Author Topic: How to specify 1080i from Resulutions Settings Screen?  (Read 965 times)

etNHGfU8

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 47
    • View Profile
How to specify 1080i from Resulutions Settings Screen?
« on: December 11, 2009, 09:28:12 pm »
I'm run 810beta2 from DVD and I have decided to try hooking things up to my TV and Amp.  My TV supports 480p and 1080i. I can get 480p to work fine but I can't find any setting for 1080i just 1080p.  I tried using '9' during startup and that got me to the AV screen but from there I could not find the 1080i setting.

Does it exist?

Thanks, Tom

kyfalcon

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 390
    • View Profile
Re: How to specify 1080i from Resulutions Settings Screen?
« Reply #1 on: December 11, 2009, 09:45:28 pm »
Create you own xorg.conf. and get this working with KDE. Then before you reboot edit your /usr/pluto/bin/Xconfigure.sh file. After the first line add the following:

 exit(1)

Then reboot your system and at the first set of beeps force AVWizard by hitting the shift key until the wizard shows up. complete your setup.


As far as the xorg goes look at your /var/log/Xorg.0.log for the supported mode lines. One of them should be 1080 interlaced. Use that in your xorg.conf


Kevin

pw44

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 653
    • View Profile
Re: How to specify 1080i from Resulutions Settings Screen?
« Reply #2 on: December 11, 2009, 10:25:49 pm »
Hi,
please read http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Custom_Display_Resolutions, a tutorial which explains how it works.
Your resolutions (480p and 1080i) are hidden in the /usr/pluto/share/Resolutions.conf file. Using this guide, change the visibility flag from the desired section (resolution) and run AVWizard again.
If your TV is a LCD or plasma one, you should use the useEDID, set it to true after running AVWizard and applying the ugly hack (Prevent LinuxMCE from changing the Xorg config). This will (in case of using a LCD or plasma TV) solve the overscan issue, if you get it.
Best,
Paulo
« Last Edit: December 12, 2009, 12:15:09 am by pw44 »

Techstyle

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 674
    • View Profile
    • Techstyle UK Ltd.
Re: How to specify 1080i from Resulutions Settings Screen?
« Reply #3 on: December 12, 2009, 01:36:50 am »
If your TV supports 1080i and not 1080p it's native resolution is probably 1366x768.  a 1080i signal is therefore rescaled to fit in the 768 lines.  You may find 720P is a better fit there is less rescaling or follow the other advice and set up a custon display.

Viking

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 521
    • View Profile
Re: How to specify 1080i from Resulutions Settings Screen?
« Reply #4 on: December 12, 2009, 12:06:56 pm »
Hi,

also take a look at my post here and if it works please update the wiki :)

http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=9255.msg63596#msg63596

Viking

etNHGfU8

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 47
    • View Profile
Re: How to specify 1080i from Resulutions Settings Screen?
« Reply #5 on: December 12, 2009, 08:06:42 pm »
Thanks for the responses.

My TV is a Samsung Tantus which is 4x3.  I spent several hours trying the steps noted on the Custom Display Resolutions page but I could only get the 1080 setting to not give me a blank screen. Normally that would be great but unfortunately the colors were so distorted that it wasn't usable.  So I went back to the built-in 480p setting which looks fine from the LinuxMCE display but is challenging from the KDE since 480p is for 16x9 displays.

Ultimately, the Samsung is being used because that is what I currently have but I plan to get an LCD for the system at some point so this issue will go away for me.

Viking

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 521
    • View Profile
Re: How to specify 1080i from Resulutions Settings Screen?
« Reply #6 on: December 14, 2009, 10:59:52 am »
The question is what native resolution has you display ?
That is the resolution you should setup.

Viking