Author Topic: Problem Ripping DVD  (Read 848 times)

Jay

  • Making baby steps
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Problem Ripping DVD
« on: October 08, 2009, 11:39:46 pm »
Hello All,
I just installed a Linux MCE and have started playing around with it. Everything appears to be working such as watching DVD's however when I try to rip a DVD it goes to 4 - 7% the gives me a error regarding bad sectors or DVDCSS not being installed. I have confirmed DVDCSS is installed and tried multiple DVD's with no luck. Does anyone have a suggestion as to where im going wrong?

merkur2k

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 513
    • View Profile
Re: Problem Ripping DVD
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2009, 11:50:44 pm »
i experience this problem with some copy protected DVDs. they will play fine (after a lengthy initial read time) but will not rip.

Jay

  • Making baby steps
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Problem Ripping DVD
« Reply #2 on: October 09, 2009, 12:30:32 am »
Does that mean the I will not be able to rip protected DVD's?

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4457
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Problem Ripping DVD
« Reply #3 on: October 09, 2009, 12:38:35 am »
Does that mean the I will not be able to rip protected DVD's?

There will always be some discs that will not rip reliably...this fairly rare but it does happen. When a disc fails to rip for one of our customers we can either suggest they get one of the mainstream Windows DVD ripping apps. We also offer a service to customers where we do the ripping etc for them from their own DVD's.

All the best

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

Techstyle

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 674
    • View Profile
    • Techstyle UK Ltd.
Re: Problem Ripping DVD
« Reply #4 on: October 09, 2009, 03:50:19 am »
I had this problem with one of my DVD's and used DVDrip to rip it.  I added the software via adept to a MD then ripped it.   

merkur2k

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 513
    • View Profile
Re: Problem Ripping DVD
« Reply #5 on: October 09, 2009, 08:12:52 am »
and for the windows types, DVDFab Platinum has a free version that does a good job of ripping DVDs.

ladekribs

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 83
    • View Profile
Re: Problem Ripping DVD
« Reply #6 on: October 09, 2009, 11:56:54 am »
Hi,

can this be ARccOS protection?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ARccOS_Protection

BR Stefan