Author Topic: Foxconn NetBox-nT330i as MediaDirector  (Read 13447 times)

Beeker

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 267
    • View Profile
Re: Foxconn NetBox-nT330i as MediaDirector
« Reply #15 on: November 03, 2010, 08:57:45 am »
Hi Crisis90
Just about there everything works up to make install and then below is what I get with an error or what I suspect is an error and the modprobe atl1c definitely comes back with an error

Cheers
Beeker

dcerouter_1006790:/# cd AR81Family
dcerouter_1006790:/AR81Family# sudo su
dcerouter_1006790:/AR81Family# make install
make -C ./src/ install
make[1]: Entering directory `/AR81Family/src'
make -C /lib/modules/2.6.27-16-generic/build SUBDIRS=/AR81Family/src modules
make[2]: Entering directory `/usr/src/linux-headers-2.6.27-16-generic'
  Building modules, stage 2.
  MODPOST 1 modules
make[2]: Leaving directory `/usr/src/linux-headers-2.6.27-16-generic'
# remove all old versions of the driver
find /lib/modules/2.6.27-16-generic -name atl1e.ko -exec rm -f {} \; || true
find /lib/modules/2.6.27-16-generic -name atl1e.ko.gz -exec rm -f {} \; || true
install -D -m 644 atl1e.ko /lib/modules/2.6.27-16-generic/kernel/drivers/net/atl1e/atl1e.ko
/sbin/depmod -a || true
install -D -m 644 atl1e.7.gz /usr/share/man/man7/atl1e.7.gz
man -c -P'cat > /dev/null' atl1e || true
man:
cannot write to /var/cache/man/cat7/atl1e.7.gz in catman mode
atl1e.
make[1]: Leaving directory `/AR81Family/src'
dcerouter_1006790:/AR81Family# modprobe atl1c
FATAL: Module atl1c not found.

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3045
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: Foxconn NetBox-nT330i as MediaDirector
« Reply #16 on: November 03, 2010, 10:42:04 am »
[...]
install -D -m 644 atl1e.ko /lib/modules/2.6.27-16-generic/kernel/drivers/net/atl1e/atl1e.ko
[...]
dcerouter_1006790:/AR81Family# modprobe atl1c
FATAL: Module atl1c not found.

I understand your computer. I would not want to load module by a different name, than the one someone installed... ;)

Beeker

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 267
    • View Profile
Re: Foxconn NetBox-nT330i as MediaDirector
« Reply #17 on: December 26, 2010, 05:32:49 am »
HELP
Still cant get this damn thing to boot.......I get up to where it announces itself to the Router now but it still gets a kernal panic a couple of mins after that. below is what I get from the various instructions from Crisis90 which has got me this far.......Thanks to crisis90 merry xmas

Any further help would be really appreciated to get this MD up and running I am concerned about the part in yellow

Cheers
Beeker

dcerouter_1006790:~/AR81Family# cd
dcerouter_1006790:~# chmod 777 AR81Family
dcerouter_1006790:~# cd AR81Family
dcerouter_1006790:~/AR81Family# tar -zxvf AR81Family-linux-v1.0.1.4.tar.gz
src/
src/modules.order
src/Module.symvers
src/Makefile
src/kcompat_ethtool.c
src/kcompat.h
src/kcompat.c
src/at_osdep.h
src/at_common_main.c
src/at_common.h
src/atl1e_param.c
src/atl1e_main.c
src/atl1e_hw.h
src/atl1e_hw.c
src/atl1e_ethtool.c
src/atl1e.h
src/atl1c_param.c
src/atl1c_main.c
src/atl1c_hw.h
src/atl1c_hw.c
src/atl1c_ethtool.c
src/atl1c.h
atl1e.7
atl1e.spec
at_osdep.h
copying
dkms.conf
ldistrib.txt
Makefile
pci.updates
readme
release_note.txt
dcerouter_1006790:~/AR81Family# sudo su
dcerouter_1006790:~/AR81Family# make install
make -C ./src/ install
make[1]: Entering directory `/root/AR81Family/src'
make -C /lib/modules/2.6.27-16-generic/build SUBDIRS=/root/AR81Family/src modules
make[2]: Entering directory `/usr/src/linux-headers-2.6.27-16-generic'
  Building modules, stage 2.
  MODPOST 1 modules
make[2]: Leaving directory `/usr/src/linux-headers-2.6.27-16-generic'
# remove all old versions of the driver
find /lib/modules/2.6.27-16-generic -name atl1e.ko -exec rm -f {} \; || true
find /lib/modules/2.6.27-16-generic -name atl1e.ko.gz -exec rm -f {} \; || true
install -D -m 644 atl1e.ko /lib/modules/2.6.27-16-generic/kernel/drivers/net/atl1e/atl1e.ko
/sbin/depmod -a || true
install -D -m 644 atl1e.7.gz /usr/share/man/man7/atl1e.7.gz
man -c -P'cat > /dev/null' atl1e || true
man:
cannot write to /var/cache/man/cat7/atl1e.7.gz in catman mode
atl1e.
make[1]: Leaving directory `/root/AR81Family/src'
dcerouter_1006790:~/AR81Family# modprobe atl1c
FATAL: Module atl1c not found.
dcerouter_1006790:~/AR81Family#

daballiemo

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 244
  • Full Blown Addict
    • View Profile
Re: Foxconn NetBox-nT330i as MediaDirector
« Reply #18 on: December 26, 2010, 08:55:11 am »
Beeker,

my first one is up and running and you can see what I did in http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Foxconn_nT330i. I bought the second one just before Christmas and will give it a go tomorrow.

So except for the HD part all works nicely, hope it helps u  ;D

rgds

Han
HP N40L12.04 KVM with virt LCME8.10/10.04
MD: FoxConn NetBox 330I - Samsung LE 26 (1360* 768)
MD: M2NPV-VM dual core AMD 64/3800/2Gb/NV6150 - Samsung UE 55 C8700 (full hd, 3d)
MD: FoxConn NetBox 330I - LG 32ld350

Beeker

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 267
    • View Profile
Re: Foxconn NetBox-nT330i as MediaDirector
« Reply #19 on: December 26, 2010, 09:40:58 am »
Hi Han
Thanks heaps you have given me hope that this unit is not just yet for a trip out the window, I am stuck in the wiki at the point below and your help is much appreciated. Is this a step or just a information note.......if it's something I need to do could you give me some tips. Do I need to edit a file?

Build the atl1c kernel module

Modify .src/makefile changing "DRIVER_NAME = atl1e" to "DRIVER_NAME = atl1c";

Regards
Beeker

daballiemo

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 244
  • Full Blown Addict
    • View Profile
Re: Foxconn NetBox-nT330i as MediaDirector
« Reply #20 on: December 26, 2010, 11:59:38 am »
Quote
Hi Han
Thanks heaps you have given me hope that this unit is not just yet for a trip out the window, I am stuck in the wiki at the point below and your help is much appreciated. Is this a step or just a information note.......if it's something I need to do could you give me some tips. Do I need to edit a file?

Build the atl1c kernel module

Modify .src/makefile changing "DRIVER_NAME = atl1e" to "DRIVER_NAME = atl1c";

Regards
Beeker

Beeker,

just cd into the .src directory.
use vim (or whatever editor you like) to change the makefile. Where you see "DRIVER_NAME = atl1e" change "atl1e" to "atl1c"
then start the make process.

rgds

Han
HP N40L12.04 KVM with virt LCME8.10/10.04
MD: FoxConn NetBox 330I - Samsung LE 26 (1360* 768)
MD: M2NPV-VM dual core AMD 64/3800/2Gb/NV6150 - Samsung UE 55 C8700 (full hd, 3d)
MD: FoxConn NetBox 330I - LG 32ld350

Beeker

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 267
    • View Profile
Re: Foxconn NetBox-nT330i as MediaDirector
« Reply #21 on: December 26, 2010, 09:30:37 pm »
Hi Han,
Thanks and after a little more xmas cheer and taking a lesson out of my own book of re reading the instructions more carefully I finally got it to boot and now got through the AV Wizard so just waiting for it to reboot and see what we get............thanks again for your help and hope you and your family along with all the MCE gang have had a lovely xmas and all the best for a happy 2011 and my new years resolution is to finish my MCE outstanding list off.

Do you know if the latest snapshots now include the atl1c fixes?

Lets hope we can get the HD working as then it will make a great MD as I can then mount it directly to the back of my Panasonic Plasma and then plug in the ethernet, power, HDMI cable, USB IR blaster and the Gyro USB dongle then should all be done......here's hoping

Cheers
Beeker   :)

Beeker

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 267
    • View Profile
Re: Foxconn NetBox-nT330i as MediaDirector
« Reply #22 on: December 26, 2010, 11:14:51 pm »
Hi Han,
Further update the Foxconn now boots up and works sort of...........two issues
1. Video and unit freezes approx 10sec after starting playing anything
2. No Audio through SPDIF coax

Any ideas would be really appreciated...........nearly there apart from the HD issue screen shot attached of MD settings



Cheers
Beeker

daballiemo

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 244
  • Full Blown Addict
    • View Profile
Re: Foxconn NetBox-nT330i as MediaDirector
« Reply #23 on: December 27, 2010, 01:07:07 am »
Hi Han,
Further update the Foxconn now boots up and works sort of...........two issues
1. Video and unit freezes approx 10sec after starting playing anything
2. No Audio through SPDIF coax

Any ideas would be really appreciated...........nearly there apart from the HD issue screen shot attached of MD settings



Cheers
Beeker

Beeker,

your system shows as amd64, mine as i386, as far as I know change it to i386 and rebuild your md. Video is setup differently, but that is no problem as long as you can see anything. The part on SPDIF coaxial gets me worried while there is only SPDIF optical in the 330i....

here's my md:

HP N40L12.04 KVM with virt LCME8.10/10.04
MD: FoxConn NetBox 330I - Samsung LE 26 (1360* 768)
MD: M2NPV-VM dual core AMD 64/3800/2Gb/NV6150 - Samsung UE 55 C8700 (full hd, 3d)
MD: FoxConn NetBox 330I - LG 32ld350

Beeker

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 267
    • View Profile
Re: Foxconn NetBox-nT330i as MediaDirector
« Reply #24 on: December 27, 2010, 01:14:19 am »
Hi Han,
Thanks......still waiting to buy a plasma with HDMI as my Panasonic only has VGA, as for the Audio I thought it had SPDIF via coax but your right I will have to get the correct optical lead and try that which I suspect is the problem with the audio. I will change it to i386 and rebuild the image and see if that fixes the freezing issue........will let you know how it goes

Thanks again


Cheers
Beeker

Beeker

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 267
    • View Profile
Re: Foxconn NetBox-nT330i as MediaDirector
« Reply #25 on: December 27, 2010, 02:39:23 am »
Hi Han
I changed it i386 from the Devices MD page and did update then clicked on rebuild image on the same page though it now goes to a kernal panic when trying to boot up.......back to the same old problem. Just for piece of mind going to change back to AMD64 to see if will boot then I don't know where to go to from there

Attached is the new MD details

Cheers
Beeker
 :)

Kezza

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 146
    • View Profile
Re: Foxconn NetBox-nT330i as MediaDirector
« Reply #26 on: December 27, 2010, 02:52:47 am »
I don't think there is a AMD64 build yet and it should default to i386 so maybe something else going wrong or you have not upgraded in over 6 months :)

http://svn.linuxmce.org/trac.cgi/ticket/702


daballiemo

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 244
  • Full Blown Addict
    • View Profile
Re: Foxconn NetBox-nT330i as MediaDirector
« Reply #27 on: December 27, 2010, 08:58:55 am »
Hi Han
I changed it i386 from the Devices MD page and did update then clicked on rebuild image on the same page though it now goes to a kernal panic when trying to boot up.......back to the same old problem. Just for piece of mind going to change back to AMD64 to see if will boot then I don't know where to go to from there

Attached is the new MD details

Cheers
Beeker
 :)

Beeker,

after you rebuild you have to go through the process of adding the atl1c module to the build again (see MD Time in http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Foxconn_nT330i::)

rgds,

Han
HP N40L12.04 KVM with virt LCME8.10/10.04
MD: FoxConn NetBox 330I - Samsung LE 26 (1360* 768)
MD: M2NPV-VM dual core AMD 64/3800/2Gb/NV6150 - Samsung UE 55 C8700 (full hd, 3d)
MD: FoxConn NetBox 330I - LG 32ld350

Beeker

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 267
    • View Profile
Re: Foxconn NetBox-nT330i as MediaDirector
« Reply #28 on: December 27, 2010, 09:02:42 am »
Hi Han,
I did and it worked, but I decided to do my first upgrade as I have an existing image that is at least 12 months old and has been working fine up till now, when I boot the Foxconn now it brings up the Kubuntu blue loading bar and moves twice and stops I remember seeing something about it but can't find anything

Cheers
Beeker 

Beeker

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 267
    • View Profile
Re: Foxconn NetBox-nT330i as MediaDirector
« Reply #29 on: December 27, 2010, 09:12:16 am »
Hi Han,
Send me a slap I thought I had done it but it seems I forgot all good sorry for being stupid

Cheers
Beeker :)