Author Topic: HVR-4000 - SOLVED  (Read 3246 times)

Lexje

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 230
    • View Profile
HVR-4000 - SOLVED
« on: December 10, 2009, 11:16:27 am »
Hi all,

Done some extensive installation testing with this Hauppauge TV card.
My best results are as follows:
- 0810 stock DVD install, all updates installed
- 4vl-dvb with hg clone http://linuxtv.org/hg/v4l-dvb
- installed Kaffeine

=> Kaffeine will succesfully do channel search and play dvb-t
=> MythTV 0.22 will recognize HVR-4000, will also properly recognize the adapters
Code: [Select]
  [   13.048647] DVB: registering adapter 0 frontend 0 (Conexant CX24116/CX24118)...
   [   13.048939] DVB: registering adapter 0 frontend 1 (Conexant CX22702 DVB-T)...

MythTV is unable to perform a channel scan.


1. Should this be reported into TRAC?
2. Any MythTV guru's that can point me to further Myth command line wizardry to see what's happening?

Erwin
« Last Edit: December 22, 2009, 03:31:46 pm by Lexje »

maverick0815

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 563
    • View Profile
Re: HVR-4000
« Reply #1 on: December 11, 2009, 07:54:17 am »
just to make sure: when you try to configure mythtv, are you using the orbiter or are you trying from KDE-desktop? I'm asking, because obviously there are some people, who try to configure mythtv from kde-desktop, while actually you should go to Computing in your orbiter and start mythtv setup from there. if your tv-card is loaded properly, then you should have no problems tuning with mythtv, unless another application hijacked the card already

Lexje

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 230
    • View Profile
Re: HVR-4000
« Reply #2 on: December 11, 2009, 09:30:11 am »
Maverick, thanks for hopping in;
I'm configuring from the computing screen - I've learned that from Phenigma a couple of posts ago :-)

No, I believe the problem lies within MythTV 0.22
As before installing LMCE / Myth 0.22 I have tested the HVR-4000 functionality with Kaffeine. To me this proves that the kernel and the 4vl-dvb drivers work well together. -> channel scanning works, viewing with sound works too.

In previous setups I had problems with myth to be able to see / identify /  open the adapters. This was solved by using the computing way and not directly in KDE.

Erwin

phenigma

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1017
    • View Profile
Re: HVR-4000
« Reply #3 on: December 11, 2009, 07:09:59 pm »
Looking at the Mythtv wiki it looks like a little work is needed (firmware must be extracted from the windows driver for use in linux):

http://www.mythtv.org/wiki/Hauppauge_HVR-4000

and it also references:

http://www.linuxtv.org/wiki/index.php/Hauppauge_WinTV-HVR-4000

which provides instructions on extracting and using the windows firmware...

It would be great to package this up properly so the card is plug-n-play in LMCE.

J.

Lexje

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 230
    • View Profile
Re: HVR-4000
« Reply #4 on: December 11, 2009, 07:56:30 pm »
J, thanks for linking there.

Been there done that over 15 times the last 2 weeks :-) First with the liplianin repo then with stock v4l-dvb drivers using mercurial.
Also, and I think important to notice, the HVR-4000 WORKS 100% (dvb-t) SOUND & VISION with Kaffeine (tested before installing LMCE).
So unless someone tells me my reasoning is incorrect, I figure the problem finally lies with Myth, and not in kernel or drivers.

I have never used VDR yet, but will give it a shot one off the next days, perhaps it will work with VDR?

DOES ANYBODY ELSE HERE ON THE FORUM USE THIS HVR-4000 CARD?

P.S. Next week satellite should be delivered, so I hope to test this with HVR-4000 too.

Erwin

Lexje

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 230
    • View Profile
Re: HVR-4000 - SOLVED
« Reply #5 on: December 22, 2009, 03:37:31 pm »
Today finally solved this issue-
Got the HVR-4000 up and running under LMCE 0810.

What led to the solution?
Searching to get Karmic going with this card, I found this post:http://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php?p=8217434&postcount=6
After checking my firmware with md5sum and comparing to this post, I found this was the problem.
Next I put in place firmware v20.79.0 following the wiki here:http://www.linuxtv.org/wiki/index.php/Hauppauge_WinTV-HVR-4000

If there's any questions, don't hesitate, and thanks to everybody for helping out!

Erwin

dlewis

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 401
    • View Profile
Re: HVR-4000 - SOLVED
« Reply #6 on: December 22, 2009, 03:40:03 pm »
please create a device template to make this PnP.

Lexje

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 230
    • View Profile
Re: HVR-4000 - SOLVED
« Reply #7 on: December 22, 2009, 04:01:53 pm »
dlewis,

Be glad to;
Can you point me to a howto do this?

Erwin

dlewis

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 401
    • View Profile
Re: HVR-4000 - SOLVED
« Reply #8 on: December 22, 2009, 04:10:46 pm »
look at the other templates in the main database amongst the DeviceTemplate_* tables. Look here:

http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Device_Templates

MANDINGO

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 204
    • View Profile
Re: HVR-4000 - SOLVED
« Reply #9 on: December 26, 2009, 11:29:47 pm »
Please read this post and add to it for the information of your card
http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=9354.0

I have almost finished a template for the HVR-4000 but still need info follow the post and add yours

Thanks
Mandingo
For a Current List of Plug and Play Capture Cards/Devices
http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Capture_Cards

Lexje

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 230
    • View Profile
Re: HVR-4000 - SOLVED
« Reply #10 on: December 27, 2009, 11:47:27 am »
Mandingo,

I will repeat my complete LMCE 0810 install steps for the HVR-4000 once more. Then, if all works as it should, I will post my info. Probably within a couple of days.
One thing to note:
I have been stuck in a dead end for something like a week. I had been experimenting with v4l-dvb repo and s2-liplianin repo.
At a certain point, s2-kiplianin made my system choke upon reboot, (impossible to get it to boot again, even recovery mode) and v4l-dvb did not work either.
So I have crossed this hurdle by using a 'specific' repo of a specific date (hg -rxxxx)
I'm not sure how this nieeds to be packed into a template, but I will forward you the information soon.

Can also post info for the HVR-1110 if you want?

Merry X-mas,

Erwin

Nuwis

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 43
    • View Profile
Re: HVR-4000 - SOLVED
« Reply #11 on: December 27, 2009, 08:57:45 pm »
Lexje,

i had arrived until i think you were.
Mythtv recognize the HVR-4000 with no problems but when i try to find channels in the adapter 0 frontend 1 (DVB-T) mythtv didn't find any channels.
I followed your explanations about the firmware, and i tryed with the 1.20 and 1.23 also. Kaffeine have no problems to run with both firmwares, but mythtv stucks in the channels search. I got every time that i do a scan the same message, "frequency XX offset 1 --> time out signal"

Any suggestions?

bstrgrds
Frank Galan

An Spanish LMCE user
http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Nuwis

Lexje

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 230
    • View Profile
Re: HVR-4000 - SOLVED
« Reply #12 on: December 28, 2009, 01:11:07 am »
Nuwis,

You can check like this:
- To make sure reboot your machine,
- open up a terminal, and do tail -f /var/log/messages
- fire up myth and do a channel scan
-> If you're in the same position, you will see a message saying that it can't load the firmware

This is what put my attention back to the Karmic link. - If so, something's wrong with your firmware.

Be sure to have a proper look at the link to the Karmic and HVR-4000 thread.
Do the md5sum check with your firmware sitting at /lib/firmware and make sure the md5sum is the same as on the Ubuntu forum. Mine was different - so I redownloaded and double checked.

I'm not an expert on this, but I'm fairly sure that Kaffeine does not need the firmware - don't ask me why. (I'd sure like to understand the difference though!!)
For MythTV there are 2 criteria that need to be fullfilled:
- v4l-dvb drivers need to be loaded (dmesg will list your card as HVR-4000)
- the firmware must load

Also for scanning I found that depending on what country you choose, Myth skips or limits channels, e.g. I'm in Belgium and scanning using France as a country works, but using Austria fails.
I have also gone back to somewhere 25/11/09 in the v4l-dvb repo. If the above does not help, let me know, I'll dig up my emacs install log and post the exact repo to clone.
Hope this helps!

Erwin
« Last Edit: December 28, 2009, 01:19:24 am by Lexje »

MANDINGO

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 204
    • View Profile
Re: HVR-4000 - SOLVED
« Reply #13 on: December 28, 2009, 08:09:37 am »
If you post the info in the other thread this card will be plug and play guys

So please post

Thanks
Mandingo
For a Current List of Plug and Play Capture Cards/Devices
http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Capture_Cards

Nuwis

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 43
    • View Profile
Re: HVR-4000 - SOLVED
« Reply #14 on: December 30, 2009, 11:18:14 am »
Lexje,
The firmware is upload OK at least it says tail, during the channel scan i was doing when tail was running.
Dec 30 11:08:57 dcerouter kernel: [ 1249.644160] cx24116_firmware_ondemand: Waiting for firmware upload (dvb-fe-cx24116.fw)...
Dec 30 11:08:57 dcerouter kernel: [ 1249.644167] firmware: requesting dvb-fe-cx24116.fw
Dec 30 11:08:57 dcerouter kernel: [ 1249.647414] cx24116_firmware_ondemand: Waiting for firmware upload(2)...
Dec 30 11:09:02 dcerouter kernel: [ 1254.672701] cx24116_load_firmware: FW version 1.23.86.1
Dec 30 11:09:02 dcerouter kernel: [ 1254.672749] cx24116_firmware_ondemand: Firmware upload complete
Dec 30 11:09:23 dcerouter kernel: [ 1275.831595] kjournald starting.  Commit interval 5 seconds
Dec 30 11:09:23 dcerouter kernel: [ 1275.832509] EXT3 FS on sdb1, internal journal
Dec 30 11:09:23 dcerouter kernel: [ 1275.832518] EXT3-fs: mounted filesystem with ordered data mode.

In this case i am trying with the firmware 1.23 that runs on kaffeine, but also i had tryed with the 1.20 firmware instead with the same result.
I  didn'yt tryed to do a scan with the fronted 0 (DVB-S) just with the frontend 1 (DVB-T), cuase i haven't satellit antenna for the moment, but i get another error when the scan window appears in this frontend "Error parsing parameters"

Mandingo,
When i finish to install the card and runs i will help you with the template, but for the momment in my case it doesn't run.

regards
Frank Galan

An Spanish LMCE user
http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Nuwis