Author Topic: Using HDMI, Kubuntu fails at Loading kernal  (Read 1191 times)

Chadman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Using HDMI, Kubuntu fails at Loading kernal
« on: October 08, 2009, 05:09:26 am »
I downloaded the CDs 1 & 2 and Kubuntu.
Trying to install Kubuntu 7.10.

I can select "Start or install Kubuntu". It shows Loading Kernal progress bar completes, and then my tv shows "no input signal" :(

I so wanted to install MCE. :(

I thought it was a bad DVD so I downloaded the CD and Kubuntu and get the same results. :(

Help? :((( (sniffle sniffle)

AMD X250
Asus M3N78-VM
4 Gigs
Seagate 1.5tb
Nvidia 9400 (1 DVI, 1 VGA, and 1 HDMI port)
LG BlueRay Sata Rom/DVD burner

I'm hooked up to the HDMI port out to my TV

My Mobo does have it's own DIV and HDMI out as well.
« Last Edit: October 08, 2009, 05:19:05 am by Chadman »

tkmedia

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 937
    • View Profile
    • LMCECompatible
Re: Using HDMI, Kubuntu fails at Loading kernal
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2009, 05:34:29 am »
Please use http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/LinuxMCE-0810_alpha2

0710 will not work well with that hardware, without a lot of effort anyway




HTH



Tim
« Last Edit: October 08, 2009, 05:43:47 am by tkmedia »
My Setup http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Tkmedia

For LinuxMce compatible  systems and accessories
http://lmcecompatible.com/

Chadman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Using HDMI, Kubuntu fails at Loading kernal
« Reply #2 on: October 08, 2009, 06:45:24 am »
I'm not a complete linux noob, I've installed and tried several flavors over 10 or 20 years but I've always had to crawl back to Winderz because that's where my apps are.

So I have an AMD 64x2 but I need the 32 bit 386 version of Kubuntu anyways?

I best wait for the beta. :(

merkur2k

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 513
    • View Profile
Re: Using HDMI, Kubuntu fails at Loading kernal
« Reply #3 on: October 08, 2009, 08:57:34 am »
it most likely is switching to a different video output once X loads. hook a monitor up or use dvi for the initial install if you can.
and basically the performance advantage of using the 64bit version is so small that it cant even be measured, and it brings with it all sorts of small problems so its just not worth it.

Chadman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Using HDMI, Kubuntu fails at Loading kernal
« Reply #4 on: October 08, 2009, 10:36:16 am »
Yeah I thought of that also. It fails at the same spot. Maybe a 386 version of 710? I'll try that.

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4443
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Using HDMI, Kubuntu fails at Loading kernal
« Reply #5 on: October 08, 2009, 10:40:11 am »
Yeah I thought of that also. It fails at the same spot. Maybe a 386 version of 710? I'll try that.

We've tested that motherboard on our Dianemo builds (our current Dianemo builds are based on 0710 with many enhancements to the Kernel and other aspects) and my notes say that it worked without any major issues at all...so it is achievable for sure.

All the best

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

Chadman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Using HDMI, Kubuntu fails at Loading kernal
« Reply #6 on: October 08, 2009, 07:26:25 pm »
Trying kubuntu 710 386 halts at:

BusyBox v1.1.3 (Debian 1:1.1.3-5ubuntu7)
Built-in shell (ash)
Enter 'help' for a list of built in commands
(initramfs)_

It probably doesn't like my Blueray/DVD burner? I'm gonna try swapping it with this boxes DVD burner and see if that works.

I only intend to use this as a box for under my TV for media mostly. Maybe a little home automation later.
I wanna rip my DVD to my drive, play them, and use a TV tuner, and rip and play my music.
I don't intend it to work with any other TVs or computers (my house is small). What kind of server setup should I use?

colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
Re: Using HDMI, Kubuntu fails at Loading kernal
« Reply #7 on: October 08, 2009, 11:01:29 pm »
pull out the drive if you think that is an issue. yes use i386, and plug in a vga monitor for now - that should always be the base/default output minimum (or perhaps the DVI as merk suggested)

once you have kubuntu installed, you can then follow the instructions to get the latest nVidia drivers installed - that is the primary issue you are having with it. you can then configure it to use the HDMI out.

have you considered installing from the dvd? you will still need to install the nvidia drivers, but it will likely give you a head start...

but with any hardware issue you should probably try switching to the 0810 alpha as this is a much more up to date kernel, and then you won't be in a situation where you have to be careful about what updates you install (0710 has many dependencies on particular versions of kubuntu components so updating willy nilly is highly inadvisable, whereas 0810 you can just run the normal update system to get upstream bug fixes and new modules, etc)