Author Topic: Cisco 7940  (Read 3458 times)

brononius

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 378
  • Trying to keep it simple and centralized...
    • View Profile
    • OnIrIa - linuxMCE blog (runs on ... linuxmce server)
Cisco 7940
« on: September 24, 2009, 11:15:00 am »
Hey,

I'm trying to have a cisco phone 7940 working on LinuxMCE 710...

I follow this article as a guide line.
I think that the article is for an older release, possible?

For the MAC's, i tried to insert 00:15:13:00:00:00 till 00:15:14:00:00:00. After i apply, it change towards 151? Any suggestion what could go wrong?
Is it necessary to use the dhcp? Can't i fix the phone? If so, must i put in a tftp, cm...?


ps will i have problems when i try to use the 7970 template for a 7940?  :-[
Version: linuxMCE 1004 (v 2012-07-01)
Extra's: Cacti, webmin, phpmyadmin, joomla

Server: MSI MS-7519 / E7400 2,8GB / 4GB / SSD 60GB / Radeon HD4350 / RTL8111 - 3C905C-TX
Orbiters: HTC Desire Z, HP PocketPC, Samsung Galaxy S, iPAD, ASUS eeePAD
Automation: EIB technology, KNX IP ROUTER 750
Phones: Cisco 7940, Cisco 7960
Camera's: IPCAM02

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2421
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: Cisco 7940
« Reply #1 on: September 24, 2009, 11:26:35 am »
use the /usr/pluto/bin/convert_mac tool to convert the start/end mac addresss from the range to an integer value.

br, Hari
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5498
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Cisco 7940
« Reply #2 on: September 24, 2009, 12:20:22 pm »
You should make a new device template for the 7940, instead of making the 7970 template work. Just don't add the child orbiter device, as the 7940 can not be used as an orbiter.

-Thom

brononius

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 378
  • Trying to keep it simple and centralized...
    • View Profile
    • OnIrIa - linuxMCE blog (runs on ... linuxmce server)
Re: Cisco 7940
« Reply #3 on: September 24, 2009, 01:39:42 pm »
the 7940 can not be used as an orbiter.

Are you for real?  ???
Damned, and i've got about 7 of those phones. I want them to use as a multifunctional device (phone, intercom, inputter...). Can I confirm some buttons to do some basic stuf (like turning on lights, deactivate an alarm...

Is there somewhere a good guideline to setup a template for this typ of phone?

ps i'm a newbie with linuxmce, so didn't find the time (or nerves) to go through all setups/manuals...
Version: linuxMCE 1004 (v 2012-07-01)
Extra's: Cacti, webmin, phpmyadmin, joomla

Server: MSI MS-7519 / E7400 2,8GB / 4GB / SSD 60GB / Radeon HD4350 / RTL8111 - 3C905C-TX
Orbiters: HTC Desire Z, HP PocketPC, Samsung Galaxy S, iPAD, ASUS eeePAD
Automation: EIB technology, KNX IP ROUTER 750
Phones: Cisco 7940, Cisco 7960
Camera's: IPCAM02

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5498
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Cisco 7940
« Reply #4 on: September 24, 2009, 02:29:49 pm »
No, the 7940 can not currently be used as an orbiter. Only the 7970 has enough capabilities to do so.

Seriously? get rid of those phones, replace them with Phoenix Solo USB mics attached to media directors, and use the media director's built in phone.

-Thom

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2421
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: Cisco 7940
« Reply #5 on: September 24, 2009, 05:26:07 pm »
the 7940 has not the same capabilities as the 7970, you would need to adjust the proxy orbiter and do a new design variation. The resolution is smaller, no colors and no touchscreen.

best regards,
Hari
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5498
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Cisco 7940
« Reply #6 on: September 24, 2009, 05:29:53 pm »
it also can't accept graphics in png, so the proxy orbiter render would have to be processed via imagemagick into... gosh, I forget the format that the b/w phones use....

-Thom

dlewis

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 401
    • View Profile
Re: Cisco 7940
« Reply #7 on: September 24, 2009, 05:35:58 pm »
honestly, I would suggest just getting a 7970...

brononius

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 378
  • Trying to keep it simple and centralized...
    • View Profile
    • OnIrIa - linuxMCE blog (runs on ... linuxmce server)
Re: Cisco 7940
« Reply #8 on: October 05, 2009, 08:12:38 pm »

I first want to get some phones up and ready (that i can use as normal phones) before i decide to buy a 7970 (those things are expensive!)...

I'm almost there, I think...
The phone gets apperantly an ip and so from the server. The server asks me if i want to add the phone (so naturally i say yes)...
I do a 'quick reload' of the router and the phone.
The phone boots but gives me following errors:
   - File not found: XMLDefaul....
   - Registration rejected

Any idea what i've done wrong?
Version: linuxMCE 1004 (v 2012-07-01)
Extra's: Cacti, webmin, phpmyadmin, joomla

Server: MSI MS-7519 / E7400 2,8GB / 4GB / SSD 60GB / Radeon HD4350 / RTL8111 - 3C905C-TX
Orbiters: HTC Desire Z, HP PocketPC, Samsung Galaxy S, iPAD, ASUS eeePAD
Automation: EIB technology, KNX IP ROUTER 750
Phones: Cisco 7940, Cisco 7960
Camera's: IPCAM02

dlewis

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 401
    • View Profile
Re: Cisco 7940
« Reply #9 on: October 05, 2009, 08:18:02 pm »
can you print the exact error? You seem to have truncated it.

brononius

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 378
  • Trying to keep it simple and centralized...
    • View Profile
    • OnIrIa - linuxMCE blog (runs on ... linuxmce server)
Re: Cisco 7940
« Reply #10 on: October 06, 2009, 07:24:43 am »
The error is on the display on the phone. So more information than that i can't provide (i think).  :-\

   ...File not found: XMLDefaul...     (for a few seconds)
   ...Registration rejected...     (for maybe a minute, and then he reboots)


Version: linuxMCE 1004 (v 2012-07-01)
Extra's: Cacti, webmin, phpmyadmin, joomla

Server: MSI MS-7519 / E7400 2,8GB / 4GB / SSD 60GB / Radeon HD4350 / RTL8111 - 3C905C-TX
Orbiters: HTC Desire Z, HP PocketPC, Samsung Galaxy S, iPAD, ASUS eeePAD
Automation: EIB technology, KNX IP ROUTER 750
Phones: Cisco 7940, Cisco 7960
Camera's: IPCAM02

dlewis

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 401
    • View Profile
Re: Cisco 7940
« Reply #11 on: October 06, 2009, 03:01:45 pm »
It seems to be looking for the xmlDefault.CNF.XML and XMLDefault.cnf.xml files. They need to be in the tftpboot folders. See if you can find the correct files for that phone (or maybe you can use the 7970 files). Here are some links to help:

http://lists.digium.com/pipermail/asterisk-users/2003-September/013921.html
http://www.trixbox.org/forums/trixbox-forums/help/tftp-cisco-7940
http://www.velocityreviews.com/forums/t34667-changing-ip-phone-79x0-from-sccp-to-sip.html
http://puck.nether.net/pipermail/cisco-voip/2006-October/016005.html
« Last Edit: October 06, 2009, 03:13:42 pm by dlewis »

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5498
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Cisco 7940
« Reply #12 on: October 06, 2009, 03:03:09 pm »
Those scripts are generated by the configure_cisco7970.pl script. This needs to be adapted for the 7940.

-Thom

brononius

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 378
  • Trying to keep it simple and centralized...
    • View Profile
    • OnIrIa - linuxMCE blog (runs on ... linuxmce server)
Re: Cisco 7940
« Reply #13 on: October 06, 2009, 06:09:27 pm »
I've put a 7960 beside. Maybe it will be easier to get him working first...

I'm trying to get it up and running, but i'm really lost will all things that need to be done. :$
I've created a xmlDefault.CNF.XML, but still the message rejected.
I messed up a phone with putting him towards SIP (i think).

I'm reading around, and seeing a lot about SIP, skinny, SEP...
Can somebody tell me what's the best (read easiest) to make some phone calls under linuxcMCE?  :-\

Version: linuxMCE 1004 (v 2012-07-01)
Extra's: Cacti, webmin, phpmyadmin, joomla

Server: MSI MS-7519 / E7400 2,8GB / 4GB / SSD 60GB / Radeon HD4350 / RTL8111 - 3C905C-TX
Orbiters: HTC Desire Z, HP PocketPC, Samsung Galaxy S, iPAD, ASUS eeePAD
Automation: EIB technology, KNX IP ROUTER 750
Phones: Cisco 7940, Cisco 7960
Camera's: IPCAM02

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5498
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Cisco 7940
« Reply #14 on: October 06, 2009, 06:11:00 pm »
if you look at the device template for the 7960, you'll see that it's configured as a SIP phone, and therefore needs the SIP firmware.

The 7970 template uses the SCCP firmware. So pick the template that matches the firmware you have running, and base off of that.

-Thom