Author Topic: apt-get update vs aptitude update  (Read 1829 times)

huh

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 235
    • View Profile
apt-get update vs aptitude update
« on: August 11, 2009, 06:44:37 am »
Hello,

I was trying to try out the new plasmoid to activate the orbiter but was unable to locate it.  I had just run apt-get update and apt-get dist-upgrade to get the latest alpha.  Making sure it was installed, I did a apt-get install lmce-activate-orbiter-plasmoid and it told me that it would require xx space and asked if it was OK.  After doing this I was able to locate the lmce plasmoid (which works great BTW) in the options.

I got more curious and decided to run an aptitude update and aptitude dist-upgrade and found that some things were not installed using apt-get.

This is a raw 810 latest alpha build- I have not modified any files including the sources.list to change to reflect the sources no longer being at archive.ubuntu.

The wiki page clearly says use apt-get- anyone else experience the plasmoid (or anything else) not being installed but it was using aptitude?

merkur2k

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 513
    • View Profile
Re: apt-get update vs aptitude update
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2009, 07:33:22 am »
supposedly aptitude does a better dependancy search or something, at least according to the ubuntu people. Ive had enough issues with it in the past that i dont bother with it, but i suppose it doesnt really matter either way.

coley

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 481
    • View Profile
Re: apt-get update vs aptitude update
« Reply #2 on: August 11, 2009, 03:17:27 pm »
I ran into this issue too - running apt-get update and apt-get dist-upgrade yesterday.
I didn't run any aptitude commands as I hadn't realised they were that different.

-Coley.

pigdog

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1008
    • View Profile
Re: apt-get update vs aptitude update
« Reply #3 on: August 11, 2009, 06:34:16 pm »
Hi,

The difference...

apt-get upgrade
This command installs the latest versions of any out-of-date packages on your system.  It never installs a package that is not yet installed.

apt-get dist-upgrade
This command installs up-to-date version of packages, and may install additional packages.

For example...

to go from alpha 2.26 to 2.27 can't be accomplished by "update" it can only be done by "dist-upgrade".
« Last Edit: August 11, 2009, 09:06:54 pm by pigdog »

huh

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 235
    • View Profile
Re: apt-get update vs aptitude update
« Reply #4 on: August 12, 2009, 12:38:16 am »
Pigdog-  I appreciate the info, but this I already knew.  what isn't/wasn't clear before merkur posted is why apt-get dist-upgrade would only get some of the packages and aptitude dist-upgrade would get more/others.   Yes, I agree that the correct procedure is apt-get/aptitude update;  apt-get/aptitude dist-upgrade but I didn't know when to use one over the other of if to run both as that they are as quick and easy to run espicially now with niz's contributions to the last alpha.

pigdog

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1008
    • View Profile

huh

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 235
    • View Profile
Re: apt-get update vs aptitude update
« Reply #6 on: August 16, 2009, 07:14:21 pm »
This maybe related to my other post here:  http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8679.15 but I reinstalled the latest alpha and did both aptitude (had to install aptitude on the MD) and apt-get updates and both aptitude/apt-get dist-upgrades and the lmce-activate-orbiter-plasmoid did not install on my MD or my core- I had to manually type:  apt-get update lmce-activate-orbiter-plasmoid to get it installed.

On a side note- with these posts http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8070.15 do the dev's want these we'll call them anomalies rather than "bugs" posted here on the threads?  I am not a programmer, but am able to dedicate a fair amount of time and hardware to testing and reporting what happens.  If this is not wanted/needed I will quit posting my problems/experiences.

colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
Re: apt-get update vs aptitude update
« Reply #7 on: August 16, 2009, 11:21:08 pm »
Once you have positively identified a bug (ideally, when someone else has confirmed your experience, and none of the gurus have explained the behaviour in another way) then log it on the trac system as a bug so that it is recorded and can be addressed at the right time.

ccoudsi

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 244
    • View Profile
Re: apt-get update vs aptitude update
« Reply #8 on: August 17, 2009, 01:25:21 am »
Colin,
This was my exact point on my other post last week http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8668.msg58520#msg58520 if you create a special section just for bugs verification, will make it easier for both developpers and testers, obviously better product overall.
Instead of people posting the same problem over and over again, they can look up that section and verify it if they have similar setup, this way will encourage people to post the issues they find in their installation. Which is very critical if you want to have a great product.
« Last Edit: August 17, 2009, 05:18:33 am by ccoudsi »
Cheers |[BEER]
Charlie,