Author Topic: Comcast QAM and Guide data new Wiki item  (Read 2978 times)

tkmedia

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 937
    • View Profile
    • LMCECompatible
Comcast QAM and Guide data new Wiki item
« on: November 30, 2009, 06:08:41 am »
Since getting guide data for QAM is such a PITA
this should help
http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Silicondust_HDHomeRun#Comcast_Qam




Tim
« Last Edit: December 06, 2009, 07:28:30 pm by tkmedia »
My Setup http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Tkmedia

For LinuxMce compatible  systems and accessories
http://lmcecompatible.com/

skeptic

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 615
    • View Profile
Re: Comcast QAM an Guide data new Wiki item
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2009, 04:36:04 pm »
This thread caught my attention as I have HDHR, Comcast, and yesterday I had to re-scan all my channels using the delete existing channels option as several channels would not lock. 

Can you give a little more detail on what exactly following that wiki does?  Is this a process that will need repeated as Comcast moves stuff around in the future?  Is it just updating any unknown channels in the database or actually updating the scanning code so future mythtv-setup channel scans will identify more?

skeptic

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 615
    • View Profile
Re: Comcast QAM an Guide data new Wiki item
« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2009, 05:38:19 pm »
Trudging forward I ran into a couple issues:

The wiki doesn't say how to make scte65scan.  I checked the INSTALL/README files and you need to do make -f Makefile.hdhr (the file you have us edit).  Easy enough, but you might want to put that in the wiki.

Under the final download and compile block you have libtext-csv-perl and and the comcast_update link.  One is an apt-get, the other is just a script - no compiling.

I was unable to apt-get install libtext-csv-perl.  A bit of digging showed it's trying to pull a version that isn't there.  I was able to wget and dpkg -i a slightly newer version, but I'm not sure why apt-get doesn't have the correct version, even after apt-get update.

However, the issue stopping me is running comcast_update --configure:
# comcast_update --configure
Config File /root/.comcast_update/comcast_update.conf not found. Running  --configure.Where should I save the configuration file [/root/.comcast_update/comcast_update.conf] ?
Attempting to connect to mythtv database...
Enumerating video sources...
DBD::mysql::st execute failed: No database selected at /usr/local/bin/comcast_update line 485, <STDIN> line 1.
DBD::mysql::st execute failed: No database selected at /usr/local/bin/comcast_update line 485, <STDIN> line 1.


I'll keep digging to see what is going on, but hopefully this will help others and maybe someone can help me get comcast_update running.

skeptic

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 615
    • View Profile
Re: Comcast QAM an Guide data new Wiki item
« Reply #3 on: November 30, 2009, 06:23:58 pm »
making progress - I had to edit comcast_update and put my actual database password in.  Also needed to run "tv_grab_na_dd --configure" separately.  Now I'm just working through the menus, following directions, etc.

tkmedia

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 937
    • View Profile
    • LMCECompatible
Re: Comcast QAM an Guide data new Wiki item
« Reply #4 on: November 30, 2009, 09:56:25 pm »
I know there are holes in the docs I just got it working over the weekend and the wiki entry is a scratch board for now - Feel free to update the Wiki.

The intention is to eventually fold this in to the hdhomerun install.



Tim
My Setup http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Tkmedia

For LinuxMce compatible  systems and accessories
http://lmcecompatible.com/

skeptic

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 615
    • View Profile
Re: Comcast QAM an Guide data new Wiki item
« Reply #5 on: December 01, 2009, 01:13:14 am »
I know there are holes in the docs I just got it working over the weekend and the wiki entry is a scratch board for now - Feel free to update the Wiki.

The intention is to eventually fold this in to the hdhomerun install.



Tim

Didn't mean to say the wiki is lacking or incomplete, I was just posting what I was running into in case others have similar issues.

FWIW, I'm starting to think this will not work for me.  I can't find a vct_id, so maybe I'm in an area that isn't broadcasting this info yet.

tkmedia

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 937
    • View Profile
    • LMCECompatible
Re: Comcast QAM an Guide data new Wiki item
« Reply #6 on: December 01, 2009, 02:19:05 am »
With a little detective work you should be able to pick one of the vct_ID's from sctescan results.




Tim
My Setup http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Tkmedia

For LinuxMce compatible  systems and accessories
http://lmcecompatible.com/

skeptic

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 615
    • View Profile
Re: Comcast QAM an Guide data new Wiki item
« Reply #7 on: December 01, 2009, 05:56:54 am »
With a little detective work you should be able to pick one of the vct_ID's from sctescan results.

Tim
That's why I'm starting to think they are not broadcasting those here yet.  sctescan isn't showing any vct_id anywhere.  I've tried several different options and I'm getting the HDTV channels (-p option), but nothing for the other stuff.  I even pulled a STB out of the closet that I've never used (they said if we didn't take one they would charge us MORE per month???), got into diag mode, and looked through every screen.  No mention of vct anywhere.  Googling around I found a few posts stating that the comcast rollout of this is by area and it may be a while before all areas are included.

tkmedia

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 937
    • View Profile
    • LMCECompatible
Re: Comcast QAM an Guide data new Wiki item
« Reply #8 on: December 01, 2009, 06:17:48 am »
Try running

./scte65scan -H FFFFFFFF,0 -f 2 -p us-Cable-Standard-center-frequencies-QAM256





Tim
My Setup http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Tkmedia

For LinuxMce compatible  systems and accessories
http://lmcecompatible.com/

skeptic

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 615
    • View Profile
Re: Comcast QAM an Guide data new Wiki item
« Reply #9 on: December 01, 2009, 04:19:54 pm »
That's pretty much what I've ran, but I did it again.  No vct_id.  It's all good, it appears to be running correct.  Here is a thread that pretty much describes what I'm seeing:
http://www.gossamer-threads.com/lists/mythtv/users/386436

skeptic

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 615
    • View Profile
Re: Comcast QAM an Guide data new Wiki item
« Reply #10 on: December 01, 2009, 07:51:19 pm »
quick warning - if you see stuff like below, do not choose Y.  I took the message to mean remove duplicates and said Y to all of them.  When done, I lost every HDHR channel in the guide.  I'm re-scanning now, hopefully I will not need to go back and manually find the xmlid and enter them in one at a time (which I did in the past to get that info in the first place).

Extra:

SCTE or HDHR Info:
  GuideName:       FOX-HD
  GuideNumber:     13_2 
  Frequency:       645000000
  PhysicalChannel: 13       
  ProgramNumber:   655     
  Resolution:               
  xmltvid:                 

MythTV Database Info:
  channum:           
  xmltvid:           
  name:             

Should I delete this [y] ?

----------------------------------------

Rukus

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
    • View Profile
Re: Comcast QAM an Guide data new Wiki item
« Reply #11 on: December 05, 2009, 02:26:12 pm »
making progress - I had to edit comcast_update and put my actual database password in.  Also needed to run "tv_grab_na_dd --configure" separately.  Now I'm just working through the menus, following directions, etc.

Skeptic,

Besides adding your DB password and running tv_grab_na_dd --configure, was there anything else you needed to do in order to get the comcast_update script to run successfully?

Thanks,

Ernesto
Core/Generic Hybrid MD
Motherboard: ASUS M2N-SLI Deluxe AM2 NVIDIA nForce 570 SLI MCP ATX
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz Socket AM2 125W Dual-Core
GPU: GPU: XFX PVT84GUDF3 GeForce 8600 GTS 256MB 128-bit GDDR3

skeptic

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 615
    • View Profile
Re: Comcast QAM an Guide data new Wiki item
« Reply #12 on: December 05, 2009, 04:22:35 pm »
Pretty much just follow the onscreen instructions.  Make sure you can run scte65scan and find your vct_id, if you have one, first.  Are you running into a problem or just trying to prepare?

tkmedia

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 937
    • View Profile
    • LMCECompatible
Re: Comcast QAM an Guide data new Wiki item
« Reply #13 on: December 05, 2009, 05:22:39 pm »
Not sure why you had to put password in .... several of us have done it without.






Tim
My Setup http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Tkmedia

For LinuxMce compatible  systems and accessories
http://lmcecompatible.com/

skeptic

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 615
    • View Profile
Re: Comcast QAM an Guide data new Wiki item
« Reply #14 on: December 05, 2009, 06:14:02 pm »
Not sure why you had to put password in .... several of us have done it without.

Tim

710 or 810? I forget the details, but the place I hard coded the password was commented out with a comment about getting the login info from a configuration file.  Uncomment and put the actual login info in if it can't get it from the config file.  I looked and didn't even have that config file.  Tried it as root, linuxmce, and my user login.