Author Topic: Questions for starting with LinuxMCE  (Read 1635 times)

syberjj

  • First post!
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Questions for starting with LinuxMCE
« on: July 20, 2010, 12:03:02 am »
Hello everyone,

I have been following this project for quite some time now and I finally decided to give it a try.
I just have some questions about some of the hardware I already have at my home and how it could be compatible with linuxMCE

Security:
Currently my alarm system is composed by Paradox Pro Plus 476+ sensors that are controlled by a Paradox EVO 48 alarm system. Can this be integrated into LinuxMCE?

TV:
We have television through satelite from brazilian Sky TV (http://www.sky.com.br/home/home/default.aspx), is there a way to integrate it into linuxMCE?

Phone:
I already have an asterisk server running far away from the home where I want to use linuxmce. This is because the analog telephone line arives somewhere else and is sent over a wireless connection to the home where I wish to use it (imagine it as a farm where there is no direct telephone line nearby).
So if I use linuxMCE I will have 3 asterisk servers. Will this be an issue or can I configure the LinuxMCE Asterisk server like any other asterisk system?

Those would be the most important questions. Thanks allot
« Last Edit: July 20, 2010, 07:07:09 pm by syberjj »

pw44

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 666
    • View Profile
Re: Questions for starting with LinuxMCE
« Reply #1 on: July 20, 2010, 12:41:19 am »
Welcome.

Hello everyone,

I have been following this project for quite some time now and I finally decided to give it a try.
I just have some questions about some of the hardware I already have at my home and how it could be compatible with linuxMCE

Security:
Currently my alarm system is composed by Paradox Pro Plus 476+ censors that are controlled by a Paradox EVO 48 alarm system. Can this be integrated into LinuxMCE?

TV:
We have television through satelite from brazilian Sky TV (http://www.sky.com.br/home/home/default.aspx), is there a way to integrate it into linuxMCE?


For making use sky, you will need to have a capture board, like PVR-150 and connect the output of the receiver to the analog input of the capture board. And also create a template in order to make lmce control the sky receiver. An USB UIRT will help.

Quote
Phone:
I already have an asterisk server running far away from the home where I want to use linuxmce. This is because the analog telephone line arives somewhere else and is sent over a wireless connection to the home where I wish to use it (imagine it as a farm where there is no direct telephone line nearby).
So if I use linuxMCE I will have 3 asterisk servers. Will this be an issue or can I configure the LinuxMCE Asterisk server like any other asterisk system?

Lmce uses asterisk and the freepbx gui interface, so, i think it will be no issues.

Those would be the most important questions. Thanks allot
[/quote]

Qualquer coisa, envia uma PM.

Paulo

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4660
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Questions for starting with LinuxMCE
« Reply #2 on: July 20, 2010, 01:17:10 am »
Hello everyone,

I have been following this project for quite some time now and I finally decided to give it a try.
I just have some questions about some of the hardware I already have at my home and how it could be compatible with linuxMCE

Security:
Currently my alarm system is composed by Paradox Pro Plus 476+ censors that are controlled by a Paradox EVO 48 alarm system. Can this be integrated into LinuxMCE?

TV:
We have television through satelite from brazilian Sky TV (http://www.sky.com.br/home/home/default.aspx), is there a way to integrate it into linuxMCE?

Phone:
I already have an asterisk server running far away from the home where I want to use linuxmce. This is because the analog telephone line arives somewhere else and is sent over a wireless connection to the home where I wish to use it (imagine it as a farm where there is no direct telephone line nearby).
So if I use linuxMCE I will have 3 asterisk servers. Will this be an issue or can I configure the LinuxMCE Asterisk server like any other asterisk system?

Those would be the most important questions. Thanks allot

While using a capture card is a viable route if you only have SD Sky boxes and you dont want to watch LiveTV in more than a few locations we always go the route described below now as customers seems to prefer it;

What we do with UK Sky STB's (not sure if the hardware is at all the same to the UK...but that is not too important) is we either use and HDMI-to CAT5 matrix (you could use a Component video matrix instead) to distribute the HDMI TV picture to the various rooms where you want it viewable or we use an HDMI-IP adapter. The HDMI Matrix will be able to switch the output of several HDMI sources to any of its outputs and will be controlled by rs232. The Sky box(es) will be controlled by IR Blasting. Both the Matrix and the Sky boxes will be controlled appropriately by LinuxMCE allowing you to watch 1,2,3,4 or more Sky boxes in any 4,8 or 16 rooms.

Using an HDMI matrix maintains the HD picture quality everywhere without compromise and we find this by far the best approach if picture quality is a criteria you value.


All the best


Andrew
Andy Herron,
CHT Ltd

For Dianemo/LinuxMCE consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+inquiries@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get Dianemo-Rpi2 ARM Licenses http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=14026.0

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5549
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Questions for starting with LinuxMCE
« Reply #3 on: July 20, 2010, 02:39:38 am »
totallymaxed: you should try the Hauppauge HD-PVR. The device works exceptionally well.

-Thom

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4660
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Questions for starting with LinuxMCE
« Reply #4 on: July 20, 2010, 03:17:25 am »
totallymaxed: you should try the Hauppauge HD-PVR. The device works exceptionally well.

-Thom

The problem with all 'capture' including the HD-PVR is its problematic if you want to share that source to multiple rooms or several adjacent EA's due to syncing in Myth. Its also a no go here as all European HD is based on HDMI and not Component. Lastly with a Matrix you can deliver the sources to zones that dont need or have an MD at all (ie Rooms that you merely want access to the STB's in)... and this can save a bug chunk of cost.

I do agree though in all other ways the HD-PVR is a very nice piece of hardware.

Andrew
Andy Herron,
CHT Ltd

For Dianemo/LinuxMCE consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+inquiries@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get Dianemo-Rpi2 ARM Licenses http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=14026.0

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5549
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Questions for starting with LinuxMCE
« Reply #5 on: July 20, 2010, 04:02:32 am »
but you also lose the onscreen orbiter UI...

-Thom