Author Topic: 8.10 beta2: VDR not running correctly  (Read 3203 times)

klara

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
8.10 beta2: VDR not running correctly
« on: December 28, 2009, 04:27:00 pm »
Just installed the 8.10 beta2 from DVD. The install process worked fine and the system is running well.
However, the VDR makes some trouble:
When starting VDR via the MEDIA-TV button I do get a running TV picture. When changing the channel via up-down-keys the picture disappears. I can still stop VDR then via the F7-key.
When starting VDR up again then I get the TV picture of the previously new selected channel. Again, when I change this new channel via the up-down-keys the screen goes blank again.
When I see the running picture and then select F1, F2, F3 or F4 to get the on-screen-menu then VDR crashes completely. I can fix this by going to the console under KDE desktop and manually restart VDR via "/etc/init.d/vdr restart" .
Does anybody encounter the same problem or something similar?

Klara

ihaar

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: 8.10 beta2: VDR not running correctly
« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2009, 10:04:21 pm »
yes, I have the same problem with VDR.
8.10 b2

niz23

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 361
    • View Profile
Re: 8.10 beta2: VDR not running correctly
« Reply #2 on: December 28, 2009, 11:38:52 pm »
Please create a trac ticket for this issue at http://svn.linuxmce.org/trac.cgi/newticket

Provide as much info as you can about the issue.
Like graphics card model/type, gpu driver version, graphics acceleration setting etc.
And also provide info how to reproduce and workaround if known.

/niz23

nite_man

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1019
  • Want to work with LinuxMCE
    • View Profile
    • Smart Home Blog
Re: 8.10 beta2: VDR not running correctly
« Reply #3 on: January 01, 2010, 07:13:07 pm »
Does somebody run VDR on the 0810 beta successfully? It definitely worked on alpha. But there is some problem with beta.
Michael Stepanov,
My setup: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Nite_man#New_setup
Russian LinuxMCE community: http://linuxmce.ru

Xtra

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: 8.10 beta2: VDR not running correctly
« Reply #4 on: January 02, 2010, 11:31:19 am »
Nope, same problem here.
Channel switching causes the vdr display to loose the connection with the vdr daemon.
The daemon tunes to the new channel according to the logs but the image never comes up.
I will have to dig a little more, maybe I can find some better information.

nite_man

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1019
  • Want to work with LinuxMCE
    • View Profile
    • Smart Home Blog
Re: 8.10 beta2: VDR not running correctly
« Reply #5 on: January 03, 2010, 10:33:43 pm »
As I know VDR works fine in beta1. It's broken by some reason on beta2 only.
Michael Stepanov,
My setup: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Nite_man#New_setup
Russian LinuxMCE community: http://linuxmce.ru

niz23

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 361
    • View Profile
Re: 8.10 beta2: VDR not running correctly
« Reply #6 on: January 04, 2010, 08:47:16 am »
I wonder if this may be related to our updated libxine?
/niz23

nite_man

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1019
  • Want to work with LinuxMCE
    • View Profile
    • Smart Home Blog
Re: 8.10 beta2: VDR not running correctly
« Reply #7 on: January 04, 2010, 02:32:15 pm »
I wonder if this may be related to our updated libxine?
/niz23

It looks like that. At least I didn't find any errors in the VDR log or syslog. Will check tonight Xine log as well.
Michael Stepanov,
My setup: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Nite_man#New_setup
Russian LinuxMCE community: http://linuxmce.ru

nite_man

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1019
  • Want to work with LinuxMCE
    • View Profile
    • Smart Home Blog
Re: 8.10 beta2: VDR not running correctly
« Reply #8 on: January 04, 2010, 07:30:33 pm »
With the latest update VDR started working. But there is no OSD and the picture disappears after switching to another channel or send any command such menu or back. Will dig more.

UPDATE: Found that error in the syslog at the time when picture disappears:
Code: [Select]
Jan  4 20:19:26 dcerouter vdr: [10918] closing SVDRP connection
Jan  4 20:19:26 dcerouter vdr: [10925] [xine..put] Client connection 0 closed
Jan  4 20:19:26 dcerouter vdr: [12439] [xine..put] cBackgroundWriter: TCP write error
Jan  4 20:19:26 dcerouter vdr: [12439] [xine..put]    (ERROR (tools/backgroundwriter.c,227): Bad file descriptor)
Jan  4 20:19:26 dcerouter vdr: [10925] [xine..put] Closing connection 0
Here is a peace of log when VDR works:
Code: [Select]
Jan  4 20:19:06 dcerouter vdr: [10918] connect from 127.0.0.1, port 38849 - accepted
Jan  4 20:19:07 dcerouter vdr: [10918] closing SVDRP connection
Jan  4 20:19:08 dcerouter vdr: [10925] [xine..put] Client 0 connected: 127.0.0.1:42714
Jan  4 20:19:08 dcerouter vdr: [10925] [xine..put] cxSocket: setsockopt(SO_SNDBUF): got 262142 bytes
Jan  4 20:19:08 dcerouter vdr: [10925] [xine..put] Trying PIPE connection ...
Jan  4 20:19:08 dcerouter vdr: [10925] creating directory /var/lib/vdr/plugins/xineliboutput/pipes.10918
Jan  4 20:19:08 dcerouter vdr: [10925] removing /var/lib/vdr/plugins/xineliboutput/pipes.10918
Jan  4 20:19:08 dcerouter vdr: [10925] [xine..put] cBackgroundWriterI initialized (buffer 512 kb)
Jan  4 20:19:08 dcerouter vdr: [10925] [xine..put] cTcpWriter initialized (buffer 512 k
« Last Edit: January 04, 2010, 09:09:54 pm by nite_man »
Michael Stepanov,
My setup: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Nite_man#New_setup
Russian LinuxMCE community: http://linuxmce.ru

niz23

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 361
    • View Profile
Re: 8.10 beta2: VDR not running correctly
« Reply #9 on: January 04, 2010, 09:32:48 pm »
Maybe xineliboutput need to be recompliled against our patched libxine?
Just a guess but might be worth to test.


Another hint is to try and speak to the guys over at #Xine-vdpau
Some of the vdr developers hang there. Especially those that work on xine and vdpau functionality for vdr.


/niz23

nite_man

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1019
  • Want to work with LinuxMCE
    • View Profile
    • Smart Home Blog
Re: 8.10 beta2: VDR not running correctly
« Reply #10 on: January 09, 2010, 05:34:54 pm »
The problem is solved (thanks to possy!). All instructions are added to the ticket.
Michael Stepanov,
My setup: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Nite_man#New_setup
Russian LinuxMCE community: http://linuxmce.ru

klara

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: 8.10 beta2: VDR not running correctly
« Reply #11 on: January 12, 2010, 12:03:42 pm »
Hi Guys,

just made a new DVD-installation with the latest version of 8.10 beta2 {Update 2010-01-08 22669}.
Now VDR does not work at all anymore.
When clicking on TV on the Orbiter then nothing at all happens.
I checked in the VDR-folder and already saw that quite a few needed files are missing.
I followed the instructions from the tracker to solve the VDR-issues from the linuxmce version from before.
However, when restarting VDR via the Console I get an error message:

Restarting Linux Video Disk Recorder: vdr
Searching for plugins (VDR 1.6.0-2/1.6.0) (cache hit): streamdev-client xineliboutput control
WARNING: The following plugins have been left out due to really binary incompatibility: streamdev-server.

klara

nite_man

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1019
  • Want to work with LinuxMCE
    • View Profile
    • Smart Home Blog
Re: 8.10 beta2: VDR not running correctly
« Reply #12 on: January 12, 2010, 11:28:02 pm »
Just add hanno.de repo to the sources.list and re-install streamdev-server from there. It should solve your problem.
Michael Stepanov,
My setup: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Nite_man#New_setup
Russian LinuxMCE community: http://linuxmce.ru

ymarcox

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: 8.10 beta2: VDR not running correctly
« Reply #13 on: January 18, 2010, 12:19:42 pm »
Hello to All,

i have the same problem with the VDR, the MCE runĀ“s well, but the DVB-S/S2 with VDR makes me crazy!

Please help us and me!

Have anybody a detailed instructtion, how i can fix the VDR problem?!

Many thanks @ all from Germany.

Marco 

nite_man

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1019
  • Want to work with LinuxMCE
    • View Profile
    • Smart Home Blog
Re: 8.10 beta2: VDR not running correctly
« Reply #14 on: January 18, 2010, 01:07:11 pm »
Marco,

Did you read the ticket? Anyway, you should do following:
- download archive with new VDR packages from here;
- unpack it and install:
Code: [Select]
tar vxf vdrxinedeb.tar
sudo dpkg -i install *.deb
- add new repository to the /etc/apt/sources.list:
Code: [Select]
deb http://www.hanno.de/vdr-experimental/ intrepid  base backports addons vdr-multipatch- run sudo apt-get update
- install VDR from that repository and probably streamdev-server plugin:
Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get install vdr vdr-plugin-streamdev-server- restart vdr:
Code: [Select]
sudo /etc/init.d/vdr restart
After that you should get the picture with VDR under 0810 beta2. Note, you cannot watch DVB-S2 channels because VDR 1.6.0 doesn't support them. Me and Posde try to test VDR 1.7.11 under 0810. It works but with some tricks. Will add instructions to install VDR 1.7.11 later. 
Michael Stepanov,
My setup: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Nite_man#New_setup
Russian LinuxMCE community: http://linuxmce.ru