Author Topic: New System Failing! Please help with network settings.  (Read 11046 times)

matt4914

• Regular Poster
    • View Profile
New System Failing! Please help with network settings.
« on: August 23, 2009, 09:46:12 pm »
Hi.

I'm new to LMCE and am struggling to get my system up and running.  The first couple of times I started my system (After several issues with an IDE controller--thanks to LinuxQuestions.com for helping me with that) everything worked fine except that I could not get online.  I only had one NIC in at that time.  I played with the Admin page and network settings to no avail.  I then tried putting in a WiFi PCI card I had lying around.  Now, every time I start up the system, it doesnt get past the Launch Manager.
Everything started as normal up to the Launch Manager. The messages got as far as "Please be patient. This may take a while..." after the message saying that startcoreservices.sh was starting, and that is where it stopped.
It also says

Connecting to router at 127.0.0.1
initialize_LMdevice: connect failed
initialize_LMdevice: not retrying
Connecting to router at 127.0.0.1

and so on.  The screen is locked beyond moving the mouse--I cant click anything.

Please help me!

--Matt

gadget

• Veteran
    • View Profile
Re: New System Failing! Please help with network settings.
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2009, 05:04:09 am »
You are not going to get any support if the Core doesn't meet the minimum requirement of 2 NIC's. Wireless does not meet that requirement.

gadget

simon_b

• Veteran
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 24, 2009, 07:33:43 am »
Buy the second NIC and you'll be fine - these few extra €/$ make a huge difference and A LOT easier setup, trust me!  ;)
ex Mythtv fan, the LinuxMCE newbie
----------
hoping for the best

Kooma

• Veteran
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: August 24, 2009, 07:38:05 pm »
Hi, what motherboard you're using?

matt4914

• Regular Poster
    • View Profile