Author Topic: 0810 - Mythtv AND Vdr?  (Read 1145 times)

Lexje

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 230
    • View Profile
0810 - Mythtv AND Vdr?
« on: November 25, 2009, 04:02:24 pm »
As I seem to continue running into problems getting myth working -
Is there any indication AGAINST installing BOTH Mythtv AND VDR?

Thanks for your help,

Erwin

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4411
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: 0810 - Mythtv AND Vdr?
« Reply #1 on: November 25, 2009, 04:03:16 pm »
As I seem to continue running into problems getting myth working -
Is there any indication AGAINST installing BOTH Mythtv AND VDR?

Thanks for your help,

Erwin

You can only have one or the other installed at any given time.

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

Lexje

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 230
    • View Profile
Re: 0810 - Mythtv AND Vdr?
« Reply #2 on: November 25, 2009, 04:04:30 pm »
Andrew, thanks, I'll consider a separate install on a separate partition.

Erwin

Lexje

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 230
    • View Profile
Mythtv / Vdr / Kaffeine - WHY ONLY ONE?
« Reply #3 on: November 29, 2009, 10:02:11 pm »
I've spent an extended amount of time lately trying to get my HVR-4000 going.
I mostly start off of a stock Kubuntu install.
Once dmesg shows the card is registered, and the firmware loaded, most easy testing (in my experience) is done with Kaffeine. Admittedly I have no experience with any other TV viewing prog apart from MythTV.

Can someone explain why you can't seem to have MORE than one program functioning with a specific TV-card?

I started this thread because I was considering trying VDR. (never used it yet)
Then I noticed, after successful testing with Kaffeine that after installing Myth, the TV section of Kaffeine had disappeared...

To my understanding, just like you can use several programs to say watch a DVD, why can't you have several to watch TV?
Hope this makes sense :-)

Erwin

merkur2k

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 513
    • View Profile
Re: 0810 - Mythtv AND Vdr?
« Reply #4 on: November 29, 2009, 11:45:20 pm »
the line of thinking at least as it applies to lmce is that you have a button on your remote labeled "tv" and that is the only way you invoke the tv application. obviously this can only call one program.

Lexje

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 230
    • View Profile
Re: 0810 - Mythtv AND Vdr?
« Reply #5 on: November 30, 2009, 08:30:34 am »
merkur2k,

Thanks for replying;
I follow your reasoniing, no problem. One could, if need be, off course think of TV1 -> calling X & TV2 -> calling Y.But that is not the issue.
I would just possibly install next to each other for testing and learning purposes.

What struck me though, referring to Kaffeine, is that once you install Kaffeine AFTER MythtTV, the TV section totally disappears from Kaffeine...
And as far as 'easy' testing is concerned, it would be rather easy to have Kaffeine co-function next to MythTV - Using it from within KDE of course, not from within LMCE.

Erwin

merkur2k

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 513
    • View Profile
Re: 0810 - Mythtv AND Vdr?
« Reply #6 on: November 30, 2009, 04:52:09 pm »
Well i dont think that specific issue is directly related to lmce, you might find better answers on a forum geared more towards kubuntu or kaffiene.

Lexje

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 230
    • View Profile
Re: 0810 - Mythtv AND Vdr?
« Reply #7 on: November 30, 2009, 04:54:20 pm »
True, but don't forget that the only goal is to get the HVR-4000 up & running in
LMCE :-)

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4411
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: 0810 - Mythtv AND Vdr?
« Reply #8 on: November 30, 2009, 05:29:38 pm »
What struck me though, referring to Kaffeine, is that once you install Kaffeine AFTER MythtTV, the TV section totally disappears from Kaffeine...
And as far as 'easy' testing is concerned, it would be rather easy to have Kaffeine co-function next to MythTV - Using it from within KDE of course, not from within LinuxMCE.

Erwin

Kaffeine cannot use the Tuners because MythTV's backend is started on bootup and it takes control of all of the DVB devices that you have configured as capture cards. Once Myth's backend is using the DVB cards no other app can use them until Myth's backend is stopped. This is the ways DVB resources are managed by the system.

All the best

Andrew

Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

Lexje

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 230
    • View Profile
Re: 0810 - Mythtv AND Vdr?
« Reply #9 on: November 30, 2009, 07:10:56 pm »
Andrew, thanks for clarifying.
Once you put it this way, it's obvious.

Erwin