Author Topic: Inst probs re Medion 7134 and symbol version probs  (Read 1049 times)

infoteksec

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
Inst probs re Medion 7134 and symbol version probs
« on: September 02, 2009, 07:14:57 am »
Hi

I'm trying to install LinuxMCE 7.10 DVD on my (aging) Medion MT6. The MT6 includes a Medion 7134 card (saa7134 chip) which I'd like to get working for video capture from my Sky+ box.

After a faltering start (I'm new to this) I found the following in DMESG:

--- snip snip snip

[ 57.170185] parport_pc 00:07: reported by Plug and Play ACPI
[ 57.170243] parport0: PC-style at 0x378 (0x77, irq 7, dma 3 [PCSPP,TRISTATE,COMPAT,ECP,DMA]
[ 57.233351] Linux video capture interface: v2.00
[ 57.610127] saa7130/34: v4l2 driver version 0.2.14 loaded
[ 57.610231] ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0000:02:02.0[A] -> GSI 18 (level, low) -> IRQ 18
[ 57.610243] saa7134[0]: found at 0000:02:02.0, rev: 1, irq: 18, latency: 32, mmio: 0xfb400000
[ 57.610251] saa7134[0]: subsystem: 16be:0003, board: Medion 7134 [card=12,autodetected]
[ 57.610265] saa7134[0]: board init: gpio is 0
[ 57.760946] saa7134[0]: i2c eeprom 00: be 16 03 00 08 20 1c 55 43 43 a9 1c 55 43 43 a9
[ 57.760966] saa7134[0]: i2c eeprom 10: ff ff ff ff 15 00 0e 01 0c c0 08 00 00 00 00 00
[ 57.760983] saa7134[0]: i2c eeprom 20: 00 00 00 e3 ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff
[ 57.761000] saa7134[0]: i2c eeprom 30: ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff
[ 57.761017] saa7134[0]: i2c eeprom 40: ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff
[ 57.761035] saa7134[0]: i2c eeprom 50: ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff
[ 57.761052] saa7134[0]: i2c eeprom 60: ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff
[ 57.761069] saa7134[0]: i2c eeprom 70: ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff
[ 57.776926] saa7134[0] Tuner type is 38
[ 57.848895] tuner 0-0043: chip found @ 0x86 (saa7134[0])
[ 57.848935] tda9887 0-0043: tda988[5/6/7] found @ 0x43 (tuner)
[ 57.864883] tuner 0-0060: All bytes are equal. It is not a TEA5767
[ 57.864890] tuner 0-0060: chip found @ 0xc0 (saa7134[0])
[ 57.864925] tuner 0-0060: type set to 38 (Philips PAL/SECAM multi (FM1216ME MK3))
[ 57.864931] tuner 0-0060: type set to 38 (Philips PAL/SECAM multi (FM1216ME MK3))
[ 57.888429] saa7134[0]: registered device video0 [v4l2]
[ 57.892356] saa7134[0]: registered device vbi0
[ 57.892386] saa7134[0]: registered device radio0
[ 58.037342] saa7134[0]/dvb: frontend initialization failed
[ 58.186234] saa7134_alsa: disagrees about version of symbol snd_ctl_add
[ 58.186239] saa7134_alsa: Unknown symbol snd_ctl_add
[ 58.186266] saa7134_alsa: disagrees about version of symbol snd_pcm_new
[ 58.186268] saa7134_alsa: Unknown symbol snd_pcm_new
[ 58.186328] saa7134_alsa: disagrees about version of symbol snd_card_register
[ 58.186330] saa7134_alsa: Unknown symbol snd_card_register
[ 58.186391] saa7134_alsa: disagrees about version of symbol snd_card_free
[ 58.186394] saa7134_alsa: Unknown symbol snd_card_free
[ 58.186447] saa7134_alsa: disagrees about version of symbol snd_pcm_stop
[ 58.186449] saa7134_alsa: Unknown symbol snd_pcm_stop
[ 58.186522] saa7134_alsa: disagrees about version of symbol snd_ctl_new1
[ 58.186525] saa7134_alsa: Unknown symbol snd_ctl_new1
[ 58.186666] saa7134_alsa: disagrees about version of symbol snd_card_new
[ 58.186669] saa7134_alsa: Unknown symbol snd_card_new
[ 58.186699] saa7134_alsa: disagrees about version of symbol snd_pcm_lib_ioctl
[ 58.186702] saa7134_alsa: Unknown symbol snd_pcm_lib_ioctl
[ 58.186760] saa7134_alsa: disagrees about version of symbol snd_pcm_set_ops
[ 58.186762] saa7134_alsa: Unknown symbol snd_pcm_set_ops
[ 58.186854] saa7134_alsa: disagrees about version of symbol snd_pcm_hw_constraint_integer
[ 58.186857] saa7134_alsa: Unknown symbol snd_pcm_hw_constraint_integer
[ 58.186985] saa7134_alsa: disagrees about version of symbol snd_pcm_period_elapsed
[ 58.186988] saa7134_alsa: Unknown symbol snd_pcm_period_elapsed

--- snip snip snip

I registered the card in MythTV but found that I couldn't get anywhere since MythTV kept claiming all inputs were allocated.

I REALLY need to get the video capture facility working since my dvd recorder unit recently broke so a pointer in the right direction would be appreciated.

Regards, Peter

merkur2k

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 513
    • View Profile
Re: Inst probs re Medion 7134 and symbol version probs
« Reply #1 on: September 02, 2009, 09:11:43 am »
unknown symbols indicates something that was compiled against a different kernel than what you are running. in this case it looks like the saa7134_alsa module, whatever that is from (ivtv or alsa?).
without knowing how you got to where you are now, i cant offer any suggestions.

infoteksec

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
Re: Inst probs re Medion 7134 and symbol version probs
« Reply #2 on: September 04, 2009, 08:44:16 pm »
Hmm ... lets see.

I installed the DVD version of 7.10

Didn't choose any AV stuff

Elected to have DVDcss and W32codexs so I could watch movies ... and

Looked a DMESG

Basically, Its broke straight out of the box.

Peter


jimbodude

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 372
    • View Profile
Re: Inst probs re Medion 7134 and symbol version probs
« Reply #3 on: September 04, 2009, 09:34:48 pm »
did you apt-get upgrade?  That will install a new kernel...

0810 is pretty stable in my experience.  Also there are a lot of new features and fixes.  Search the forum a bit for the links to it.

infoteksec

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
Re: Inst probs re Medion 7134 and symbol version probs
« Reply #4 on: September 05, 2009, 01:11:43 am »
Tried installing the new releease probably 5/6 times. Sometimes it takes 12 hours some 480 time to download some didlly-squat 140kb file.

I really have given up on it

I'll try apt-get upgrade and see how far I get.
 regards



infoteksec

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
Re: Inst probs re Medion 7134 and symbol version probs
« Reply #5 on: September 05, 2009, 01:26:19 am »


linuxmce@dcerouter:~$ sudo su
[sudo] password for linuxmce:
dcerouter_119238:/home/linuxmce# apt-get upgrade
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
dcerouter_119238:/home/linuxmce#

..... oh well.


Peter

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4426
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Inst probs re Medion 7134 and symbol version probs
« Reply #6 on: September 05, 2009, 10:49:36 am »
Tried installing the new releease probably 5/6 times. Sometimes it takes 12 hours some 480 time to download some didlly-squat 140kb file.

I really have given up on it

I'll try apt-get upgrade and see how far I get.
 regards




A direct upgrade from LinuxMCE-0710 is not possible. Follow the 0810 Alpha install instructions on the Wiki.

I do agree that the current installation process can be long and very frustrating but I have to say that we dont see the kinds of low speed connections you are seeing - and from your earlier post in this thread I assume that you are in the UK too. So the problem might be largely to do with your ISP... just a thought.

All the best


Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

infoteksec

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
Re: Inst probs re Medion 7134 and symbol version probs
« Reply #7 on: September 05, 2009, 01:11:52 pm »
Hi Andrew ... thanks for the response - Its nice to hear an english voice! I haven't been attempting a direct upgrade. Basically, all I did was downloaded and installed the DVD of 0710 and looked at the  dmegs entries for the saa7134 - what you see is  what I got.

My ISP isn't bad, as most of the files get downloaded pretty quickly - even the biguns. Then, all of a sudden, the download stalls trying to download a relatively small file of some 10kb or so - it seems the GET times out and another attempt is made sometimes 3-400 times. Eventually I reboot and have to start all over from the Kubuntu ISO.

Its like the file is locked on the server so the downloader just keeps trying.

Since downloading was such a trial, I thought I'd take backups through the download/upgrade process so I could save some time but as far as I can see, there are ephemeral variables established early in the download sequence, perhaps in pre-innnstall-from-repro that subsequent steps rely on.

My first attempt was to backup just before post-install.sh then reboot and complete the upgrade process. That failed spectacularly.

Peter