Author Topic: Mythtv problems in 810 beta  (Read 1470 times)

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1396
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Mythtv problems in 810 beta
« on: November 03, 2009, 12:27:17 pm »
Hi all, hoping somebody will be able to help me out here - having trouble getting myth going. This is based on a clean 810 beta installation (I didn't use the installation DVD).

When running "mce-install.sh" I noticed the following error (not sure whether this has anything to do with my problem)....

Code: [Select]
Unpacking transcode-doc (from .../transcode-doc_2%3a1.0.2-0.8ubuntu10.1_all.deb) ...                                                                           
Can not write log, openpty() failed (/dev/pts not mounted?)                     
Setting up pluto-mythtv-player (2.0.0.44.09091422296) ...                       
ERROR 2002 (HY000): Can't connect to local MySQL server through socket '/var/run/mysqld/mysqld.sock' (2)                                                       
ERROR 2002 (HY000): Can't connect to local MySQL server through socket '/var/run/mysqld/mysqld.sock' (2)                                                       
WARNING: fake invoke-rc.d called                                               
Waiting 3 seconds so that myth backed is able to actually create the schema     
ERROR 2002 (HY000): Can't connect to local MySQL server through socket '/var/run/mysqld/mysqld.sock' (2)                                                       
ERROR 2002 (HY000): Can't connect to local MySQL server through socket '/var/run/mysqld/mysqld.sock' (2)                                                       
ERROR 2002 (HY000): Can't connect to local MySQL server through socket '/var/run/mysqld/mysqld.sock' (2)                                                       
ERROR 2002 (HY000): Can't connect to local MySQL server through socket '/var/run/mysqld/mysqld.sock' (2)                                                       
ERROR 2002 (HY000): Can't connect to local MySQL server through socket '/var/run/mysqld/mysqld.sock' (2)                                                       
ERROR 2002 (HY000): Can't connect to local MySQL server through socket '/var/run/mysqld/mysqld.sock' (2)                                                       
ERROR 2002 (HY000): Can't connect to local MySQL server through socket '/var/run/mysqld/mysqld.sock' (2)                                                       
ERROR 2002 (HY000): Can't connect to local MySQL server through socket '/var/run/mysqld/mysqld.sock' (2)                                                       
ERROR 2002 (HY000): Can't connect to local MySQL server through socket '/var/run/mysqld/mysqld.sock' (2)                                                       
ERROR 2002 (HY000): Can't connect to local MySQL server through socket '/var/run/mysqld/mysqld.sock' (2)                                                       
ERROR 2002 (HY000): Can't connect to local MySQL server through socket '/var/run/mysqld/mysqld.sock' (2)                                                       
ERROR 2002 (HY000): Can't connect to local MySQL server through socket '/var/run/mysqld/mysqld.sock' (2)                                                       
ERROR 2002 (HY000): Can't connect to local MySQL server through socket '/var/run/mysqld/mysqld.sock' (2)                                                       
ERROR 2002 (HY000): Can't connect to local MySQL server through socket '/var/run/mysqld/mysqld.sock' (2)                                                       
ERROR 2002 (HY000): Can't connect to local MySQL server through socket '/var/run/mysqld/mysqld.sock' (2)                                                       
ERROR 2002 (HY000): Can't connect to local MySQL server through socket '/var/run/mysqld/mysqld.sock' (2)                                                       
ERROR 2002 (HY000): Can't connect to local MySQL server through socket '/var/run/mysqld/mysqld.sock' (2)                                                       
ERROR 2002 (HY000): Can't connect to local MySQL server through socket '/var/run/mysqld/mysqld.sock' (2)                                                       
ERROR 2002 (HY000): Can't connect to local MySQL server through socket '/var/run/mysqld/mysqld.sock' (2)                                                       
ERROR 2002 (HY000): Can't connect to local MySQL server through socket '/var/run/mysqld/mysqld.sock' (2)                                                       
********                                                                       
There is an error in the mythtv backend setup. It looks like the database schema wasn't created properly                                                       
********               

I then installed the v4l2 modules supplied to me by Andrew and also added the latest firmware file for my Kworld 399s. I then went into the mythtv-backend setup through the "Computing" option in the onscreen orbiter, and proceeded to set up the tuners without any problems that I could see (they appeared to find all the channels).

Then, I quit the setup screen and went to a terminal in KDE desktop to run "mythfilldatabase"; the result was...

Code: [Select]
matt@dcerouter:~$ mythfilldatabase
2009-11-03 10:43:49.557 Using runtime prefix = /usr
2009-11-03 10:43:49.558 Unable to read configuration file mysql.txt
2009-11-03 10:43:49.558 Empty LocalHostName.
2009-11-03 10:43:49.558 Using localhost value of dcerouter
2009-11-03 10:43:49.570 New DB connection, total: 1
2009-11-03 10:43:49.580 Unable to connect to database!
2009-11-03 10:43:49.580 Driver error was [1/1045]:
QMYSQL3: Unable to connect
Database error was:
Access denied for user 'mythtv'@'localhost' (using password: YES)

QSqlQuery::exec: database not open
QSqlQuery::exec: database not open
2009-11-03 10:43:49.631 DB Error (KickDatabase):
Query was:
SELECT NULL;
No error type from QSqlError?  Strange...

2009-11-03 10:43:50.510 UPnPautoconf() - Found one UPnP backend
2009-11-03 10:43:50.536 MythXMLClient::GetConnectionInfo Failed - (604) No Security Pin assigned. Run mythtv-setup to set one.
2009-11-03 10:43:50.536 Cannot login to database?

Cannot login to database?

Would you like to configure the database connection now? [yes]

I've tried answering all the questions, but it just keeps going round and round in a loop.

Needless to say, TV doesn't work. I click "TV" on the orbiter, I see the myth screen for a moment as it loads, and then it dumps me back at the orbiter.

Any help would be very much appreciated!
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

bundie

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 55
    • View Profile
Re: Mythtv problems in 810 beta
« Reply #1 on: November 03, 2009, 03:35:02 pm »
Hi Purps,

On your mythfilldatabase problem: I think you should try to run it as root...

Greets,
Reint.

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1396
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: Mythtv problems in 810 beta
« Reply #2 on: November 03, 2009, 04:38:58 pm »
Hi, thanks for the reply.

Sorry, I should have mentioned that I tried running "mythfilldatabase" as root - the result was...
Code: [Select]
matt@dcerouter:~$ sudo mythfilldatabase
[sudo] password for matt:             
2009-11-03 15:12:53.613 Using runtime prefix = /usr
2009-11-03 15:12:53.614 Empty LocalHostName.
2009-11-03 15:12:53.614 Using localhost value of dcerouter
2009-11-03 15:12:53.650 New DB connection, total: 1
2009-11-03 15:12:53.659 Connected to database 'mythconverg' at host: localhost
2009-11-03 15:12:53.660 Closing DB connection named 'DBManager0'
2009-11-03 15:12:53.661 Connected to database 'mythconverg' at host: localhost
2009-11-03 15:12:53.665 New DB connection, total: 2
2009-11-03 15:12:53.666 Connected to database 'mythconverg' at host: localhost
2009-11-03 15:12:53.708 Source 1 configured to use only the broadcasted guide data. Skipping.
2009-11-03 15:12:53.710 Data fetching complete.
2009-11-03 15:12:53.710 Adjusting program database end times.
2009-11-03 15:12:53.772     0 replacements made
2009-11-03 15:12:53.772 Marking generic episodes.
2009-11-03 15:12:53.785     Found 0
2009-11-03 15:12:53.785 Marking repeats.
2009-11-03 15:12:53.804     Found 0
2009-11-03 15:12:53.804 Unmarking new episode rebroadcast repeats.
2009-11-03 15:12:53.805     Found 0
2009-11-03 15:12:53.848 Marking episode first showings.
2009-11-03 15:12:54.450     Found 824
2009-11-03 15:12:54.450 Marking episode last showings.
2009-11-03 15:12:55.036     Found 824
2009-11-03 15:12:55.039
===============================================================
| Attempting to contact the master backend for rescheduling.  |
| If the master is not running, rescheduling will happen when |
| the master backend is restarted.                            |
===============================================================
2009-11-03 15:12:55.078 Connecting to backend server: 192.168.80.1:6543 (try 1 of 5)
2009-11-03 15:12:55.080 Using protocol version 40
2009-11-03 15:12:55.119 Received a remote 'Clear Cache' request
2009-11-03 15:12:55.121 mythfilldatabase run complete.
2009-11-03 15:12:55.121 DataDirect: Deleting temporary files

...which looks good, doesn't it?

Unfortunately, I still have the same problem which I click "TV" in the orbiter.

Could the problem be to do with the firmware for my Kworld 399s, or does the fact that I am able to find the tuners in mythtv-backed setup and find channels eliminate this possibility?

Would a DVD installation of LMCE sort out the problem, or would this not make any difference?
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1396
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: Mythtv problems in 810 beta
« Reply #3 on: November 03, 2009, 04:53:37 pm »
Could the problem be to do with the firmware for my Kworld 399s, or does the fact that I am able to find the tuners in mythtv-backed setup and find channels eliminate this possibility?

Forgot to mention (and answering my own question here) that I had it all working under VDR, so I'm guessing the firmware that I used must be fine? Please correct me if I am wrong.

Also, I tried a MD just to see what would happen, and when selecting TV from the onscreen orbiter, myth loaded as normal, and then it actually displayed channel information at the bottom of the screen in the myth OSD, before coming up with a myth error saying "Error was encountered whilst playing video".
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

phenigma

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1026
    • View Profile
Re: Mythtv problems in 810 beta
« Reply #4 on: November 03, 2009, 11:21:15 pm »
2009-11-03 15:12:53.708 Source 1 configured to use only the broadcasted guide data. Skipping.

Run mythtv-setup from the computing menu and make sure you have your source configured properly.  Mythfilldatabase doesn't think you have an external epg source defined.

J.

team_steeze

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: Mythtv problems in 810 beta
« Reply #5 on: November 04, 2009, 07:17:23 am »
I had a similar problem in that when I would click on the TV scenario, it would try to load and then dump me back to the orbiter after a bith without displaying any TV.  In my case it was due to the MythTV packages being loaded from both the Ubuntu and Avenard repositories after a fresh install.  To see if this is your issue, run:

Code: [Select]
apt-cache showpkg mythtv-frontend
If it returns two separate listings, one from Ubuntu and one from Avenard, then you have found your issue. 

Also, using this command, you can check to make sure that you have the correct version installed.  You want version 0.21 at least until a new version of pluto-mythtv-player comes out.  Check this on your core and your MD's and also check both the frontend and the backend:
Code: [Select]
apt-cache showpkg mythtv-backendAnd maybe libmyth too (don't remember if I needed to change this one...)
Code: [Select]
apt-cache showpkg libmyth-0.21-0
Next, simply remove all instances of MythTV packages:
Code: [Select]
apt-get remove --purge mythtv*
apt-get remove --purge pluto-mythtv*

And then reinstall:
Code: [Select]
apt-get install mythtv*
apt-get install pluto-mythtv*

Also, if libmyth was the wrong version, uninstall the libmyth-0.22-0 and install the libmyth-0.21.-0.  If your issue is that all of your MythTV packages are 0.22, then run the above steps after removing "testing" from your Avenard repo.

If this works for you, please add it to the wiki.  I was going to but it seemed like I was the only one having this issue...

-team_steeze

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1396
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: Mythtv problems in 810 beta
« Reply #6 on: November 04, 2009, 10:00:59 am »
Thanks for the reply.

Yes, it would appear that I have double entries for everything.

I managed to remove everything, although did have to use "apt-get autoremove" to get it all.

Unfortunately, now I can't reinstall any myth packages, getting the error...

Code: [Select]
Some packages could not be installed. This may mean that you have
requested an impossible situation or if you are using the unstable
distribution that some required packages have not yet been created
or been moved out of Incoming.

Since you only requested a single operation it is extremely likely that
the package is simply not installable and a bug report against
that package should be filed.
The following information may help to resolve the situation:

The following packages have unmet dependencies.
  pluto-src-mythtv-player: PreDepends: libmyth-0.20-dev but it is not installable
  pluto-src-mythtv-plugin: PreDepends: libstdc++5-3.3-dev but it is not installable
E: Broken packages

...and don't know how to proceed.

Have checked my sources.list - no sign of any avenard repos at all.
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1396
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: Mythtv problems in 810 beta
« Reply #7 on: November 04, 2009, 10:37:23 am »
I tried installing myth again, and it worked - not quite sure what happened there.

Anyway, checked the mythtv-backend setup, ran "mythfilldatabase"......

Same problem when I click on TV though  :(
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps