Author Topic: CISCO 7971G instead of 7970G?  (Read 1277 times)

indulis

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 147
    • View Profile
CISCO 7971G instead of 7970G?
« on: September 13, 2008, 08:57:40 pm »
Hi,

Was looking to get a 7970G or 7971G.  The only difference with the 7971G seems to be a faster network and higher resolution display according to the marketing blurb.  Would it still work with LinuxMCE?  If not, how could it be makde to work- big or small job?

7970G
http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/hw/phones/ps379/ps5440/index.html

7971G
http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/ps5946/index.html

Thanks!

Indulis
« Last Edit: September 13, 2008, 09:00:25 pm by indulis »

bulek

  • Administrator
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *****
  • Posts: 887
  • Living with LMCE
    • View Profile
Re: CISCO 7971G instead of 7970G?
« Reply #1 on: September 13, 2008, 09:40:13 pm »
Hi,

I'm not sure if there is any difference in resolution. I've asked guy selling them on Ebay and he said the only difference is gigabit ethernet...

HTH,

regards.

Bulek.
Thanks in advance,

regards,

Bulek.

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2421
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: CISCO 7971G instead of 7970G?
« Reply #2 on: September 14, 2008, 12:33:34 am »
they have the same firmware and should behave identical.
best regards,
Hari
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

indulis

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 147
    • View Profile
Re: CISCO 7971G instead of 7970G?
« Reply #3 on: September 15, 2008, 08:10:35 pm »
OK found a table which summaries the differences- seems it is just Gbit ethernet on the 7971G and 10/100 ethernet on the 7970G.

So will probably buy a 7970G or two.

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/prod/collateral/voicesw/ps6788/phones/ps379/ps8538/prod_qas0900aecd80699b31.html

Domodude

  • Guest
Re: CISCO 7971G instead of 7970G?
« Reply #4 on: September 15, 2008, 10:30:47 pm »
OK found a table which summaries the differences- seems it is just Gbit ethernet on the 7971G and 10/100 ethernet on the 7970G.

So will probably buy a 7970G or two.

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/prod/collateral/voicesw/ps6788/phones/ps379/ps8538/prod_qas0900aecd80699b31.html


edit: After Bulek's message (see below):

If I remember properly, the 7971 can also forward your network cable, so it's got two gigabit ethernet ports.


(Should have turned the phone over before posting  :-[ )
« Last Edit: September 17, 2008, 09:49:12 pm by Domodude »

bulek

  • Administrator
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *****
  • Posts: 887
  • Living with LMCE
    • View Profile
Re: CISCO 7971G instead of 7970G?
« Reply #5 on: September 15, 2008, 10:58:44 pm »
OK found a table which summaries the differences- seems it is just Gbit ethernet on the 7971G and 10/100 ethernet on the 7970G.

So will probably buy a 7970G or two.

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/prod/collateral/voicesw/ps6788/phones/ps379/ps8538/prod_qas0900aecd80699b31.html


If I remember properly, the 7971 can also forward your network cable, so it's got two gigabit ethernet ports.
I have 10/100 forwarding also on 7970...

Regards,

Bulek.
Thanks in advance,

regards,

Bulek.

harley

  • First post!
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: CISCO 7971G instead of 7970G?
« Reply #6 on: December 11, 2009, 11:13:26 am »
Hi,

I'm not sure if there is any difference in resolution. I've asked guy selling them on Ebay and he said the only difference is gigabit ethernet...

HTH,

regards.

Bulek.



7970g is Cisco inline power and 802.3af compliant
7971g is only 802.3af compliant NOT Cisco inline power compliant

7970g is 10/100 Mbps
7971g is 10/100/1000 Mbps

7970g won't get full brightness if powered over ethernet
7971g will get full brightness if powered over ethernet (I think !!???)