS_<devnumber>_1

Is it OK to assume that port 0 is the "serial 1" in the back of the GC100; and port 1 is the "serial 2" in the back of the GC100?

***Probably, why don't you test and find out ?

***One will work (when you test dev/ttyS_<devnumber>_0) and one won't work,

Now, about X10, which light template should I use for a x10 lamp module? the normal on/off or dimmable template?

***lamp modules are dimmable, so yes, use the dimmable template.

After selecting the light template, in the "port/channel" should I set it in "A1" format?

***Depends on your housecodeWhat are the codes set for on the module (A-P and 1-16)

I guess that would be it. That is what I've done but can't make it work yet.

Thanks in advance for your help.
Martin


***Regards...another Martin

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
Simple question regarding X10 and GC100
« Reply #6 on: November 03, 2006, 04:19:01 pm »
cm11a works with gc100 serial ports
add both devices under interfaces
you need cm11a to make it child of gc100 specify the port that you use (1st port is 0, 2nd is 1)
add a dimmable light switch and specify the channel (like A1) and make it child of cm11a