Author Topic: 0810 and Hauppauge HVR-4000  (Read 3844 times)

Lexje

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 230
    • View Profile
0810 and Hauppauge HVR-4000
« on: November 15, 2009, 06:27:02 pm »
First off a big thank you and thumbs-up for all the diehards that have made this possible!!

I'm looking for some help to get my Hauppauge HVR-4000 working with MythTV.
I've tried following http://www.linuxtv.org/wiki/index.php/Hauppauge_WinTV-HVR-4000
I believe the firmware is copied to the right location according this wiki page (Firmware v1.20.79.0).

Here's some information:
Mobo Asus m3n78-em
Installed Kubuntu 8.10 from stock 8.10 DVD and ran through LMCE setup via web.
Entered my name (erwin) as first user during install.

Now I know pluto-admin adds users as pluto_erwin, so I have now 2 users.
I've added both to the mythtv group, but keep receiving errors not belonging to the mythtv group when trying to run mythtv-setup.

How can I correct this?
How can I rerun myth-setup and have it recognize the Hauppauge card?
Currently when I try to run myth-setup it complains about "No UPnp backends found"
Also I notice that there is a change after installing the firmware:
- initially mythtv presented it selves using the familiar 'grey' theme
- after the firmware install, myth presents it selves using a 'blue' theme, and the menu is not the same at all...

What am I missing?
Any help much appreciated!

Erwin

Lexje

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 230
    • View Profile
Re: 0810 and Hauppauge HVR-4000
« Reply #1 on: November 17, 2009, 12:01:59 am »
A couple of steps further - for those interesting & following -
Managed to get the HVR-4000 (dvb-t part) running with Kaffeine as a test.
This was after installing 4vl driver and firmware.

Am now stuck at configuring mythtv.
Don't know how / where to configure / distinguish the correct frontend....

Any suggestions?

Thx,

Erwin

fastie81

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 136
  • SSDD
    • View Profile
Re: 0810 and Hauppauge HVR-4000
« Reply #2 on: November 17, 2009, 12:24:13 am »
Hey

You will need to go into your myth backend and setup you card from there..
Chris

Lexje

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 230
    • View Profile
Re: 0810 and Hauppauge HVR-4000
« Reply #3 on: November 17, 2009, 01:13:38 am »
Chris, thx for replying.
Do you own a HVR-4000 card?

Erwin

fastie81

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 136
  • SSDD
    • View Profile
Re: 0810 and Hauppauge HVR-4000
« Reply #4 on: November 17, 2009, 01:48:34 am »
No but I do have the HVR-3000 Almost the same card if I can remember..

Lexje

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 230
    • View Profile
Re: 0810, MythTV, Hauppauge HVR-4000 and "multiple frontends"
« Reply #5 on: November 17, 2009, 10:32:41 am »
Chris,

First off I need to specify that I'm trying to get this card setup for dvb-t. (satellite later, don't have one yet :-) ) Do you use the HVR-3000 with dvb-t too?
With the HVR-4000 there seem to have multiple frontends. (I don't personally really grasp what this really is at the moment... confused about adapterN, frontendN and demuxN)
Does your HVR-3000 have multiple frontends too? I guess it should as the HVR-3000 is a tri-mode card, whereas the HVR-4000 is a quad-mode card.
I have the HVR-4000 working with Kaffeine. There it shows dvb:0 and dvb:1.
One way or the other Kaffeine handles this cleanly. One can scan both for 'channels'.
If I try to use dvb-scan I am unable to get the same results.
It seems a scan can be directed like this:
(snippet)
Code: [Select]
usage: scan [options...] [-c | initial-tuning-data-file]
        atsc/dvbscan doesn't do frequency scans, hence it needs initial
        tuning data for at least one transponder/channel.
        -c      scan on currently tuned transponder only
        -v      verbose (repeat for more)
        -q      quiet (repeat for less)
        -a N    use DVB /dev/dvb/adapterN/
        -f N    use DVB /dev/dvb/adapter?/frontendN
        -d N    use DVB /dev/dvb/adapter?/demuxN

Allthough verbose messages show improvement, I'm not able to use dvb-scan to pipe to a channels.conf file.

More impotantly though, in mythtv-setup, in "Capture Card Setup" I should be able to select the DVB Card Number... (adapterN, frontendN see above).
If you get this right, instead of Disecq you get a scan button.
I have managed to get this far. When I scan for channels here, you can see the card is indeed being scanned, but apart from that it does not seem to 'store' channel information somewhere.

I have read http://www.linuxtv.org/wiki/index.php/Hauppauge_WinTV-HVR-4000 that Myth v0.21 does not know about multiple frontends (yet)
I have applied the solution with the symbolic links to create an additional device. Have you done this too? If not, how did you select dvb-t in the card setup?
Could you possibly post some screenshots of your mythtv-setup?

At the moment I'm kind of stuck here. Not sure how to take it further from here..
It seems so odd I can use Kaffeine to watch TV but cannot get MythTV to do the same....

Tips? Leads? Greatly appreciated!
Thx,

Erwin
« Last Edit: November 17, 2009, 10:45:01 am by Lexje »

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4463
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: 0810 and Hauppauge HVR-4000
« Reply #6 on: November 18, 2009, 03:08:47 pm »
First off a big thank you and thumbs-up for all the diehards that have made this possible!!

I'm looking for some help to get my Hauppauge HVR-4000 working with MythTV.
I've tried following http://www.linuxtv.org/wiki/index.php/Hauppauge_WinTV-HVR-4000
I believe the firmware is copied to the right location according this wiki page (Firmware v1.20.79.0).

Here's some information:
Mobo Asus m3n78-em
Installed Kubuntu 8.10 from stock 8.10 DVD and ran through LinuxMCE setup via web.
Entered my name (erwin) as first user during install.

Now I know pluto-admin adds users as pluto_erwin, so I have now 2 users.
I've added both to the mythtv group, but keep receiving errors not belonging to the mythtv group when trying to run mythtv-setup.

How can I correct this?
How can I rerun myth-setup and have it recognize the Hauppauge card?
Currently when I try to run myth-setup it complains about "No UPnp backends found"
Also I notice that there is a change after installing the firmware:
- initially mythtv presented it selves using the familiar 'grey' theme
- after the firmware install, myth presents it selves using a 'blue' theme, and the menu is not the same at all...

What am I missing?
Any help much appreciated!

Erwin

The HVR-4000 is a very nice card...the only aspect of this card that is frustrating is that it does not have hardware MPEG encoding onboard if you plan on using the analog/capture side of the card.

All the best

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-7C

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

Lexje

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 230
    • View Profile
Re: 0810 and Hauppauge HVR-4000
« Reply #7 on: November 18, 2009, 03:20:42 pm »
Hi Andrew,

Thank you for answering;
To avoid misunderstandings:
From the Hauppauge site (uk)
Code: [Select]
Quad-mode TV tuner for your PC. Watch and record:

    * DVB-S2 hi-definition digital Satellite TV.
    * DVB-S digital Satellite TV.
    * Freeview digital Terrestrial TV.
    * Analogue PAL/SECAM TV.

I'm only interested in the top 3 modes, so no analogue TV.
At the mo, I would only be able to get DVB-T as I have no satellite installed yet. (coming soon...)

Do you have any experience in setting up the multiple frontend part within MythTV?

Thanks,

Erwin

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4463
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: 0810 and Hauppauge HVR-4000
« Reply #8 on: November 18, 2009, 04:12:45 pm »
Hi Andrew,

Thank you for answering;
To avoid misunderstandings:
From the Hauppauge site (uk)
Code: [Select]
Quad-mode TV tuner for your PC. Watch and record:

    * DVB-S2 hi-definition digital Satellite TV.
    * DVB-S digital Satellite TV.
    * Freeview digital Terrestrial TV.
    * Analogue PAL/SECAM TV.

I'm only interested in the top 3 modes, so no analogue TV.
At the mo, I would only be able to get DVB-T as I have no satellite installed yet. (coming soon...)

Do you have any experience in setting up the multiple frontend part within MythTV?

Thanks,

Erwin

We've used the HVR-4000 for DVB-T and DVB-S with both tuners working concurrently but not explored the multiple frontend aspects at all to allow for intermixing of DVB-S & DVB-T etc.

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-7C

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

Lexje

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 230
    • View Profile
Re: 0810 and Hauppauge HVR-4000
« Reply #9 on: November 18, 2009, 05:12:20 pm »
Andrew,

That's at least a lot more than I have achieved up to now.
I'm not familiar with MythTV at that level, but I assume there would also be config files.

Would it be possible for you to make these config files available as well as a snippet of dmesg with the registration part of the HVR-4000 card?
Either attached or mail or your choosing.
If and when I get my card properly configured, I can write a documenting wiki page.

Much obliged,

Erwin

fastie81

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 136
  • SSDD
    • View Profile
Re: 0810 and Hauppauge HVR-4000
« Reply #10 on: November 18, 2009, 10:19:36 pm »
Chris,

First off I need to specify that I'm trying to get this card setup for dvb-t. (satellite later, don't have one yet :-) ) Do you use the HVR-3000 with dvb-t too?
With the HVR-4000 there seem to have multiple frontends. (I don't personally really grasp what this really is at the moment... confused about adapterN, frontendN and demuxN)
Does your HVR-3000 have multiple frontends too? I guess it should as the HVR-3000 is a tri-mode card, whereas the HVR-4000 is a quad-mode card.
I have the HVR-4000 working with Kaffeine. There it shows dvb:0 and dvb:1.
One way or the other Kaffeine handles this cleanly. One can scan both for 'channels'.
If I try to use dvb-scan I am unable to get the same results.
It seems a scan can be directed like this:
(snippet)
Code: [Select]
usage: scan [options...] [-c | initial-tuning-data-file]
        atsc/dvbscan doesn't do frequency scans, hence it needs initial
        tuning data for at least one transponder/channel.
        -c      scan on currently tuned transponder only
        -v      verbose (repeat for more)
        -q      quiet (repeat for less)
        -a N    use DVB /dev/dvb/adapterN/
        -f N    use DVB /dev/dvb/adapter?/frontendN
        -d N    use DVB /dev/dvb/adapter?/demuxN

Allthough verbose messages show improvement, I'm not able to use dvb-scan to pipe to a channels.conf file.

More impotantly though, in mythtv-setup, in "Capture Card Setup" I should be able to select the DVB Card Number... (adapterN, frontendN see above).
If you get this right, instead of Disecq you get a scan button.
I have managed to get this far. When I scan for channels here, you can see the card is indeed being scanned, but apart from that it does not seem to 'store' channel information somewhere.

I have read http://www.linuxtv.org/wiki/index.php/Hauppauge_WinTV-HVR-4000 that Myth v0.21 does not know about multiple frontends (yet)
I have applied the solution with the symbolic links to create an additional device. Have you done this too? If not, how did you select dvb-t in the card setup?
Could you possibly post some screenshots of your mythtv-setup?

At the moment I'm kind of stuck here. Not sure how to take it further from here..
It seems so odd I can use Kaffeine to watch TV but cannot get MythTV to do the same....

Tips? Leads? Greatly appreciated!
Thx,

Erwin

Hi
Yes I am using the DVB-T option on my HVR-3000.
As you said Myth 0.21 is not really working with all the frontend's. This is what I had to do to get my card working.

Quote
Getting thing DVB-T working (device HVR-3000)
In kernel 2.6.28 the driver for dvb-t has been added.. but Mythtv does not work very nicley with it. So here is what I did to get it showing up in Mythtv
A few checks
    1. "ls /dev/dvb" this should show you one adapter0 if not then there is something wrong(Not cover here)
    2. now we need to create another adapter. so do the following in /dev/dvb "sudo mkdir adapter1" then we need to create simbol links.
        " mkdir /dev/dvb/adapter1
          " ln /dev/dvb/adapter0/demux1 /dev/dvb/adapter1/demux0
          " ln /dev/dvb/adapter0/frontend1 /dev/dvb/adapter1/frontend0
          " ln /dev/dvb/adapter0/net1 /dev/dvb/adapter1/net0
          " ln /dev/dvb/adapter0/dvr1 /dev/dvb/adapter1/dvr0
    3.  After this you should be able to select the device in Mythtv
    4. Now to make this perminant we need to create a file in /etc/init.d/ call it what you want.
    5. then copy point 2 in to it and cave it..
    6. Now we need to make it a executable with "chmod +x {FileName}"
    7. Now w need to tell rc to run the script when booting, use this "update-rc.d {filename} defaults"

Now after that I had to jump between dvb 0 and 1 to get the right one selected. After this I had a problem with my scan file as I am in NZ and the files in Myth is a bit old, but with you in the UK I don't think you will have a problem.
When I selected the right card in myth I managed to scan and find all my channels.
My biggest problem was to get my card to be recognised on the system but upgrading my kernel sorted that out for me.. just had to do the font-end trick to get the different front-ends working.

I am sorry I can't be more help on this..
At this stage I can give you screen shots as my core motherboard died so I am in the process of getting it back up.
When I get it up I will try to send you what I can.

BTW: I also could not get the dvb-scan command to work, so I put my effort in getting myth to scan it..

Let me know how you get on.
C

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4463
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: 0810 and Hauppauge HVR-4000
« Reply #11 on: November 18, 2009, 11:39:48 pm »
Andrew,

That's at least a lot more than I have achieved up to now.
I'm not familiar with MythTV at that level, but I assume there would also be config files.

Would it be possible for you to make these config files available as well as a snippet of dmesg with the registration part of the HVR-4000 card?
Either attached or mail or your choosing.
If and when I get my card properly configured, I can write a documenting wiki page.

Much obliged,

Erwin

Hi Erwin,

Myth does not use config files it stores all config data in the DB...we just built a current v4l and ran mythtv-setup and configured the HVR-4000

All the best

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-7C

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

Lexje

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 230
    • View Profile
Follow up on 0810 and Hauppauge HVR-4000
« Reply #12 on: November 25, 2009, 03:47:37 pm »
Okay Guys,

Short resumé:
- As far as necessary:
0810 beta over internet
mobo Asus M3N78-EM
2 nic's
HVR-4000 dvb card
LG 32LF2500 LCD to HDMI

- After a couple of trial installs, erased all partitions from hd and restarted from scratch
1. installed stock Kubuntu 0810
    created classical user = linuxmce :-)
2. installed firefox, unrar, mercurial, cvs, subversion, libncurses-dev
3. did hg clone liplianin, built the modules - REBOOT
4. dmesg now properly lists my Hauppauge HVR-4000 card
5. installed Kaffeine - did testing - scanning DVB-T channels successfull - watching DVB-T with Kaffeine SUCCESFULL
6. ran adept update of all packages
7. needed to go through the process of liplianin again - probably because of kernel upgrade
8. dvb-t still working
9. activated nvidia driver 180.11
10. put in place previous known to work xorg.conf
11. started LinuxMCE install over internet
12. after complete LinuxMCE install procedure lost xorg config and lost keyb settings [(be) would be nice if these could be maintainted by LinuxMCE install]
13. REBOOT
14. AVWIZARD procedure - resulting in wrong xorg.conf - had to take out the "virtual mode" line - Then all well with nvidia
15. Sarah came to the rescue
16. entered KDE
17. testing with more cups of Kaffeine
18. again all dvb card info gone :-(
19. reprocessed liplianin procedure
20. REBOOT - and dmesg reports HVR-4000 firmware back in place :-)
21. testing with more Kaffeine - NO TRACE OFF DVB or TV???
22. Sarah - THE WIZARDRESS - hopefully to the rescue
23. media -> installed mythtv
24. problem running mythtv-setup -> auto adding user to mythtv group FAILS
25. added user manually to mythtv group
26. mythtv-setup keeps complaining about user
27. mythtv-setup CANNOT connect to database???
28. dmesg still reports HVR-4000 present
24. no sign of TV CARD :-( in LMCE

Unfortunately I'm running out of inspiration.
I would really appreciate any help to straighten this out!

Thanks in advance!

Erwin
« Last Edit: November 25, 2009, 03:59:04 pm by Lexje »

Lexje

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 230
    • View Profile
Further to 0810 and Hauppauge HVR-4000
« Reply #13 on: November 26, 2009, 01:50:43 pm »
Okay, I understand this question can not easily be answered :-)
Lets take it a little further:
- I've setup an independent Kubuntu 0810 install to get this HVR-4000 straightened out first. So LMCE is NOT installed yet.
- as stated previously dmesg reports HVR-4000 properly recognized and firmware loaded

/dev/dvb/adapter0 lists as follows:
Code: [Select]
total 0
drwxr-xr-x  2 root root     200 2009-11-26 11:03 .
drwxr-xr-x  3 root root      60 2009-11-26 11:03 ..
crw-rw----+ 1 root video 212, 1 2009-11-26 11:03 demux0
crw-rw----+ 1 root video 212, 5 2009-11-26 11:03 demux1
crw-rw----+ 1 root video 212, 2 2009-11-26 11:03 dvr0
crw-rw----+ 1 root video 212, 6 2009-11-26 11:03 dvr1
crw-rw----+ 1 root video 212, 0 2009-11-26 11:03 frontend0
crw-rw----+ 1 root video 212, 4 2009-11-26 11:03 frontend1
crw-rw----+ 1 root video 212, 3 2009-11-26 11:03 net0
crw-rw----+ 1 root video 212, 7 2009-11-26 11:03 net1

Using scan from dvb-utils gives me this:
Code: [Select]
Klara continuo:506000000:INVERSION_AUTO:BANDWIDTH_8_MHZ:FEC_2_3:FEC_AUTO:QAM_64:TRANSMISSION_MODE_8K:GUARD_INTERVAL_1_32:HIERARCHY_NONE:0:4241:4240
MNM:506000000:INVERSION_AUTO:BANDWIDTH_8_MHZ:FEC_2_3:FEC_AUTO:QAM_64:TRANSMISSION_MODE_8K:GUARD_INTERVAL_1_32:HIERARCHY_NONE:0:4225:4224
Studio Brussel:506000000:INVERSION_AUTO:BANDWIDTH_8_MHZ:FEC_2_3:FEC_AUTO:QAM_64:TRANSMISSION_MODE_8K:GUARD_INTERVAL_1_32:HIERARCHY_NONE:0:4209:4208
Klara:506000000:INVERSION_AUTO:BANDWIDTH_8_MHZ:FEC_2_3:FEC_AUTO:QAM_64:TRANSMISSION_MODE_8K:GUARD_INTERVAL_1_32:HIERARCHY_NONE:0:4193:4192
Radio 1:506000000:INVERSION_AUTO:BANDWIDTH_8_MHZ:FEC_2_3:FEC_AUTO:QAM_64:TRANSMISSION_MODE_8K:GUARD_INTERVAL_1_32:HIERARCHY_NONE:0:4161:4160
Radio 2:506000000:INVERSION_AUTO:BANDWIDTH_8_MHZ:FEC_2_3:FEC_AUTO:QAM_64:TRANSMISSION_MODE_8K:GUARD_INTERVAL_1_32:HIERARCHY_NONE:0:4177:4176
EEN:506000000:INVERSION_AUTO:BANDWIDTH_8_MHZ:FEC_2_3:FEC_AUTO:QAM_64:TRANSMISSION_MODE_8K:GUARD_INTERVAL_1_32:HIERARCHY_NONE:4113:4114:4112
Canvas/Ketnet:506000000:INVERSION_AUTO:BANDWIDTH_8_MHZ:FEC_2_3:FEC_AUTO:QAM_64:TRANSMISSION_MODE_8K:GUARD_INTERVAL_1_32:HIERARCHY_NONE:4129:4130:4128
Canvas+/Ketnet+:506000000:INVERSION_AUTO:BANDWIDTH_8_MHZ:FEC_2_3:FEC_AUTO:QAM_64:TRANSMISSION_MODE_8K:GUARD_INTERVAL_1_32:HIERARCHY_NONE:4273:4274:4272
Sporza:506000000:INVERSION_AUTO:BANDWIDTH_8_MHZ:FEC_2_3:FEC_AUTO:QAM_64:TRANSMISSION_MODE_8K:GUARD_INTERVAL_1_32:HIERARCHY_NONE:0:4257:4256
Nieuws+:506000000:INVERSION_AUTO:BANDWIDTH_8_MHZ:FEC_2_3:FEC_AUTO:QAM_64:TRANSMISSION_MODE_8K:GUARD_INTERVAL_1_32:HIERARCHY_NONE:0:4289:4288
MNM hits:506000000:INVERSION_AUTO:BANDWIDTH_8_MHZ:FEC_2_3:FEC_AUTO:QAM_64:TRANSMISSION_MODE_8K:GUARD_INTERVAL_1_32:HIERARCHY_NONE:0:4305:4304
Klara continuo:482000000:INVERSION_AUTO:BANDWIDTH_8_MHZ:FEC_1_2:FEC_1_2:QAM_64:TRANSMISSION_MODE_8K:GUARD_INTERVAL_1_4:HIERARCHY_NONE:0:4241:4240
MNM:482000000:INVERSION_AUTO:BANDWIDTH_8_MHZ:FEC_1_2:FEC_1_2:QAM_64:TRANSMISSION_MODE_8K:GUARD_INTERVAL_1_4:HIERARCHY_NONE:0:4225:4224
Studio Brussel:482000000:INVERSION_AUTO:BANDWIDTH_8_MHZ:FEC_1_2:FEC_1_2:QAM_64:TRANSMISSION_MODE_8K:GUARD_INTERVAL_1_4:HIERARCHY_NONE:0:4209:4208
Klara:482000000:INVERSION_AUTO:BANDWIDTH_8_MHZ:FEC_1_2:FEC_1_2:QAM_64:TRANSMISSION_MODE_8K:GUARD_INTERVAL_1_4:HIERARCHY_NONE:0:4193:4192
Radio 1:482000000:INVERSION_AUTO:BANDWIDTH_8_MHZ:FEC_1_2:FEC_1_2:QAM_64:TRANSMISSION_MODE_8K:GUARD_INTERVAL_1_4:HIERARCHY_NONE:0:4161:4160
Radio 2:482000000:INVERSION_AUTO:BANDWIDTH_8_MHZ:FEC_1_2:FEC_1_2:QAM_64:TRANSMISSION_MODE_8K:GUARD_INTERVAL_1_4:HIERARCHY_NONE:0:4177:4176
EEN:482000000:INVERSION_AUTO:BANDWIDTH_8_MHZ:FEC_1_2:FEC_1_2:QAM_64:TRANSMISSION_MODE_8K:GUARD_INTERVAL_1_4:HIERARCHY_NONE:4113:4114:4112
Canvas/Ketnet:482000000:INVERSION_AUTO:BANDWIDTH_8_MHZ:FEC_1_2:FEC_1_2:QAM_64:TRANSMISSION_MODE_8K:GUARD_INTERVAL_1_4:HIERARCHY_NONE:4129:4130:4128
Canvas+/Ketnet+:482000000:INVERSION_AUTO:BANDWIDTH_8_MHZ:FEC_1_2:FEC_1_2:QAM_64:TRANSMISSION_MODE_8K:GUARD_INTERVAL_1_4:HIERARCHY_NONE:4273:4274:4272
Sporza:482000000:INVERSION_AUTO:BANDWIDTH_8_MHZ:FEC_1_2:FEC_1_2:QAM_64:TRANSMISSION_MODE_8K:GUARD_INTERVAL_1_4:HIERARCHY_NONE:0:4257:4256
Nieuws+:482000000:INVERSION_AUTO:BANDWIDTH_8_MHZ:FEC_1_2:FEC_1_2:QAM_64:TRANSMISSION_MODE_8K:GUARD_INTERVAL_1_4:HIERARCHY_NONE:0:4289:4288
MNM hits:482000000:INVERSION_AUTO:BANDWIDTH_8_MHZ:FEC_1_2:FEC_1_2:QAM_64:TRANSMISSION_MODE_8K:GUARD_INTERVAL_1_4:HIERARCHY_NONE:0:4305:4304

1. How do I configure mythtv-backend to properly recognize the HVR-4000?
This is what mythconverg database shows:
Code: [Select]
mysql> SELECT cardid, videodevice, cardtype, defaultinput, hostname FROM capturecard;
+--------+-------------+----------+--------------+-----------+
| cardid | videodevice | cardtype | defaultinput | hostname  |
+--------+-------------+----------+--------------+-----------+
|      4 | 1           | DVB      | DVBInput     | dcerouter |
|      3 | 1           | DVB      | DVBInput     | dcerouter |
+--------+-------------+----------+--------------+-----------+

2. How do I get the previous scanned channel information in mythconverg? (I've scanned this info to ~/.tzap/channels.conf


3. At the same time, I have LMCE installed on a separate partition (sda1)
HVR-4000 is properly recognized, firmware is in place. (dmesg)
In order to be able to use multiple frontends like dvb:1 in myth v0.21, the linuxtv.org wiki solves this by adding an /dev/dvb/adapter1 and link all secondary devices from /dev/adapter0 into this second adapter1.
However, these links don't survive a reboot (links created as sudo su though) - How can I make these stick?

I really do hope to get some pointers here, as I do feel I'm close to solving this, but not there quite yet...

Thanks a lot for helping out!

Erwin

fastie81

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 136
  • SSDD
    • View Profile
Re: 0810 and Hauppauge HVR-4000
« Reply #14 on: November 26, 2009, 08:51:05 pm »
Hi

You would need to put in that symbol links..
Then if you go into myth-backend you set it up as any other tv-card but on the DVB you will have 2 devices.. I would think it is 1 and not 0 but try both.
Then you need to setup you channel config and then after that you will point your channel config to your device and scan.
Just follow the steps in myth-backend. go from 1 to 4 I think.
don;t try to skip anything.
Hope this helps
Chris