Author Topic: Video stunted during HD TV *SOLVED*  (Read 1913 times)

Boz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Video stunted during HD TV *SOLVED*
« on: September 16, 2009, 01:11:23 pm »
Hello everyone,

After watching the forums for a few months I finally got around to downloading and installing 810 alpha; after a few issues downloading python libraries (fixed by rebooting and re-running aptitude update), I've got the system installed and up and running.  Overall everything is looking great - all really impressive with the lights turning on and off!

My one issue relates to HD TV playback - SD channels playback smoothly, and HD encoded video stored on the harddrive plays fine too.  However, when I switch to HD TV channels the video is very slow and every 2 or 3 frames missing.  I'm not sure whether this has been covered before (apologies if covered in the forum already), but I've been running HD channels on my hardware for a year with just MythTV with no problems - is LinuxMCE really resource hungry?

I also tried this with UI2 with and without alphablending - no difference.  Like some others on the forum, I also have the problem with the video being scanned around 50-60pixels to the right (overscan?) - I'm running the system into my TV's PC input port and using VGA 1080p @ 60Hz, which didn't sound right when I installed, but displays ok apart from the video overscan.

Has anyone found this problem?

My set-up is:
 - AMD64 3200 processor with 2GB RAM
 - 2 x Winfast DTV 2000 H tuner cards
 - 320Gb hard-drive after fresh LinuxMCE install
 - Geforce 3200 video card (I think) outputing to a Bravia 40 inch.

Cheers,

Boz
« Last Edit: October 23, 2009, 02:08:10 pm by Boz »

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4660
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Video stunted during HD TV
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2009, 03:46:06 pm »
Hello everyone,

After watching the forums for a few months I finally got around to downloading and installing 810 alpha; after a few issues downloading python libraries (fixed by rebooting and re-running aptitude update), I've got the system installed and up and running.  Overall everything is looking great - all really impressive with the lights turning on and off!

My one issue relates to HD TV playback - SD channels playback smoothly, and HD encoded video stored on the harddrive plays fine too.  However, when I switch to HD TV channels the video is very slow and every 2 or 3 frames missing.  I'm not sure whether this has been covered before (apologies if covered in the forum already), but I've been running HD channels on my hardware for a year with just MythTV with no problems - is LinuxMCE really resource hungry?

I also tried this with UI2 with and without alphablending - no difference.  Like some others on the forum, I also have the problem with the video being scanned around 50-60pixels to the right (overscan?) - I'm running the system into my TV's PC input port and using VGA 1080p @ 60Hz, which didn't sound right when I installed, but displays ok apart from the video overscan.

Has anyone found this problem?

My set-up is:
 - AMD64 3200 processor with 2GB RAM
 - 2 x Winfast DTV 2000 H tuner cards
 - 320Gb hard-drive after fresh LinuxMCE install
 - Geforce 3200 video card (I think) outputing to a Bravia 40 inch.

Cheers,

Boz

Whats your nVidia Card? 3200 is not right... sounds like the off air HD content in H.264 is your problem.

Andrew
Andy Herron,
CHT Ltd

For Dianemo/LinuxMCE consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+inquiries@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get Dianemo-Rpi2 ARM Licenses http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=14026.0

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

merkur2k

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 513
    • View Profile
Re: Video stunted during HD TV
« Reply #2 on: September 16, 2009, 04:45:22 pm »
thats a pretty weak cpu when it comes to decoding most hd content as well.

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4660
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Video stunted during HD TV
« Reply #3 on: September 17, 2009, 10:20:08 am »
thats a pretty weak cpu when it comes to decoding most hd content as well.

Yep...agree it looks a little on the slow side.

Andrew
Andy Herron,
CHT Ltd

For Dianemo/LinuxMCE consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+inquiries@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get Dianemo-Rpi2 ARM Licenses http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=14026.0

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

Boz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Video stunted during HD TV *SOLVED*
« Reply #4 on: October 23, 2009, 02:11:03 pm »
Thank you both Andrew and merkur2k,

After a few weeks of procrastination, I swapped the mainboard and graphics card from my work box and am happy to say that the video problems have disappeared.  Video is perfectly smooth now - although I decided to stick with UI2 non-alphablending based on some of the problems other people appear to have had.  This is great, the software is up and running beautifully...and I've got my next 6 months of tinkering mapped out :)

Thanks again,

Boz.