Author Topic: [SOLVED- at last]eee-box 202 and lmce 8.10  (Read 4132 times)

maverick0815

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 520
    • View Profile
[SOLVED- at last]eee-box 202 and lmce 8.10
« on: July 21, 2009, 07:28:43 pm »
Last weekend I tried my luck with the latest 8.10 alpha. I installed it on my core and after having done that part successfully proceeded setting up my MD (eee-box 202)
As I read here before it should be supported out of the box, since the drivers for the nic have been included now, unlike in 7.10. So I had high hopes and didn't expect much of a problem.
Unfortunately I got a "kernel-panic - not syncing" I got past the message "We announce ourselves to the core"...shortly before the kernel-panic I noticed eth0 link down.
I read here in the forum, that there might be some issue with ACPI, so I went to the Bios and changed the value (don't remember if it was enabled or disabled) and tried again-without luck

So does anyone here have a eee-box running successfully with 8.10 and if so- how did you make it?
« Last Edit: September 30, 2009, 08:09:01 pm by maverick0815 »

fastie81

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 136
  • SSDD
    • View Profile
Re: eee-box 202 and lmce 8.10
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2009, 11:17:04 pm »
Hi

I have two eeebox (B202) running in my setup.
My core died last week so I have just reinstalled it again. I will be setting up them again.
My only problem I had was the 720p/DVI out put and my IR MCE remote. besides that there was not problems..
I will be doing a step by step tonight if you are interested.
Chris

maverick0815

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 520
    • View Profile
Re: eee-box 202 and lmce 8.10
« Reply #2 on: July 22, 2009, 08:17:20 am »
that would be interesting...perhaps I can find out, where I went wrong. This friday I'm planning to try another run since my system is a bit fubar, but I'm not sure if I should try 8.10 again. In theory I should get my eee-box running the same way you do..so lets see

fastie81

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 136
  • SSDD
    • View Profile
Re: eee-box 202 and lmce 8.10
« Reply #3 on: July 23, 2009, 12:17:15 am »
Hi

Ok this is my steps..
This is still a Draft, when I am done I will at it to the LMCE wiki
http://www.it1stop.com/Home/linux/mythbuntu---linuxmce/asus-eebox-setup-with-linuxmce-810
Let me know how you get on.
Chris

maverick0815

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 520
    • View Profile
Re: eee-box 202 and lmce 8.10
« Reply #4 on: July 25, 2009, 09:04:40 pm »
Well, I got my system up and running in 81.0 now :-) wonders never cease.
I even got my TV-Card running...the only thing there is, I need to find the rest of the stations, but that will sort itself out.

Now the biggest gripe I have is this:
Quote
/init: .: Can't open /tmp/net-eth0.conf
Kernel panic - not syncing: Attempting to kill init!
Seems to me like I am one of the unlucky ones whose eee-box isn't supported out of the box yet
so I will try the old manual procedure to setup the nic.
I hope it will work, otherwise I'd really like to know what I else could do.

--------------Update-------------
I can't get the box over the above mentioned point....So if anyone knows something...please, some help would be appreciated
« Last Edit: July 25, 2009, 09:54:44 pm by maverick0815 »

maverick0815

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 520
    • View Profile
Re: eee-box 202 and lmce 8.10
« Reply #5 on: July 28, 2009, 08:45:01 pm »
I tried a bios update on the eee box (release 1111) because I thought that would help. So now not only does it still not work, the box won't even boot up without a keyboard attached to it, and no option in the bios to be found to change that.

fastie81

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 136
  • SSDD
    • View Profile
Re: eee-box 202 and lmce 8.10
« Reply #6 on: July 28, 2009, 09:33:51 pm »
There should be an option to "ignore errors". I will have a look later on my box and let you know the option..
Chris

fastie81

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 136
  • SSDD
    • View Profile
Re: eee-box 202 and lmce 8.10
« Reply #7 on: July 28, 2009, 10:03:28 pm »
Hi

Ok if you go into the BIOS in the eeebox
then go to Boot -- > Boot Settings Configuration -- > Wait for 'F1' Error
Then Disable that..
I think that will fix it..
Let me know.
Chris

maverick0815

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 520
    • View Profile
Re: eee-box 202 and lmce 8.10
« Reply #8 on: July 29, 2009, 09:20:41 pm »
one small step for me, one big step for my eee-box :-)
at least I found out how to boot it up again without a keyboard....just switch off the express gate....call me stupid, why I didn't do that earlier already...must have been the nice colors :-)

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5476
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: eee-box 202 and lmce 8.10
« Reply #9 on: July 29, 2009, 11:26:22 pm »
damn it, guys.

Let's actually try to get this working PNP in 0810. Please. The code is available, inluding all the startup scripts...

-Thom

fastie81

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 136
  • SSDD
    • View Profile
Re: eee-box 202 and lmce 8.10
« Reply #10 on: July 30, 2009, 01:54:25 am »
Hi Thom

I don;t know how we can make this more PNP. Maverick has got a weird problem.
The only think I can think of is to sort of detect if it is a eeebox and apply the xorg.conf file..
Chris

maverick0815

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 520
    • View Profile
Re: eee-box 202 and lmce 8.10
« Reply #11 on: July 30, 2009, 08:08:20 am »
Trust me, I don't mess it up on purpose. I did a clean install twice, because I thought I missed something or did something wrong..but actually there is not much to do wrong with the procedure as it is: install kubuntu, get the installer,execute the scripts one after another and you're done. In theory this should be enough to get it all started. Thing is...Chris has 2 eee-boxes running nicely...and mine messes up the nic-setup.
So, anything I can do to make it work, I will do within my abilities. Currently this is setup on a separate hdd so I can go back and forth between the releases. I can do a clean install again if that would be required....

pigdog

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 897
    • View Profile
Re: eee-box 202 and lmce 8.10
« Reply #12 on: July 30, 2009, 07:40:36 pm »
Hi,

Just wondering...

the manufacturer didn't change chipsets on you during the production run?

lspci for ethernet matches between maverick0815 and the 2 fastie81 has?

maverick0815

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 520
    • View Profile
Re: eee-box 202 and lmce 8.10
« Reply #13 on: July 30, 2009, 07:53:57 pm »
here is what lspci produced on my box
Quote
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile 945GME Express Memory Controller Hub (rev 03)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 945GME Express Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 03)
00:02.1 Display controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME, 943/940GML Express Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 03)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) High Definition Audio Controller (rev 02)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) PCI Express Port 1 (rev 02)
00:1c.1 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) PCI Express Port 2 (rev 02)
00:1c.2 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) PCI Express Port 3 (rev 02)
00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 02)
00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 02)
00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 02)
00:1d.3 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB UHCI Controller #4 (rev 02)
00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller (rev 02)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge (rev e2)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801GBM (ICH7-M) LPC Interface Bridge (rev 02)
00:1f.2 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801GBM/GHM (ICH7 Family) SATA IDE Controller (rev 02)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) SMBus Controller (rev 02)
03:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller (rev 02)

maverick0815

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 520
    • View Profile
Re: eee-box 202 and lmce 8.10
« Reply #14 on: August 01, 2009, 01:06:08 pm »
Ok, last night I made a clean install - twice actually. When setting up Kubuntu it always recognized my nics in the wrong order. That has never been a problem, since I could later change it in the webadmin of linuxmce. However last night it caused trouble right in the middle of ./mce-install.sh, when suddenly ip-adresses did not get resolved anymore. So I quickly swapped the cables and after I restarted the script it when through. The next problem was with Orbiter-generation for the hybrid. It crashed and went on without actually generating an orbiter, so I got a message, that the config for the orbiter could not be retrieved. I managed to login to the webadmin and enter the required information. it created an orbiter but could not connect to the dcerouter. just out of curiosity at this point I wanted to see what the eee-box would do. interestingly it went past the nic without a problem, but gave me a mount 13 error. since I could not get the orbiter to cooperate I decided to scrap it all again. What I thought was the critical change that might have gotten the eee-box running was, that I did a reboot after the aptitude dist-upgrade (which was not explicitly mentioned in the install instructions, but which made sense since you update the kernel). So I was full of hope and did it all over again, only this time connecting the internetcable to the right nic, so I would not need to restart the script. After the ./post-install.sh was finished, I just shutdown the core and went to bed. This morning I resumed, but now the eee-box just stubbornly does not want to start, no matter what I tried. Someone suggested to me I should update the kernel to 2.26.28, but I do not think this to be a good long term solution, since the final release of LMCE would not be based on this one. I really do not know what I should do. Is there some script I need to run or something...please let me know.