Author Topic: Anybody have a working MD in Beta?  (Read 1308 times)

samsung

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
Anybody have a working MD in Beta?
« on: October 23, 2009, 05:11:42 pm »
I'm getting the "failed to start x" message on an nvidia board that worked in 8.10 alpha.  Anybody have a MD up and going?  also, i have a M3N78-vm for core, I use a 180 nvidia driver, but when i updated to beta, the only driver that seems to work is the 190.  When i use the kubuntu desktop, everything stutters.  takes a few seconds between i/o input and response.   cheers

samsung

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
Re: Anybody have a working MD in Beta?
« Reply #1 on: October 23, 2009, 06:30:15 pm »
i would buy a new md, but i want to know if it's a beta problem first.

ivanp

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 94
    • View Profile
Re: Anybody have a working MD in Beta?
« Reply #2 on: October 23, 2009, 07:48:24 pm »
Default settings in Beta DVD is instalation that You have to manually creta diskless setup. Check more here:
http://wiki.linuxmce.com/index.php/LinuxMCE-0810_beta

samsung

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
Re: Anybody have a working MD in Beta?
« Reply #3 on: October 23, 2009, 08:09:17 pm »
Default settings in Beta DVD is instalation that You have to manually creta diskless setup. Check more here:
http://wiki.linuxmce.com/index.php/LinuxMCE-0810_beta
I'm aware of that and ran the /usr/pluto/bin/Diskless_CreateTBZ.sh scrpit which gets to the point where it tries to run the a/v wizard setup and "failed to setup x" shows up.  i assume you have a working md.  i'm first trying to figure out if its a problem with my system?

davegravy

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 518
    • View Profile
Re: Anybody have a working MD in Beta?
« Reply #4 on: October 23, 2009, 09:37:22 pm »
Open up the Xorg.0.log for the MD and search for "(EE)"

post any errors you find here.

qball4

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 78
    • View Profile
Re: Anybody have a working MD in Beta?
« Reply #5 on: October 23, 2009, 10:50:19 pm »
samsung,

If you've gotten that far, it's a good sign. What I have done is chroot into the MD's diskless directory, download the nvidia 185.18.36 driver, dkms remove the nvidia module, install the nvidia driver, then reboot the MD. That has gotten me to the AVWizard - hopefully it works for you.

:Matt

samsung

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
Re: Anybody have a working MD in Beta?
« Reply #6 on: October 23, 2009, 11:03:31 pm »
(II) config/hal: initialized
X.Org X Server 1.5.2
Release Date: 10 October 2008
X Protocol Version 11, Revision 0
Build Operating System: Linux 2.6.24-19-server i686 Ubuntu
Current Operating System: Linux moon49 2.6.27-15-generic #1 SMP Tue Oct 20 06:52:09 UTC 2009 i686
Build Date: 09 March 2009  10:48:54AM
xorg-server 2:1.5.2-2ubuntu3.1 (buildd@rothera.buildd)
   Before reporting problems, check http://wiki.x.org
   to make sure that you have the latest version.
Module Loader present
Markers: (--) probed, (**) from config file, (==) default setting,
   (++) from command line, (!!) notice, (II) informational,
   (WW) warning, (EE) error, (NI) not implemented, (??) unknown.
(==) Log file: "/var/log/Xorg.2.log", Time: Fri Oct 23 16:27:44 2009
(++) Using config file: "/etc/X11/xorg.conf.pluto.avwizard"
Parse error on line 54 of section Device in file /etc/X11/xorg.conf.pluto.avwizard
   This section must have an Identifier line.
(EE) Problem parsing the config file
(EE) Error parsing the config file

Fatal server error:
no screens found
(WW) xf86CloseConsole: KDSETMODE failed: Bad file descriptor
(WW) xf86CloseConsole: VT_GETMODE failed: Bad file descriptor
(WW) xf86OpenConsole: VT_GETSTATE failed: Bad file descriptor

samsung

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
Re: Anybody have a working MD in Beta?
« Reply #7 on: October 23, 2009, 11:05:51 pm »
my core is not behaving properly. i will attempt to install the 185 drivers on my core that were working for the alpha and let you guys know if that helps. thanks

team_steeze

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: Anybody have a working MD in Beta?
« Reply #8 on: October 23, 2009, 11:14:52 pm »
I had this problem with one of my MD's as well.  All I did to get past it was:
Code: [Select]
dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorgThis generates an Xorg.conf that should work enough to get the MD setup.  From there, I was able to get through the A/V wizard, select UI1.  Once that was all good, I got back to a terminal, installed the Nvidia drivers that I needed, and then ran:
Code: [Select]
nvidia-xconfigto generate a new Xorg.conf.
Re-run the A/V wizard and you're done!

You shouldn't need to update the drivers on your core to do any of this...

-c
« Last Edit: October 24, 2009, 12:20:24 pm by team_steeze »

samsung

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
Re: Anybody have a working MD in Beta?
« Reply #9 on: October 24, 2009, 07:06:15 am »
thanks, i did a download installation rather than the dvd install. everything seems to work thus far, thanks for taking the time to. help all of you.  ;D