Author Topic: THANK YOU - 0810 beta2 - basic questions - configuring MythTV?  (Read 1846 times)

Lexje

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 230
    • View Profile
THANK YOU - 0810 beta2 - basic questions - configuring MythTV?
« on: December 07, 2009, 11:12:33 pm »
Hi all,

First off a BIG THANK YOU to all the guys, people, devs that keep making this happen!

A couple of questions / remarks:
DISCLAIMER: these questions / remarks are intended to be positive and helpfull (if not to myself then ... )
They have been gathered and verified over multiple installs.
However, if fellow LinuxMCE users find these to be incorrect please do post your findings.

MAIN QUESTION: How do fellow LinuxMCE users configure MythTV for first time use? (mythtv-setup)

Today, after many, many, many retrials I finally managed to get 0810 beta2 installed on my M3N78-EM (asus) mobo.

  • As each Kubuntu install imperatively creates 'a' first user (I called mine linuxmce :-) )
    how does LinuxMCE install treat this user? Or, does LinuxMCE install create a new user to be used in running    LinuxMCE? Why I ask this? During the many installs I went through, each and every time I had to adjust membership of users. If not, mythtv-setup would not run properly.
  • Running mythtv-setup from a terminal shows "kdesu command not found" [kdesudo is found (?)]
  • Running sudo updatedb.conf errors out:
Code: [Select]
updatedb:/etc/updatedb.conf:4: unknown variable `exit'
    A small edit of updatedb.conf solves this.[/li]
  • minor issue: after LinuxMCE install ALT-F2 is broken in KDE

On to LinuxMCE related stuff:
- After entering KDE - How can one properly get back to LinuxMCE Orbiter?
MythTV:
- I've recently learned about /usr/pluto/bin/Restart_MythBackend.sh
How is a user supposed to run mythtv-setup if mythtv-backend can't be stopped without Restart_MythBackend doing its thing?
- In my case, in Belgium, using dvb-t and a Hauppauge HVR-4000 we have to use a workaround to get program information into mythconverg (mc2xml)
- With the new myth 0.22 version, multiple frontends are supported (THANK YOU!!)
However, after killing restart_mythbackend, after stopping myth-backend and entering mythtv-setup, I am
100% able to choose the correct /dev/dvb/adapterN/frontendN. Problem is the adapter is not recognized, so scanning channels is impossible.
- When leaving myth-setup there is a warning like:
Code: [Select]
"Path /home/user_1/data/pvr does not exist" solve?This path off course does exist, but the initial user has no permission...


For testing purposes I installed dvb-utils and a copy of my local be-Schoten file (scan info file)
Scanning proceeds succesfully:
Code: [Select]
  linuxmce@dcerouter:~$ sudo scan -f 1 ~/be-Schoten > channels.conf
   scanning /home/linuxmce/be-Schoten
   using '/dev/dvb/adapter0/frontend1' and '/dev/dvb/adapter0/demux0'
   initial transponder 506000000 0 2 9 3 1 0 0
   >>> tune to: 506000000:INVERSION_AUTO:BANDWIDTH_8_MHZ:FEC_2_3:FEC_AUTO:QAM_64:TRANSMISSION_MODE_8K:GUARD_INTERVAL_1_32:HIERARCHY_NONE
   0x0000 0x1090: pmt_pid 0x0000 VRT -- Klara continuo (running)
   0x0000 0x1080: pmt_pid 0x0000 VRT -- MNM (running)
   0x0000 0x1070: pmt_pid 0x0000 VRT -- Studio Brussel (running)
   0x0000 0x1060: pmt_pid 0x0000 VRT -- Klara (running)
   0x0000 0x1040: pmt_pid 0x0000 VRT -- Radio 1 (running)
   0x0000 0x1050: pmt_pid 0x0000 VRT -- Radio 2 (running)
   0x0000 0x1010: pmt_pid 0x0000 VRT -- EEN (running)
   0x0000 0x1020: pmt_pid 0x0000 VRT -- Canvas/Ketnet (running)
   0x0000 0x10b0: pmt_pid 0x0000 VRT -- Canvas+/Ketnet+ (running)
   0x0000 0x10a0: pmt_pid 0x0000 VRT -- Sporza (running)
   0x0000 0x10c0: pmt_pid 0x0000 VRT -- Nieuws+ (running)
   0x0000 0x10d0: pmt_pid 0x0000 VRT -- MNM hits (running)
   Network Name 'VRTmux1'
   >>> tune to: 482000000:INVERSION_AUTO:BANDWIDTH_8_MHZ:FEC_1_2:FEC_1_2:QAM_64:TRANSMISSION_MODE_8K:GUARD_INTERVAL_1_4:HIERARCHY_NONE
   0x0001 0x1090: pmt_pid 0x1090 VRT -- Klara continuo (running)
   0x0001 0x1080: pmt_pid 0x1080 VRT -- MNM (running)
   0x0001 0x1070: pmt_pid 0x1070 VRT -- Studio Brussel (running)
   0x0001 0x1060: pmt_pid 0x1060 VRT -- Klara (running)
   0x0001 0x1040: pmt_pid 0x1040 VRT -- Radio 1 (running)
   0x0001 0x1050: pmt_pid 0x1050 VRT -- Radio 2 (running)
   0x0001 0x1010: pmt_pid 0x1010 VRT -- EEN (running)
   0x0001 0x1020: pmt_pid 0x1020 VRT -- Canvas/Ketnet (running)
   0x0001 0x10b0: pmt_pid 0x10b0 VRT -- Canvas+/Ketnet+ (running)
   0x0001 0x10a0: pmt_pid 0x10a0 VRT -- Sporza (running)
   0x0001 0x10c0: pmt_pid 0x10c0 VRT -- Nieuws+ (running)
   0x0001 0x10d0: pmt_pid 0x10d0 VRT -- MNM hits (running)
   Network Name 'VRTmux1'
   dumping lists (24 services)
   Done.
   linuxmce@dcerouter:~$

So to me this seems like SOUND PROOF that the HVR-4000 is properly registered and functioning.

I really do hope I (stupid me!) missed something here, as this is REALLY REALLY close to WORKING!
So once more: THANK YOU

Erwin
« Last Edit: December 07, 2009, 11:22:07 pm by Lexje »

phenigma

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1004
    • View Profile
Re: THANK YOU - 0810 beta2 - basic questions - configuring MythTV?
« Reply #1 on: December 08, 2009, 12:24:45 am »
MAIN QUESTION: How do fellow LinuxMCE users configure MythTV for first time use? (mythtv-setup)

- I've recently learned about /usr/pluto/bin/Restart_MythBackend.sh
How is a user supposed to run mythtv-setup if mythtv-backend can't be stopped without Restart_MythBackend doing its thing?
- In my case, in Belgium, using dvb-t and a Hauppauge HVR-4000 we have to use a workaround to get program information into mythconverg (mc2xml)
- With the new myth 0.22 version, multiple frontends are supported (THANK YOU!!)
However, after killing restart_mythbackend, after stopping myth-backend and entering mythtv-setup, I am
100% able to choose the correct /dev/dvb/adapterN/frontendN. Problem is the adapter is not recognized, so scanning channels is impossible.
- When leaving myth-setup there is a warning like:
Code: [Select]
"Path /home/user_1/data/pvr does not exist" solve?This path off course does exist, but the initial user has no permission...

There is a common misconception, especially for people who are familiar with mythtv, about how to run mythtv-setup in LinuxMCE.  I got stock on this for a long time.

In LinuxMCE mythtv-setup should always be run from the 'Computing' menu in orbiter.

If you do this it will run with the proper permissions and some LinuxMCE script additions will deal with things like Restart_MythBackend automatically for you.  Your file permissions issue with /home/user_1/data/pvr should also be taken care of by running mythtv-setup from the computing menu as it will be running with proper permissions.

J.
« Last Edit: December 08, 2009, 05:16:25 am by phenigma »

phenigma

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1004
    • View Profile
Re: THANK YOU - 0810 beta2 - basic questions - configuring MythTV?
« Reply #2 on: December 08, 2009, 12:37:14 am »
On to LinuxMCE related stuff:
- After entering KDE - How can one properly get back to LinuxMCE Orbiter?

There is a package called lmce-activate-orbiter-plasmoid which you could install to add this functionality, it is not installed by default.

Code: [Select]
apt-get install lmce-activate-orbiter-plasmoid

Then right-click on your kde desktop background and choose 'Add Widgets...' and choose 'Activate Orbiter' and it will add the plasmoid to your desktop.  Clicking the plasmoid should return you to the orbiter.  Works for me with UI2 on my core.  YMMV.

J.

Lexje

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 230
    • View Profile
Re: THANK YOU - 0810 beta2 - basic questions - configuring MythTV?
« Reply #3 on: December 08, 2009, 01:25:14 pm »
J,

First off thanks for clarifying - This sure HELPS A LOT.
1. Indeed, despite being a long time LMCE addict, I never knew about choosing myth-setup via the COMPUTING menu!
2. The lmce-activate-orbiter-plasmoid does it's job perfectly - So thanks for that too :-)

Is it only me - or is this lacking in documentation? (I did just check the wiki, but found no clear pointers)

Short update about HVR-4000:
Running mythtv-setup from the computing menu did indeed allow to access the adapter.
Channel scanning did not result in any channel - although manually "scan -f 1" does give me channels.

Can anybody point out 'other' ways of testing DVB-T (or other) to support solving TV watching?
up to know I have used:
- dvb-utils -> scan
- kaffeine (but this is only practical BEFORE LMCE is installed)

Is there a command to check or read out the HAUPPAUGE firmware verion?

In the mean time I have switched the HVR-4000 for the HVR-1110 and I can confirm that this works out of the box :-)

Thanks a lot!

Erwin

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5501
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: THANK YOU - 0810 beta2 - basic questions - configuring MythTV?
« Reply #4 on: December 08, 2009, 02:45:07 pm »
please DO NOT use the ACTIVATE ORBITER PLASMOID!
please DO NOT use the ACTIVATE ORBITER PLASMOID!
please DO NOT use the ACTIVATE ORBITER PLASMOID!

It attempts to get the same device ID as the Launch Manager, and will cause the Launch Manager to not reconnect.

please DO NOT use the ACTIVATE ORBITER PLASMOID!
please DO NOT use the ACTIVATE ORBITER PLASMOID!
please DO NOT use the ACTIVATE ORBITER PLASMOID!

I screwed this up, and I will write a replacement when I can.

-Thom

Lexje

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 230
    • View Profile
Re: THANK YOU - 0810 beta2 - basic questions - configuring MythTV?
« Reply #5 on: December 08, 2009, 02:46:39 pm »
Thom-

Thanks for posting;
Could you point out another way to switch back from KDE to LinuxMCE Orbiter as an alternative?

-Erwin

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5501
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: THANK YOU - 0810 beta2 - basic questions - configuring MythTV?
« Reply #6 on: December 08, 2009, 04:38:17 pm »
go to the web admin, advanced > configuration > devices ... find and sekectyour on-screen orbiter for your media director.

click send command, select Activate PC Desktop,

set the value to 0, and press send.

-Thom

Lexje

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 230
    • View Profile
Re: THANK YOU - 0810 beta2 - basic questions - configuring MythTV?
« Reply #7 on: December 08, 2009, 05:23:54 pm »
Thom-

Thx for replying  ;)

-Erwin

phenigma

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1004
    • View Profile
Re: THANK YOU - 0810 beta2 - basic questions - configuring MythTV?
« Reply #8 on: December 08, 2009, 07:15:41 pm »
Thanks Thom, the plasmoid was the only way I knew how to return to orbiter short of a 'quick reload' from the webadmin

J.