Author Topic: eee box 202 8.10 beta2  (Read 4789 times)

phenigma

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 944
    • View Profile
Re: eee box 202 8.10 beta2
« Reply #15 on: December 04, 2009, 09:20:05 pm »
pedplar:  all lmce logs are located in /var/log/pluto/*  You may want to start with LaunchManager.log, you should be able to find which device is not starting.  It would also be a good idea to start another topic for the UI1 video blackout issue.  I will try to test this out this weekend sometime and see if I have the same issue.

_if_: Which issue?  UI2 not loading or UI1 video blackout during playback?

J.

_if_

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 239
    • View Profile
Re: eee box 202 8.10 beta2
« Reply #16 on: December 04, 2009, 09:29:33 pm »
the UI2 issue, I get the same error: CIFS VFS: Write2 ret -12, wrote 0

to add: last time i tried again and suddenly AVWizard came on. I tried to complete it, but in the middle of the process the screens turned black...

pedplar

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 89
    • View Profile
Re: eee box 202 8.10 beta2
« Reply #17 on: December 05, 2009, 01:59:25 am »
it doesn't matter which one.  With ui1 as long as you keep pressing the remote button every 10 or 15 mins its fine. useable.  ui2 is very unuseable

pedplar

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 89
    • View Profile
Re: eee box 202 8.10 beta2
« Reply #18 on: December 05, 2009, 08:28:32 am »
ui2 might have the same problem also.  I checked LaunchManager.log, thats all that showed up.  It still said some devices failed to load
Code: [Select]
05      12/05/09 2:03:42.674            void ClientSocket::Disconnect() on this socket: 0x9709a40 (m_Socket: 10) <0xb7794b90>
05      12/05/09 2:03:44.501            Requested respawning of new children devices <0xb7794b90>
05      12/05/09 2:03:45.268            Spawning new children devices - media <0xb7794b90>
05      12/05/09 2:03:47.142            Finished spawning new children devices - media <0xb7794b90>
05      12/05/09 2:03:47.169            Finished respawning of new children devices <0xb7794b90>

_if_

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 239
    • View Profile
Re: eee box 202 8.10 beta2
« Reply #19 on: December 06, 2009, 10:03:00 pm »
hey pedplar,
I don't know if you got it already working but I did so today(at least some kind of). UI2 is working for me at 800x600 with 65HZ (not 60 as default) . It's not perfect and I don't know if it's working for you as well, but it's at least something to work with...

greetz
IF

pedplar

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 89
    • View Profile
Re: eee box 202 8.10 beta2
« Reply #20 on: December 10, 2009, 12:22:00 am »
No still not working.  ui2 at all, and ui1 not really either

_if_

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 239
    • View Profile
Re: eee box 202 8.10 beta2
« Reply #21 on: December 10, 2009, 04:29:10 pm »
mine neather! it worked for some minutes with ui2 but after a reboot same problem as before... same shitty error message.

I believe here are a view EEE users, are we the only two guys who get this error?

Has anybody any idea where to start?

thanks
IF

pedplar

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 89
    • View Profile
Re: eee box 202 8.10 beta2
« Reply #22 on: December 10, 2009, 11:06:47 pm »
I was able to watch 1 movie with ui1.  mythtv will only play for a couple minutes before the screen grays out.

pedplar

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 89
    • View Profile
Re: eee box 202 8.10 beta2
« Reply #23 on: December 13, 2009, 07:06:46 pm »
Its working with ui2 so far.  I ran update and dist-upgrade to get the latest updates.  Looks like most if not all were kde updates from ubuntu rrepos, I figured I would try ui2 again.  So far, its 30mins into a movie and its still working.

_if_

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 239
    • View Profile
Re: eee box 202 8.10 beta2
« Reply #24 on: December 20, 2009, 02:35:48 pm »
I now made a new clean netinstall (with all new updates) on the core, but still have no success getting the EEE box running as a MD. same CIVS errors again :-(

phenigma

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 944
    • View Profile
Re: eee box 202 8.10 beta2
« Reply #25 on: December 21, 2009, 03:25:06 pm »
I am having no problems with ui1.  There are issues with ui2 and 0810.  The intel drivers will need to be updated and that will likely happen when 1004 is released.

J

_if_

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 239
    • View Profile
Re: eee box 202 8.10 beta2
« Reply #26 on: December 21, 2009, 05:06:44 pm »
the intel drivers were working in 7.10, weren't they? so what's the difference now and aren't a punch of people have it working properly in 8.10 with ui2? (call for EEE users!)

pedplar

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 89
    • View Profile
Re: eee box 202 8.10 beta2
« Reply #27 on: December 22, 2009, 04:58:08 am »
I had it working with ui2 with the latest updates and updated intel driver.  But the wife likes ui1 on it better.  I fixed the black screen issue I was having by updating the bios to the latest version. 

phenigma

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 944
    • View Profile
Re: eee box 202 8.10 beta2
« Reply #28 on: December 22, 2009, 01:50:43 pm »
Pedplar:  Which driver version did you use and from which source?  There's a trac ticket open for this issue that I'd like to update if there is a working scenario.

I also have updated the B202 bios and do not experience the UI1 black screen.

J.

pedplar

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 89
    • View Profile
Re: eee box 202 8.10 beta2
« Reply #29 on: December 22, 2009, 03:23:53 pm »
I followed this post http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=9149.0.  I also used a xorg.conf from my wife's laptop to check if it was just the eee box or intel.