Author Topic: Switch an old valve amp on and off as required  (Read 627 times)

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1396
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Switch an old valve amp on and off as required
« on: January 27, 2012, 11:46:51 pm »
I was looking at some old valve amps with the aim of using them with LMCE. I was thinking use it with a z-wave plug adapter like this http://www.uk-automation.co.uk/products/Z-Wave-Appliance-plug-by-Everspring.html

My question, is what would be the best way to set up LMCE to turn it on and off? Obviously I want it to come on when it's needed (TV, audio, videos), but switch off after a period of time when not in use. Is this feasible?

Cheers,
Matt.
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5505
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Switch an old valve amp on and off as required
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2012, 06:40:48 am »
additional code would need to be added to the media plugin to handle "Power" pipes.

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1396
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: Switch an old valve amp on and off as required
« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2012, 10:04:35 am »
Ah. Bother. OK thanks.

Cheers,
Matt.
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3062
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: Switch an old valve amp on and off as required
« Reply #3 on: January 28, 2012, 12:30:52 pm »
<TSCHAK_IGNORE_THIS>
Another option would be a duct tape solution: Create a device template for the amp. Power On would execute a commandline messagesend to the Zwave device for power on, and power off in the device template would be the same for a commandline messagesend to the Zwave device for power off. Don't ask me about the ruby syntax in a GSD for commandline execution, but I am sure the wiki has something like that.
</TSCHAK_IGNORE_THIS>

JoakimL

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 149
    • View Profile
Re: Switch an old valve amp on and off as required
« Reply #4 on: January 28, 2012, 12:47:23 pm »
I've got a manual solution for my valve amp. I use a Tellstick controller, but the solution will work for any power controller.
Add a wall outlet device (#1897) and connect it to your power controller. Add any adresses/config needed and test that it works from the web admin.
Then add two scenarios - in my case it goes under Climate for unknown reasons - one for power on and one for power off. Regen orbiter and - viola, now there's two buttons on your orbiter to power on and off.

But posde's solution looks interesting, I'll investigate it.

/Joakim

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3062
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: Switch an old valve amp on and off as required
« Reply #5 on: January 28, 2012, 01:10:08 pm »
Just looked at the wiki. This might be helpful, and a bit less "duct tapey":

http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/How_to_add_your_own_GSD_device#Sending_an_event


purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1396
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: Switch an old valve amp on and off as required
« Reply #6 on: January 29, 2012, 04:02:13 pm »
Thanks chaps, some great ideas there.

Joakim, I was hoping I would at least be able to do it like that, so that's good to know.

I will look into the more automated solution (either/both the duct tape method and the proper method) in slower time (house move in a few weeks, still got two workshops to pack up!!)

Cheers,
Matt.
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps