Author Topic: LMCE 0810 resolution and adding orbiter problem.  (Read 1385 times)

pw44

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 653
    • View Profile
LMCE 0810 resolution and adding orbiter problem.
« on: November 11, 2009, 05:05:51 pm »
Hi,
as a newbie in LinuxMCE, some questions may sound trivial, but i'm not finding out how to solve them.
MOBO: Asus M3N78-VM with aditional SPDIF OUT/COA+OPT 4pin SPDIF (part #300290699535).
TV: Philips 37PFL7312 LCD HD Ready (using HDMI)
Orbiter: Nokia N95 8GB
Bluetooth dongle: Motorola
Amplifier: Yamaha DSP-A1 (using optical)

Intallation procedures:
SATA disks as AHCI (HD and DVD drive)
install Kubuntu 8.10
dist update + dist upgrade
AlsaUpgrade 1.0.21-4
Linux MCE 0810
All with a LG monitor.

After install:
audiovideowizard
video -> dvi/hdmi-1 720p 60 Hz -> had to scale down (- 4 times) to fit the arrows on screen
sound -> spdif optical -> plays "anlog", dolby and dts.
Install up to end.

After install:
HDMI lmce screen ok, but calling KDE, the size of the screen is 1280x720, but the window size is larger than my lcd screen.
Tryed to add the orbiter at admin website -> orbiters, but the JavaMO is not sent to the phone.
The kmix does not work (i.e, i can not rise or reduce the volume using the volume key of the keyboard, neither under kde or lmce, but before installing lmce, kmix was working and volume controled by the keyboad volume key).
Having a pixelview play tv pm 4900 card with it's remote control, added remote control pixelview play tv pro lirc and pixelview ir receiver at admin website. lirc was downloaded.
Playing a DVD, the initial analog sound (when in menu) does not play, but on audiovideowizard, it works. Selecting the audio DTS on DVD menu, it plays well.


Questions:
1) is there a way to rescale the KDE resolution so it fits the LCD screen?
2) how can i add the N95 orbiter and have the JavaMO being sent to it?
3) how can the pixelview remote be recognized by the system
4) how to have all the audio working?

Best regards,

Paulo


« Last Edit: December 12, 2010, 03:08:45 pm by pw44 »

Marper

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 183
    • View Profile
Re: LMCE 0810 resolution and adding orbiter problem.
« Reply #1 on: December 11, 2010, 11:04:57 pm »
Have you had any success with this ?  I know most are probably ignoring it due to the wiki containing some info about this, but I have the same problem and have not solved.

pw44

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 653
    • View Profile
Re: LMCE 0810 resolution and adding orbiter problem.
« Reply #2 on: December 12, 2010, 03:07:26 pm »
I did solve it doing:

For 1) is there a way to rescale the KDE resolution so it fits the LCD screen?
1 ) install kubuntu
2 ) update & upgrade kubuntu
3 ) download nvidia proprietary video drivers (the one i'm using is NVIDIA-Linux-x86-256.53.run)
4 ) install lmce
5 ) after reboot, enter single mode and install nvidia proprietary drivers
6 ) reboot and enter audio / video setup
7 ) under osb menu enter KDE
8 ) run nvidia setup (from the proprietary drivers)
9 ) search for overscan ruler
10 ) verify the overscan compensation
11 ) edit the /etc/pluto/X-PostStart.sh
     mine is:
Code: [Select]
#!/bin/bash
nvidia-settings -a "OverscanCompensation[DFP-0]=64"
nvidia-settings -a "SyncToVBlank=1"
nvidia-settings -a "XVideoTextureSyncToVBlank=1"
nvidia-settings -a "XVideoBlitterSyncToVBlank=1"
   where nvidia-settings -a "OverscanCompensation[DFP-0]=64" contains the correct compensation for my lcd tv.
12 ) reboot and see if it's working.

If you already have lmce installed, install the nvidia proprietary drivers and utilities.

For 2) how can i add the N95 orbiter and have the JavaMO being sent to it?
I gave up. Too slow. I'm using an IPAQ as mobile orbiter.

For 3) how can the pixelview remote be recognized by the system
I purchased a PVR-500 and sold my pixelview. pixelview is not recognized, i.e, useable by lmce.

4) how to have all the audio working?
Under kde, konsole, sudo su alsamixer (must be root) and unmute the channels (all).

« Last Edit: December 19, 2010, 11:11:33 am by pw44 »

Marper

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 183
    • View Profile
Re: LMCE 0810 resolution and adding orbiter problem.
« Reply #3 on: December 13, 2010, 07:50:48 am »
Thanks a mil for spelling out those steps, will try this week.

pw44

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 653
    • View Profile
Re: LMCE 0810 resolution and adding orbiter problem.
« Reply #4 on: December 13, 2010, 08:38:11 pm »
After you do, please tell me if it worked for you.