Author Topic: N800 can't connect using LinuxMCE Orbiter software :-(  (Read 2655 times)

sq8ijk

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
N800 can't connect using LinuxMCE Orbiter software :-(
« on: October 22, 2009, 05:01:31 pm »
Hello,
I was trying to set up the N800 tablet without joy. The steps I was following are from:
http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Nokia_N800

I would like to know how to debug what's wrong:

 - I have downloaded the newest firmware and installed OS2008 - (Software Edition 2008 version 5.2008.43-7 for Nokia N800 / The latest IT OS DIABLO release for Nokia N800 )
   - the orbiter software for N800 was installed by clicking on: http://diapub.com/~michael/install/diablo.install
 - The LinuxMCE which I am using is based on 0810 - new-installer-alpha-latest.tar.gz from 2009-09-30
 - I did disable the firewall as I thought that this might be the issue, my system contains two cards, one wired and one wireless. The wired is connected to dhcp server and wireless is manually configured for different subnet.

I did setup the wifi to connect ad-hoc to the device as due to some wired bug I couldn't get the dhcp address from my router:
    ifconfig wlan0 down
    sudo iwconfig wlan0 mode ad-hoc
    sudo iwconfig wlan0 essid "testme"
    sudo ifconfig wlan0 up
    sudo ifconfig wlan0 192.168.80.1

I can ping the tablet:
 ping 192.168.80.129
 PING 192.168.80.129 (192.168.80.129) 56(84) bytes of data.
 64 bytes from 192.168.80.129: icmp_seq=1 ttl=255 time=18.9 ms
 64 bytes from 192.168.80.129: icmp_seq=2 ttl=255 time=13.0 ms

Also from the tablet I can open web-orbiter based on the webpage:
  http://192.168.80.1/lmce-admin/weborbiter.php

So when I am starting the LinuxMCE Orbiter pointing at the correct IP address and the Orbiter ID 76, which is the correct one, the symptoms are as in the wiki:
 "(If the Start Orbiter button stays "pushed" (i.e. blue) for only a few seconds then changes back to normal, then something has gone wrong. Check your network connection and verify the IP and Orbiter ID are correct.) "

I believe that everything is fine. Is this orbiter working with 0810? How to find out what might be wrong?






totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4660
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: N800 can't connect using LinuxMCE Orbiter software :-(
« Reply #1 on: October 22, 2009, 05:13:08 pm »
Hello,
I was trying to set up the N800 tablet without joy. The steps I was following are from:
http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Nokia_N800

I would like to know how to debug what's wrong:

 - I have downloaded the newest firmware and installed OS2008 - (Software Edition 2008 version 5.2008.43-7 for Nokia N800 / The latest IT OS DIABLO release for Nokia N800 )
   - the orbiter software for N800 was installed by clicking on: http://diapub.com/~michael/install/diablo.install
 - The LinuxMCE which I am using is based on 0810 - new-installer-alpha-latest.tar.gz from 2009-09-30
 - I did disable the firewall as I thought that this might be the issue, my system contains two cards, one wired and one wireless. The wired is connected to dhcp server and wireless is manually configured for different subnet.

I did setup the wifi to connect ad-hoc to the device as due to some wired bug I couldn't get the dhcp address from my router:
    ifconfig wlan0 down
    sudo iwconfig wlan0 mode ad-hoc
    sudo iwconfig wlan0 essid "testme"
    sudo ifconfig wlan0 up
    sudo ifconfig wlan0 192.168.80.1

I can ping the tablet:
 ping 192.168.80.129
 PING 192.168.80.129 (192.168.80.129) 56(84) bytes of data.
 64 bytes from 192.168.80.129: icmp_seq=1 ttl=255 time=18.9 ms
 64 bytes from 192.168.80.129: icmp_seq=2 ttl=255 time=13.0 ms

Also from the tablet I can open web-orbiter based on the webpage:
  http://192.168.80.1/lmce-admin/weborbiter.php

So when I am starting the LinuxMCE Orbiter pointing at the correct IP address and the Orbiter ID 76, which is the correct one, the symptoms are as in the wiki:
 "(If the Start Orbiter button stays "pushed" (i.e. blue) for only a few seconds then changes back to normal, then something has gone wrong. Check your network connection and verify the IP and Orbiter ID are correct.) "

I believe that everything is fine. Is this orbiter working with 0810? How to find out what might be wrong?


Add your wireless AP to the LAN side of your Core. Make sure that the internal DHCP for the AP is turned off (Your Core must provide DHCP to the LAN) and that the AP is on the same subnet to the Core.

Andrew
Andy Herron,
CHT Ltd

For Dianemo/LinuxMCE consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+inquiries@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get Dianemo-Rpi2 ARM Licenses http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=14026.0

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

sq8ijk

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: N800 can't connect using LinuxMCE Orbiter software :-(
« Reply #2 on: October 22, 2009, 05:38:57 pm »
Add your wireless AP to the LAN side of your Core. Make sure that the internal DHCP for the AP is turned off (Your Core must provide DHCP to the LAN) and that the AP is on the same subnet to the Core.

Andrew,
Thanks for fast response, so before I will start changing those things I would like to double confirm that EVEN if I can ping the core and browse the core using web-browser from my N800 those steps are STILL required.

sq8ijk

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: N800 can't connect using LinuxMCE Orbiter software :-( (SOLVED)
« Reply #3 on: October 22, 2009, 05:50:39 pm »
Add your wireless AP to the LAN side of your Core. Make sure that the internal DHCP for the AP is turned off (Your Core must provide DHCP to the LAN) and that the AP is on the same subnet to the Core.

Andrew,
Thanks for fast response, so before I will start changing those things I would like to double confirm that EVEN if I can ping the core and browse the core using web-browser from my N800 those steps are STILL required.

Ok I got it working in one subnet. It seems that the orbiter can't be in another subnet even if using different interface and those two devices can see each other.