Author Topic: ACT Homepro Z-wave ZRM230 Only partially working  (Read 1078 times)

tortho

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
ACT Homepro Z-wave ZRM230 Only partially working
« on: February 01, 2010, 12:42:06 am »
Hi,

Purchased a ACT ZRM230 light switch and was planning to use the "second" switch to turn off all my zwave devices.. but can not figure out how to get it working.

The "normal" switch works fine and is detected. Can the second one be "detected" in any way and be used in LMCE to control any of the other z-wave devices?
Using this together with Aeon Z-stick. (Assume I could have programmed it with another controller)

The device is here:
http://www.smarthus.info/redirect.php?action=url&goto=www.act-solutions.com%2FHomePro%2Fpdfs%2FHomePro%2FSpecs%2FZRM230_spec.pdf
http://www.smarthus.info/product_info.php?cPath=1_46_128&products_id=1884

Thanks!

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2421
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: ACT Homepro Z-wave ZRM230 Only partially working
« Reply #1 on: February 02, 2010, 02:49:49 pm »
no, as you don't "see" the rocker id in the z-wave protocol.. You can use it to control other devices.

br Hari
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

tortho

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
Re: ACT Homepro Z-wave ZRM230 Only partially working
« Reply #2 on: February 02, 2010, 11:05:29 pm »
Hi Hari,

Thanks for the reply.
(A little confusing that you write "No", and then "You can use it to control other devices... assume this means without going through LMCE)

Then I need a different controller as I can not "associate" it with other devices with the Z-stick (As far as I know)
And then assume the association part on this page is not valid to this light switch: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Z-Wave_Getting_Started#Setting_associations

Then to ask differently. Is there any plans to implement this in LinuxMCE?
Is this then also the "issue" with the smoke detectors?

To gain some more knowledge as youre the expert here, is this something that is launched in the new z-wave/zensys protocoll?
« Last Edit: February 02, 2010, 11:11:56 pm by tortho »

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2421
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: ACT Homepro Z-wave ZRM230 Only partially working
« Reply #3 on: February 03, 2010, 01:05:16 am »
Hi Hari,

Thanks for the reply.
(A little confusing that you write "No", and then "You can use it to control other devices... assume this means without going through LinuxMCE)
yes, without going through LinuxMCE. We cannot distinguish the both paddles, that is a limitation from the protocol. You can do this with an EnOcean switch.

Quote
Then I need a different controller as I can not "associate" it with other devices with the Z-stick (As far as I know)
And then assume the association part on this page is not valid to this light switch: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Z-Wave_Getting_Started#Setting_associations
doing the association via LMCE should work.

Quote
Then to ask differently. Is there any plans to implement this in LinuxMCE?
what?

Quote
Is this then also the "issue" with the smoke detectors?
I don't have one yet, so I cannot tell. They use some special features to wakeup battery powered sleeping devices. In the past they were not listening to save battery power. The new Zensornet (iirc) features will make sure that all smoke detectors will alarm when one sets off.

Quote
To gain some more knowledge as youre the expert here, is this something that is launched in the new z-wave/zensys protocoll?
what do you mean by new? The latest version I've looked at was 5.x

br Hari
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

Thingie

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 114
    • View Profile
Re: ACT Homepro Z-wave ZRM230 Only partially working
« Reply #4 on: February 03, 2010, 04:15:14 pm »
I have a  Z-wave ZRM230 and it is normal the second switch doesn't show up in LinuxMCE. Why should it? You can't switch any physical devices with it. You can associate one or more devices to react to the switch. For example: The first switch is physical connected to the lights in your sleeping room. You can use the second switch to turn of all the lights in the house when you go to sleep. You need to program the second switch with the remote control. Instructions are found here: http://www.act-solutions.com/HomePro/pdfs/HomePro/Inst/ZRM230_instr.pdf

Thingie

tortho

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
Re: ACT Homepro Z-wave ZRM230 Only partially working
« Reply #5 on: February 03, 2010, 09:33:42 pm »
Hi,

Thanks I know it can be associated to groups, but then you need a controller to do so (Which I believe is not possible with an Aeon Z-stick which is the only other item I have in addition to switches and smoke detectors).

To have the switch show up in LMCE would as far as I can see be a huge benefit. Believe then it can be used to trigger other devices just as you do with motion detectors etc. today.

Example Event:
IF button 2 on this switch off THEN Turn off all light and stop all media.
IF button 2 on this switch on THEN turn on light from your entrance to the normally used rooms in your house...

or a lot of other scenarios If you associate you can only control the z-wave devices, not all the other functions within LMCE.