Author Topic: Black screen with mouse pointer on MD (0810 alpha 2.28 + updates)  (Read 10630 times)

schaferj

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 133
    • View Profile
Re: Black screen with mouse pointer on MD (0810 alpha 2.28 + updates)
« Reply #75 on: September 11, 2009, 05:32:17 am »
Thom,

much thanks!  I'll try it when I get back.

To do the an sqlcvs update of the dce repository, do I follow the "Performing an update" procedure on the wiki page,
 http://wiki.linuxmce.com/index.php/SqlCVS

Is this a remedy for the black screen as well, or simply the phantom TV devices?

thanks again,
joseph

pga57

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 143
    • View Profile
Re: Black screen with mouse pointer on MD (0810 alpha 2.28 + updates)
« Reply #76 on: September 11, 2009, 06:11:04 pm »
Hello Peter,

Just to give you some news, I have change my "bad" MD (Salon) with another one and have just re-install the nvidiad board on it.
After a new boot and config I retrive the black screen with mouse pointer!
I continue my research.

Regards,
Philippe

PS: I have no multiple device on the MDs.
Only the core have those (4 Zwave controler !)
I ask to Hari, what I have to do.

PeterSchmid

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 42
    • View Profile
Re: Black screen with mouse pointer on MD (0810 alpha 2.28 + updates)
« Reply #77 on: September 11, 2009, 09:08:36 pm »
Dear Philippe,

I think it is something with one of the latest updates.
I am playing now 2 days to setup my core - always starting into KDE

I now restarted another try from scratch

If any news I let you know

Rgds

Peter

infoteksec

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
Re: Black screen with mouse pointer on MD (0810 alpha 2.28 + updates)
« Reply #78 on: September 12, 2009, 10:01:41 am »
Hi - not sure if I can shed any light.

I've been trying out LMCE for a while have loaded the August 24th version while trying to get video capture working from a Sat STB.

At some point, I was notified Ubuntu updates were available along with some LMCE ones. I happily accepted the offer to upgrade the system.

Everything went down hill after that and I'm now have the dreaded blank screen and the X-pointer.

What I did notice briefly on the core MD was a brief message just before everything went wrong similar to:

"Orbiter with same address as 127.0.0.1 detected & will be closed down".

Though its interesting to see you guys looking at logs to see what is wrong, IMHO it would be best to first determine what has changed.

Peter



PeterSchmid

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 42
    • View Profile
Re: Black screen with mouse pointer on MD (0810 alpha 2.28 + updates)
« Reply #79 on: September 12, 2009, 06:17:12 pm »
After a Nightmare installation my core is up again.
Just UI1 but at least up.

I had issues on installation
After Kubuntu8.1 Aptidute and install_from_repo (this was all fine - didn't log into KDM only console)
I ran mce-installer
Now here the trouble started.
Error : package pluto-orbiter not found
package was available - don't know why it could not find it
After hours of trying I found that the setup is messing around with network interfaces
(yes I have 2 nics )
whatever I did (changing eth0 and eth1 or  just cables) It always stopped there.
Disabled network setup in mce-install and run again - a lot of erreors complaining not beeing able to write to log
but at least it installed everything.
On start it could not connect to the DCERouter so I had to clean up the devices (many double entries)
Had to correct the Database Device for Nic ETH1 as it was in with {Extif} - IMHO some parsing error of the install script

Now setting up MythTV :-)

The Issue with the Blackscreen and Mousepointer is IMO a combination of xorg/driver/UI and some issues in the Launchmanager
to bring up the right screen to the front.

Maybe more when I setup my MD

But for sure dev's have to take a once more a look at it.
as there are more and more  having similar issues

Rgds

Peter


PeterSchmid

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 42
    • View Profile
Re: Black screen with mouse pointer on MD (0810 alpha 2.28 + updates)
« Reply #80 on: September 13, 2009, 12:30:59 pm »
Updated to previous post:

Now after manual install of Nvidia drivers (proprietary 180) and rerun of AVWizard
UI2 without alpha is running (didn't ry Alpha as it is not so important on the Core
But with standard nv driver MythTV was SlowMotion

All  devices up and fine also Orbiter is not complaining about the 127.0.0.1 issue.

Now going to MD
This is an old NB with Radeon Mobility RV250 (9000) GPU

On boot setup runs , Orbiter generated (also checked parallel on WebAdmin) AvWizard failed
driver fglrx is not working with this old GPU
have to use radeon
after selecting RADEON on Webadmin for this MD
driver vesa is used
X is starting up
also AvWizard I could run
Result:  BLACK SCREEN WITH MOUSE POINTER  (and Orbiter Devices not showing up in Spawn file /usr/pluto/lock/

so
modprobe drm and radeon
depmod -a
putting an exit into Xconfigure (see wiki)

starting - no x

so I went on with
sudo apt-get remove --purge xorg-driver-fglrx
sudo apt-get install --reinstall libgl1-mesa-glx libgl1-mesa-dri

xorg.conf stays untouched
X is starting
and now Setup Video was started.......

after running through
Orbiter Regen is visible and then black screen with mouse pointer

But few seconds later -------- ORBITER is ON :-))))))))) and all devices as well (UI2 without Alpha)

So finally I can say for me it was a non clean installation of the video driver
(But maybe some dev made something during the last hours  :-)  but I think Thom was going to bed)

so now I still have to change the overlay screen and then I'm done

@Philippe

this brings us back to my first idea of xorg :-(
so maybe you check and google around to see for more details on your GPU and which driver is best
in any case check also the DISPLAY=:0.0 glxinfo |grep vendor
and make a clean uninstall of any previous driver

Rgds

Peter


pga57

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 143
    • View Profile
Re: Black screen with mouse pointer on MD (0810 alpha 2.28 + updates)
« Reply #81 on: September 13, 2009, 04:54:57 pm »
Hello Peter,

I'm happy for you but... I've resolve my problem to ! ;-)
I'm not sure what the solution is because I've done 2 things:

1: I've remove a Dlink 8 ports switch and have connected the 2 bad MDs directly to the Linksys 16 ports switch

2: I've restart a AVWizard setup and selected UI2 directly.

Now, the 2 MDs worked !

The only things I have not resolve is that mythtv do not start directly after selected the TV menu button.
It give me the mythfrontend menu and when I start TV it stop after a few seconds.

So, it is better but not completly ok for me !

For me it is not a xorg problem but probably a script problem.

Regards,
Philippe





PeterSchmid

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 42
    • View Profile
Re: Black screen with mouse pointer on MD (0810 alpha 2.28 + updates)
« Reply #82 on: September 13, 2009, 06:02:01 pm »
That sounds good

I think in both cases it is that the setup could not go to end.

The Mythtv made troubles here as well , but after several tries it reset the backend since then ok

Rgds

Peter

pga57

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 143
    • View Profile
Re: Black screen with mouse pointer on MD (0810 alpha 2.28 + updates)
« Reply #83 on: September 13, 2009, 09:03:40 pm »
I have resolve my mythtv issue.
I have create some missings moonxx values in the mythconverg settings table:

BackendServerIP
BackendServerPort
BackendServerStatus

Change NetworkControlPort from 6546 to 10001 for the 2 lastest MD.

Run the mythtv_setup.pl file on the core.

Now mythtv work correctly.

Philippe