Author Topic: Network prob  (Read 1146 times)

murcel

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 198
    • View Profile
Network prob
« on: August 07, 2009, 07:39:39 pm »
since some time, the network after reboot is not working corretcly, thoug i can access local hosts on either internal and external, i can not access internet. When i go to advanced/network and press update, all is working again....

can someone point me into the right direction?

jimbodude

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 372
    • View Profile
Re: Network prob
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2009, 09:12:30 pm »
Be more specific - what do you mean "cannot access internet"? 

Do you mean that you can't resolve hostnames? Try running
dig @127.0.0.1 www.google.com
to test hostname resolution.

Are you not getting an IP address assigned by DHCP?  Run ifconfig to check

Can you not ping your gateway?  Run ping {your gateway IP as it is in ifconfig}

Is your routing table correct? Run route -n

murcel

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 198
    • View Profile
Re: Network prob
« Reply #2 on: August 08, 2009, 11:39:26 pm »
ok,

i can ping the external and internal interface
i can ping the internal devices by ip and dns
i can ping domains on the web and do a name resolution. tracert gives also valid answers.

if i put a domain in the web browser, it says "website found" but has a timeout after certain time. (only for external domains)

if i update the network settings through web admin, imm. it starts working

pigdog

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1008
    • View Profile
Re: Network prob
« Reply #3 on: August 09, 2009, 02:15:55 am »
Hi,

Your interfaces aren't swapped are they?  eth0/eth1?

Just throwing it out there!

murcel

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 198
    • View Profile
Re: Network prob
« Reply #4 on: August 09, 2009, 10:52:23 am »
no they are not

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4462
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Network prob
« Reply #5 on: August 09, 2009, 01:11:02 pm »
ok,

i can ping the external and internal interface
i can ping the internal devices by ip and dns
i can ping domains on the web and do a name resolution. tracert gives also valid answers.

if i put a domain in the web browser, it says "website found" but has a timeout after certain time. (only for external domains)

if i update the network settings through web admin, imm. it starts working

It would be useful if you described your internal & external network topology and what each devices is and how it relates to the devices its attached to.

Some questions;
Can you boot an MD successfully on your LAN side NIC? If you attach another computer to your LAN side NIC does it get a valid DHCP address? Have you got a 2nd DHCP server on your LAN side?

All the best

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

murcel

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 198
    • View Profile
Re: Network prob
« Reply #6 on: August 09, 2009, 03:36:01 pm »
Dear Andrew,

thanks for your questions. Expect this, the whole lmce thing is working as expected.

every device gets his ip adress and also is booing up pxe.


los93sol

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 396
    • View Profile
Re: Network prob
« Reply #7 on: August 09, 2009, 05:07:11 pm »
Stupid question, but have you restarted your cable/dsl modem since reconfiguring your network?  I've seen this in the past and it is required.

murcel

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 198
    • View Profile
Re: Network prob
« Reply #8 on: August 09, 2009, 07:24:01 pm »
no i didn't......