Author Topic: Cancel the Wizard?  (Read 1112 times)

brononius

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 379
  • Trying to keep it simple and centralized...
    • View Profile
    • OnIrIa - linuxMCE blog (runs on ... linuxmce server)
Cancel the Wizard?
« on: September 23, 2009, 10:51:43 am »
Hey,

Just tried to install LinuxMCE 7.10 on a 1HU server.

The installation started well, just a 'bug' when he tries to find the right BIOS drivers. But a few moments later, he tells me that the installation is finished. So i reboot then the machine, and the wizard starts.

In here, i select 1024 x 768 for my screen resolutions (works great) and no audio.
Then Sarah (?) comes to tell me congratulation. But since i don't have audio, i don't hear her...  :P
But then i tried to say next, and nothing happens. Cancel the wizard gives the same result. When i hit a bunch of keys, sometimes the 'admin window' of linux comes up. But later on, back in the wizard.
I tried to reboot it several times (2 times), but same result, back in the wizard.
Maybe an issue is that the buttons (next, cancel, repeat...) aren't on the right, but more in the middle. At first sight i want to see that the resolution isn't correctly lined up? So maybe i just push next to the buttons (i actually try that also)...


Any idea how i can bypass her? Sorry Sarah...

Since this machine will be used as a server somewhere in a cabinet, i don't need to have video/audio/... things on it. Or i'm a wrong?



Some things about the hardware:
- CPU: P IV 2,5
- Memory: 4GB
- Disks: 2x72GB SCSI RAID
- Audio: none
- Video: ATI Rage XL SVGA
Version: linuxMCE 1004 (v 2012-07-01)
Extra's: Cacti, webmin, phpmyadmin, joomla

Server: MSI MS-7519 / E7400 2,8GB / 4GB / SSD 60GB / Radeon HD4350 / RTL8111 - 3C905C-TX
Orbiters: HTC Desire Z, HP PocketPC, Samsung Galaxy S, iPAD, ASUS eeePAD
Automation: EIB technology, KNX IP ROUTER 750
Phones: Cisco 7940, Cisco 7960
Camera's: IPCAM02

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3046
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: Cancel the Wizard?
« Reply #1 on: September 23, 2009, 08:59:25 pm »
You NEED to have a sound card for 710 to work, do you have one?

brononius

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 379
  • Trying to keep it simple and centralized...
    • View Profile
    • OnIrIa - linuxMCE blog (runs on ... linuxmce server)
Re: Cancel the Wizard?
« Reply #2 on: September 24, 2009, 08:44:58 am »
no...  :-[

And the problem is that it's a 1HU server, so i don't have place to put in a pci card. The only pci slot is taken by a RAID controller...

Maybe an external usb audio-card? Could this work? :$
Version: linuxMCE 1004 (v 2012-07-01)
Extra's: Cacti, webmin, phpmyadmin, joomla

Server: MSI MS-7519 / E7400 2,8GB / 4GB / SSD 60GB / Radeon HD4350 / RTL8111 - 3C905C-TX
Orbiters: HTC Desire Z, HP PocketPC, Samsung Galaxy S, iPAD, ASUS eeePAD
Automation: EIB technology, KNX IP ROUTER 750
Phones: Cisco 7940, Cisco 7960
Camera's: IPCAM02

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3046
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: Cancel the Wizard?
« Reply #3 on: September 26, 2009, 10:01:49 pm »
Try an external USB card, but I would not put my hopes to high. First make sure that the USB sound adapter is compatible with the kernel 710 is running.

rwilson131

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
    • View Profile
Re: Cancel the Wizard?
« Reply #4 on: September 27, 2009, 12:58:51 am »
modprobe snd_dummy

I believe this is right. There is an old forum post about this with instructions on how to load at boot also, just search the forum

rwilson131

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
    • View Profile
Re: Cancel the Wizard?
« Reply #5 on: September 27, 2009, 03:07:47 am »
here was the forum post I was referring to:

http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=2265.0

also it is
Code: [Select]
modprobe snd-dummy
hyphen not underscore.

Rob