Author Topic: beta2 internet installation problems! from DVD and Internet....  (Read 1269 times)

tks

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
beta2 internet installation problems! from DVD and Internet....
« on: January 10, 2010, 10:17:18 am »
Well first post on here to post my "bug".


I'm quiet new to linuxmce (kubuntu) but i will give it a try.

First try, i wasn't at home when girlfriend shutdown the computer while it was running. How / what it was doing is unclear but fact whas that she could here the lady saying: "if you can see and here me..." since i hadn't got an AV Wizzard at that time and she wasn't very clear when she turned it off...
i did an

Second try: new internet install (again) i did this:

1) clean install kubuntu desktop 8.10
2) selected as suggested by kubuntu an Nvidia driver
3) apt-get update
4) apt-get -f -x distr upgrade
5) whit the new kernel version i did what the linuxmce wiki suggests...
6) wget...
7) run the three scripts...
8) reboot...

after you run the last script (post.sh) then on the wiki it states wait for activity to end on console 8.. (i suggest this is ALT+F8) tickled it and a screen showed up saying that Battery state -------------[OK]

no hdd action whas there so i rebooted it.

Then my problems, this time i won't hear the girl, but i get to see a nice intro movie from linuxmce which is booting etc...
and then it sits there.. white screen + cursor. then i read somewhere that you need 2 nics (how could i know that????)
i then configured my wlan0 to connect to my home router eth0 was already on.

Then i rebooted and i saw that after the orbiter generation it now says starting hardware and starting  linuxmce...

But then it hangs again.

After some searching i found that i have an conflict in my apt-get it says that i need to correct an fault
with libvdpau1 which is needed because of libxvid....

i have spotted that while booting linuxmce it always does an installation of nvidia-glx-177 (why????)
also in the movi (to call it that way) it said installing:libxvid...

Anyway i have no clue on what to do now!
Fact is, i never hace been in the AVWizzard and cant find the logs of them...

My goal is to watch movies and watch TV (technotrend S2 3200) if it isn't possible i will stop trying...

Hardware:

XP 3000+
ATI onboard (disabled in bios)
NVIDIA 9800GT 1GB
768MB RAM
60GB HDD ATA2
Onboard sound
TT Budget 3200 S2
Onboard LAN (eth0)
WLAN USB stick (wlan0) gets ip from my dhcp currently (nak's the ip from linuxmce dhcp)
« Last Edit: January 10, 2010, 05:21:23 pm by tks »

MANDINGO

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 204
    • View Profile
Re: beta2 internet installation libvdpau1 and no av-wizzard issue
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2010, 10:28:55 am »
 ;D

There is always a way and yes it will work for you,

First do your self a favor and download the beta2 dvd and install that way


make sure you have 2 nics before starting
so grab the iso and burn to dvd
boot your system to dvd and select Install LMCE
once installed update kubuntu first by going to a terminal and typing
sudo apt-get update <--- dont mind any 404 errors that you get
then
sudo apt-get dist-upgrade
once the system is up to date then click on lmce on the desktop and install
then complete the wizard
then welcome to the family of LMCE users

 ;D

Mandingo
For a Current List of Plug and Play Capture Cards/Devices
http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Capture_Cards

tks

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: beta2 internet installation libvdpau1 and no av-wizzard issue
« Reply #2 on: January 10, 2010, 10:42:29 am »

How can i start the av wizzard manually?

I can login in the various consoles...


PlatypusPedersen

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 43
  • Hugs?
    • View Profile
Re: beta2 internet installation libvdpau1 and no av-wizzard issue
« Reply #3 on: January 10, 2010, 10:52:36 am »

How can i start the av wizzard manually?

I can login in the various consoles...



http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/AVWizard

MANDINGO

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 204
    • View Profile
Re: beta2 internet installation libvdpau1 and no av-wizzard issue
« Reply #4 on: January 10, 2010, 10:53:04 am »
reboot your core
when you hear the first beep
hold down the shift key until it beeps again
this will start the setup wizard

Mandingo
For a Current List of Plug and Play Capture Cards/Devices
http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Capture_Cards

tks

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: beta2 internet installation libvdpau1 and no av-wizzard issue
« Reply #5 on: January 10, 2010, 03:40:49 pm »
i hear no beeps... downloaded and burned the dvd...

sow whats next ==> EXACTLY...

2nics is one WLAN USB nic good?? Else i need to pull my DVB-S2 card...(the nvidia card takes 2 slots...)
and its a small computer. The onboard is an ATI card dunno if making room for the nic is better or staying with the NVIDIA...???


tks

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: beta2 internet installation libvdpau1 and no av-wizzard issue
« Reply #6 on: January 10, 2010, 04:37:38 pm »
Well first impressions...

This linux boots installing glx-195.. (instead of 177 for me earlier...)

now running the new-installer...

maybe its an good idea to insert some cleanup / remove scripts..

so that after you have kubuntu but linuxmce goes tits-up you can restore to an previous state...
i mean i need yet to speak to the first person (newbie's) who installed it in one attemp...

we really put an demand on the servers / internet for basicly "nothing..."

also wy, linuxmce cant be that programmed that part of their scripts / programs runs from the kde?
And then in the last install action you remove/swap kde for mce..???

just thoughts to minimalize the install overhead per install attempt...

tks

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: beta2 internet installation libvdpau1 and no av-wizzard issue
« Reply #7 on: January 10, 2010, 05:07:22 pm »
TROUBLE:

can i ignore this?

its an error in post-install.sh

on line 26/27 where it states ..... && update-initramfs

i didn't get that error on the internet scripts....

until someone leaves an message i will investigate....

well looks like my first script is the same as this one, so i will just reboot it then..
if something is wrong i will atleast know what!!


« Last Edit: January 10, 2010, 05:27:13 pm by tks »

MANDINGO

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 204
    • View Profile
Re: beta2 internet installation problems! from DVD and Internet....
« Reply #8 on: January 10, 2010, 06:11:31 pm »
you will run into all kinds of trouble if you dont have 2 nics

First thing you should have done before the install of LMCE is to see if both of your nics are recognized by kubuntu and do the update to the OS first then move on to LMCE once done

Jump into the irc channels and get help there

catch me in linuxmce-devel and linuxmce

Mandingo
For a Current List of Plug and Play Capture Cards/Devices
http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Capture_Cards

Kezza

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 146
    • View Profile
Re: beta2 internet installation problems! from DVD and Internet....
« Reply #9 on: January 11, 2010, 05:41:50 am »
Sounds like more issues than holding shift to get wizard but as Mandingo said hold down shift key after bios screens and Linux starts up keep holding until wizard starts(I to have no beeps but that worked for me to get wizard working).

Oh and lock the PC away so girlfriend cannot shut it down....  ;D

tks

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: beta2 internet installation problems! from DVD and Internet....
« Reply #10 on: January 11, 2010, 07:23:09 pm »
MY BIOS SETTINGS..

i think this disables the onboard any one?