Author Topic: Which NIC is best for me?  (Read 2942 times)

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1402
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Which NIC is best for me?
« on: November 30, 2009, 06:34:28 pm »
Hi guys, am looking for some advice please.

I've just acquired an old desktop which I intend to use as a MD in my workshop, but there is no on-board Ethernet port.

I'm looking for a gigabit NIC that will work out of the box with 710/810 to allow me to do a netboot - does anybody have any suggestions?

The PC is an AMD Athlon 2400+, so I was wondering if it could even handle a gigabit NIC? Is it necessary for a machine as old as this, or will a bog-standard NIC do the job just as well?

Cheers for any help.
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

gonesurfing

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 61
    • View Profile
Re: Which NIC is best for me?
« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2009, 05:57:06 am »
hi
i have used a gigabit pci card from www.repotec.com without the pxe chip ! and used rom-o-matic on a cd,its worked for me on a dell gx280 running 810b
steve

tkmedia

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 937
    • View Profile
    • LMCECompatible
Re: Which NIC is best for me?
« Reply #2 on: December 01, 2009, 06:22:04 am »
Quote
I'm looking for a gigabit NIC that will work out of the box with 710/810 to allow me to do a netboot - does anybody have any suggestions?


http://lmcecompatible.com/store/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=7&products_id=16


Tim
My Setup http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Tkmedia

For LinuxMce compatible  systems and accessories
http://lmcecompatible.com/

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1402
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: Which NIC is best for me?
« Reply #3 on: December 01, 2009, 09:14:15 am »
Thanks to you both, very helpful. I have an old non-gigabit NIC lying around without a PXE chip, didn't even give it a thought. Failing that, I'll splash out for a new one.

Thanks again guys.
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

Techstyle

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 674
    • View Profile
    • Techstyle UK Ltd.
Re: Which NIC is best for me?
« Reply #4 on: December 02, 2009, 01:57:58 am »
I just bought a couple of these:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16833180026

$7.99 for a Gigabit network card can't go wrong, No PXE boot ROM but I used rom-o-matic.

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1402
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: Which NIC is best for me?
« Reply #5 on: December 02, 2009, 02:42:37 pm »
Thanks. I finally got it working with an old non-gigabit card that I had laying around. Am still left wondering whether the machine would perform any better with a gigabit NIC instead (although I would have to buy this).

Am I right in saying that the only way to make this rom-o-matic thing work is to use either a CD or a floppy disk? Or is there another clever way of doing it that I am missing out on?
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1402
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: Which NIC is best for me?
« Reply #6 on: December 03, 2009, 02:36:20 pm »
Quote
I'm looking for a gigabit NIC that will work out of the box with 710/810 to allow me to do a netboot - does anybody have any suggestions?


http://lmcecompatible.com/store/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=7&products_id=16


Tim

Tim,

Just to confirm, does this card have a PXE ROM chip on it?

Cheers.
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

tkmedia

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 937
    • View Profile
    • LMCECompatible
Re: Which NIC is best for me?
« Reply #7 on: December 03, 2009, 05:29:56 pm »
Quote
Just to confirm, does this card have a PXE ROM chip on it?

Yes .... I will add this to the description on the web site.
Advanced Configuration and Power Interface (ACPI), Wake on LAN* (WoL), Preboot Execution Environment (PXE)     




Tim
My Setup http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Tkmedia

For LinuxMce compatible  systems and accessories
http://lmcecompatible.com/

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1402
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: Which NIC is best for me?
« Reply #8 on: December 04, 2009, 10:16:50 am »
Nice, cheers.
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps