Author Topic: Can I start one of my own scripts using an orbiter ?  (Read 1407 times)

Viking

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 521
    • View Profile
Can I start one of my own scripts using an orbiter ?
« on: September 03, 2009, 03:18:41 pm »
Hi,

I was thinking about adding some small scripts I would like to start from the orbiter, but did not yet find any way of doing this. It could/should run on the server or on the orbiter. That does not matter.

It could be in the computing list, but  it seems that is for starting things you can "see" and wants to work with. I don't really see how I can add something like I want :
http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Adding_new_computing_apps

One thing I would like to test is changing the frequency from 50 to 60hz and back again - to see if that gives me any trouble. See also here why :
http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8646


BTW: how can I add additional Web URL's in the computing list ? Did not find anything in the wiki, except the link above.

Greetings
Viking

Kooma

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 102
    • View Profile
Re: Can I start one of my own scripts using an orbiter ?
« Reply #1 on: September 03, 2009, 04:09:21 pm »
This deals with adding new web links, hope it helps:
http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Adding_new_web_links

jimbodude

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 372
    • View Profile
Re: Can I start one of my own scripts using an orbiter ?
« Reply #2 on: September 03, 2009, 04:15:46 pm »
What exactly are you trying to do... What is the purpose of these scripts...

Viking

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 521
    • View Profile
Re: Can I start one of my own scripts using an orbiter ?
« Reply #3 on: September 03, 2009, 04:30:45 pm »
This deals with adding new web links, hope it helps:
http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Adding_new_web_links

Yes, thanks :)

Greetings
Viking

Viking

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 521
    • View Profile
Re: Can I start one of my own scripts using an orbiter ?
« Reply #4 on: September 03, 2009, 04:34:40 pm »
What exactly are you trying to do... What is the purpose of these scripts...

Not 100% sure yet. For starters I am going to try out changing the Frequency of the TV according to the video I am going to watch. Later on I hope that this somehow can be implemented in LinuxMCE...

Greetings
Viking

Viking

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 521
    • View Profile
Re: Can I start one of my own scripts using an orbiter ?
« Reply #5 on: September 10, 2009, 10:42:47 pm »
Hi,

another thing I would like to do is : restart the MythTV backend on the core.

reasons :
1. Sometimes it seems that if one shutdown the MD using the power button while LiveTV is on, then the LiveTV session on the core is not stopped and therefore a card is used for "nothing".
2. sometimes one of my TV cards seems to hang up and a restart of the backend helps.

Greetings
Viking

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3046
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: Can I start one of my own scripts using an orbiter ?
« Reply #6 on: September 11, 2009, 01:18:42 pm »
For starters I am going to try out changing the Frequency of the TV according to the video I am going to watch. Later on I hope that this somehow can be implemented in LinuxMCE...

You do know, that there already is a command for, don't you? Make sure you tag your video files correct, and LinuxMCE should automagically do the switching.

colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
Re: Can I start one of my own scripts using an orbiter ?
« Reply #7 on: September 11, 2009, 11:39:24 pm »
For starters I am going to try out changing the Frequency of the TV according to the video I am going to watch. Later on I hope that this somehow can be implemented in LinuxMCE...

You do know, that there already is a command for, don't you? Make sure you tag your video files correct, and LinuxMCE should automagically do the switching.

Possy - care to expand on this remark??! There is a DCE command? Is it implemented? How does the MD handle this.... as far as I know there is only one xorg.conf file and that is for a fixed refresh rate... where is the code that switches the xorg refresh rate.... in XinePlayer? Which meta tag does it trigger from?

In short, I think it would be wonderful if this functionality existed, however I have never seen it happen, and cannot see any evidence that it is anywhere or how it would work....

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3046
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: Can I start one of my own scripts using an orbiter ?
« Reply #8 on: September 13, 2009, 07:39:37 pm »
colinjones,

he was talking about changing things on the TV. There is a GSD command that can be implemented that can change for example 16:9 to 4:3 or stuff like that. There is currently no support for on-the-fly changing of the xorg.conf file.

Viking

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 521
    • View Profile
Re: Can I start one of my own scripts using an orbiter ?
« Reply #9 on: September 13, 2009, 09:21:56 pm »
For starters I am going to try out changing the Frequency of the TV according to the video I am going to watch. Later on I hope that this somehow can be implemented in LinuxMCE...

You do know, that there already is a command for, don't you? Make sure you tag your video files correct, and LinuxMCE should automagically do the switching.

Hi,

sound interesting :)

I was interested in changing frequency - like NTSC video should be played with 60hz (1080p@60hz) and PAL at 50hz (1080p@50hz).

How do I tag things so that LinuxMCE adjusts 16:9 / 4:3 ? There is no selection that I have found doing that !?
Or are the "Attributes:" in "Media Files Sync" considdered - like :
Format     Widescreen
Format     NTSC
...

I could then set "Format 4:3" ?

Greetings
Viking

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3046
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: Can I start one of my own scripts using an orbiter ?
« Reply #10 on: September 14, 2009, 08:07:27 am »
Format can be filled with what ever you like.

but I just grepped thru the sources. It seems, that even though we can store the commands needed to switch aspect ratios, this command is never used automatically. So yes, you do have that command available to send out, if you want (from the advanced IR screen), it is not something the system does automatically upon reading the current movies attributes.

Viking

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 521
    • View Profile
Re: Can I start one of my own scripts using an orbiter ?
« Reply #11 on: September 21, 2009, 04:38:48 pm »
Format can be filled with what ever you like.

but I just grepped thru the sources. It seems, that even though we can store the commands needed to switch aspect ratios, this command is never used automatically. So yes, you do have that command available to send out, if you want (from the advanced IR screen), it is not something the system does automatically upon reading the current movies attributes.

Could you enlighten me what that means.

Where do I find the "advanced IR screen" ?

And where can i programm the commands ?

Greetings
Viking

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3046
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: Can I start one of my own scripts using an orbiter ?
« Reply #12 on: September 21, 2009, 07:25:58 pm »
Where do I find the "advanced IR screen" ?

on the orbiter.

Quote
And where can i programm the commands ?

AV Properties in web admin

Viking

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 521
    • View Profile
Re: Can I start one of my own scripts using an orbiter ?
« Reply #13 on: September 21, 2009, 08:28:06 pm »
Thanks,

will take a look at it :)